Bushmechanix
Submitted: Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 19:36
Willem
I needed to run a wire from the aux battery to the back of the wagon.
I have some 6mm cable in the shed but it wasn't enough. So I went to the two local hardware shops and they were out of 6mm cable. A mate suggested I use 240volt 15amp cable. Now why didn't I think of that? I have some spare 15amp cable hanging about and that is what I did. Works a treat too.
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 19:46
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 19:46
Willem
Does this also relate to getting power to a trailer? I've always used 6mm cable. Can you give me more information?
Kim
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:18
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:18
No Kim, I needed to get power to the back of the vehicle for easy access to a variety of power applications. In the past I was running all my 12 volt accessories from the dash area and this became problematical.
Reply By: PMK - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 19:51
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 19:51
Hi Willem,
What did you intend running on the "240 Volt 15 Amp" cable?
My reason for asking is that usually this type of cable is only 1.5mm per core & if you were expecting it to handle the load of 6.0mm it won't & you may also suffer for a little more voltage drop.
I hope you have fused it at the Aux battery....... we don't want any fires!!!!!
Just some hints to try & help out,
PMK
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:21
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:21
I am only using two of the wires which seem to be the same size as the 6mm. Only running 12 volt accessories.
Have never had a problem with things catching fire and I have multitude of wires powering all kinds of stuff.
Reply By: Phillipn - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:01
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:01
Willem
Forget about using 6 mm cable and 240v cable. It will be a failure.
I suggest you have a look at www.fridge-and solar.net or www.sidewinder.com.au These people know the correct way to set up the wiring.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:23
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:23
It works. Can't see why it should fail. Positive and negative wires all connected properly.
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:34
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:34
Wire is wire. It is a flexible mix of various metals. It doesn't know the difference between 240V and 12V because there isn't any as far as wire is concerned as I understand it.
If the wire can handle the load (total watts) all will be
well.
I'm with Willie, if it works and doesn't catch fire it is a success.
Follow Up By: PMK - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:43
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:43
Having said it works is all good, .... the purpose of a fuse is to protect the cable (wire) from being overloaded. If you draw more current than the cable is rated at it will get hot. unless you have a fuse to prevent this. & in the worst possible scenario the cable could become caught up & damaged, if it shorts out & there is no fuse...... FIRE !!
I was just trying to help out. I dont add any cables to my vehicle, especially direct from the batteries, without a fuse.
PMK
Follow Up By: PMK - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:48
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:48
Just a quick note for Jimbo,
There is a big difference between 240 Volts AC & 12 Volts DC when it comes to current draw.
PMK
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:30
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:30
Yep, fusing is a good idea
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:42
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:42
Willem
Your wiring setup sounds like
mine, will get some photo's tomorrow ...A sparkies nightmare
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 23:34
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 23:34
Quite obviously there is no God/Justice, 'else you pair of Desk Jockies would have burned by now.
Why dontcha get yer arses out in the fresh air, where all is simply pure?
hahaha
(Gramps is ever vigilant: ta Gramps)
enjoy funnies,
gerhmptgggpd.
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:49
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:49
Just a quick note for PMK,
I wrote
"If the wire can handle the load (total watts) all will be
well."
Current draw is measured properly in watts. The calculation is amps x volts = watts. Hence 240 volt wire rated to 5 amps is the same as 12 volt wire rated to 100 amps.
Follow Up By: PMK - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:34
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:34
Your formula indicates that @ 12 Volts the current (watts) is higher than @ 240 volts ie; the calculation is for the load & not the cable size. At 12 volts you will need a lager cable otherwise we would all be running 1.5mm cables to our starter motors & we all know thats not the case.
PMK
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 10:11
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 10:11
Jimbo...a 240v 5a rated cable will not handle 100a at 12volt
as an example go have a look at some 10amp fuse wire for your house and then tell me if it is suitable for 100amps at 12v
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 12:01
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 12:01
Jimbo,
240V is AC and the 12V is DC. Hence the need for different wiring.
I'll leave you to figure out the rest.
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 17:00
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 17:00
Good points Phil and Nudie but I'm not sure why it is so.
The old V x A = W applies to both 12 and 240, of that I am sure. So how does thinner wire carry more watts at 240 than 12 and I'm not disputing that it does, just trying to understand.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:27
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:27
240 V 12vdc....
well for one thing 240v needs better insulation
higher volts means less voltage drop....reasons why they have high voltage transmission lines.....i think lol...thnner wire only adds to inceased voltage drop and that means losses with increased temperatur gains and subsequent compounding higher amps...i = e/r.....the lower cross sectional wire diameter means increased resistance
now ...as for your wire size...a 5amp fuse is 5amps for no matter what voltage......ditto for any fuse...its a rating of current capacity before it blows or trips in circuit breaker case......
voltage does not play a part except for insulation requirements......ie a 12vdc fuse is no good on high voltage as 240v can arc across the insulation material
but a 240 volt fuse at applicable rating can be used on voltages lower than 240.... but not higher
yes volts x amps = watts
so in your 12v scenario, you need a fuse of 100a plus for proper protection....meaning bigger wire is required
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:37
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:37
Phill 12v is not neccessarliy dc...and 240v does not automatically mean AC
a lot of equipment use 12 vac in their systems...computers are one
some mining equipment i believe use 240Vdc and higher.... i know high voltage dc is used in systems for frequency drives for large motors etc
higher volts means better insulation is required...and remember, high voltage dc kills just as good as good as ac
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:49
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:49
Good thinking,
I reckon I used to have about 10 metres of the stuff throughout the rodeo at one stage as we had a roll leftover in the shed from when the house was built. It never gave me a problem, and I liked it because it kept both the positive and negative wire together and looked (relatively) neat.
as it was explained once to me by a auto sparky, you can run 12v through 240, but not the other way around. He also said that the only real issue you may have is that the wire is not as flexible as the auto syuff, so it may be subject to more breakage in areas of high stress such as tight bends.
Eventually I changed it, but truth be known, Ive still got a little hidden under the seats, but dont tell the others here ;)
Reply By: Tony MD - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:56
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 20:56
240 volt 15 amp cable is rated at 15 amps, but only to a certain length due to voltage drop. Its size is 1.5mm square (that is the cross sectional area of the cable). As there are few standards in automotive cable, your 6mm cable could either be 6mm square and good for 32 amps or (including insulation) fit through a 6mm hole and be not much different to the 240 volt 1.5mm cable.
As3000 gives voltage drop formulas.
A 1.5mm cable at 15 amps load should not exceed 1.4 metres at 12 volts and 5% max voltage drop.
L = Vd x 1000 / mV/am x amps
where length is in metres and mv/am = 29
The same cable at 240 volts is good for 27.5 metres
Cheers Tony - REC7359
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:12
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:12
Bloody Hell....thats too complicated mate.
I am only running a max of 12 volts DC along the wire. I am only using 2 wires inside the 15amp cable. One for positive and one for negative. The third wire inside the 15amp cable casing is dormant.
Wire length is about 5 metres. I plugged my 12volt fluoro light in to the cig socket at the end of the wires and it works brightly.
Follow Up By: Tony MD - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:44
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 21:44
What it all means is that don't try and get 15 amps out of the cable if it is 5 metres long.
Based upon the above formula, the maximum current available at 5 metres in length is 4.13 amps. This does not take into count additional voltage drop in the appliance leads.
So yes, the fluorescent light is OK but a fridge - with less than perfect battery status will not.
Follow Up By: Mick - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 23:52
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 23:52
Willie it's not whether you are running 12v or 240v that matters. It's how many amps you want to run with it. That's why people with little or no electrical knowledge (like you) cause major problems like fires and even electrocution with dodgy wiring. It may take hours or days or even months to show up as faulty but if it's not done properly it will eventually show up. Personally, I wouldn't use less than 6B&S cable.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:30
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:30
Mick
I had cause for a leccy to go into the roof of my house a while ago. He came back down with a frown on his face and later presented me with a CD of pics he took up there. Now the wiring was not my doing, but the house will have to be rewired one day. Soon! Not sure when the 'lectrics went in but the house was built in 1900. Still we haven't had any major issues and the house is earthed to industry satndards.
Yes I don't have much electrical knowledge but I use common sense and have not had an issue with electrics in vehicles except for accessory failures.
There is an overemphasis on saftety issues...something that has crept into our society over the past decade. If you are going to do stupid things with electrics then you will have problems but iof you use common sense then there shouldn't be a problem.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 10:23
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 10:23
willem.....at the time of doing things we, those who dont know better, fall into the same sense of false beliefs....we are not doing something stupid.....
then wham...it fails....? Duhhhhh?...has happend to me also...
but the question remains "What If"....meaning could someone have been injured or even worse a death occured by the failure?
in your problem rember Ohm didnt make up the law........
thats why we have Standards....so it keeps all and every thing safe.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:40
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:40
Ahh Member No 1...yer worry too much!
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:39
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:39
just trying to look after you Willem
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 22:46
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 22:46
Gees you can't just go and screw holes in your dash, I don't know....LOL
Willem
If it works . use it
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:30
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:30
Yerrrrr. Rough and ready....LOL
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 00:25
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 00:25
Just a bit off topic Willem, but, how many times have you or your offsider hit your elbow on that tripod thingamajig you bolted to the dash?
And secondly, I reckon those holes you put in the dash could effect the resale value when it's time to sell the old girl!
HAHAHAHAHA
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 08:17
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 08:17
G'day Muzz
My invention was carefully thought through for about 3 minutes....lol
It works extremely well and I have not hit knuckles or elbows or anything for that matter. When a mate drove the wagon on my last trip he struggled with the knuckles thing but it really is a matter of getting your brain into gear. My mate was very bemused when I went to engage Low Range as I put my arm around the tripod leg to get to the lever......lol
I considered the the dash damage and as I will not be selling the 'old girl' it doesnt matter. This is my last 4x4 unless I write it off somewhere in the sticks. Got another 10 years(if I can afford the fuel...hahaha) of 4x4-ing and may then call it quits. Anyway one can always glue the dashmat to the dash and no one will be any the wiser
Reply By: alfclp - Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 22:53
Monday, Sep 24, 2007 at 22:53
You are missing the point of the argument. Voltage is not the real issue. The important factor is the amperage required by the device at the end of the wire and hence the wattage used by said object.
a 100 watt globe on 240
v only needs 0.41 amps but the same globe on 12 v needs 8.3 amps to give the same quatinty of light.
Reply By: Vicar - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:47
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 06:47
Hi Willem,
As mentioned above, amps are the telling factor, not voltage. When they speak about what kills you in electric shock it's the amps not the voltage. 0.3mA can and has killed. That however, is a non issue.
What are you wanting to run mate? Is it JUST a fluro or for a fridge, light, inverter etc. Then I could tell you the size you should go, if you haven't already got the info. And an inline fuse is good
insurance, somewhere accessible.
Cheers mate,
Vicar.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:33
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:33
Hi Vicar
Will be running a 12v fluoro light and short bursts of 12v water pimps for food preparation and a
shower. Thats all!
The wiring is fused
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 15:37
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 15:37
>water pimps
Got to watch those illicit water sellers :)
If all you're going to run is the above items the total current draw will be 3 amps or less and the twin and earth cable you have fitted will do the job quite adequately. Use an in-line 10A fuse (ideally anti surge type) at the point the cable picks up it's power from, the
battery I assume.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 15:58
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 15:58
Yeah I saw that pimps thing after I hit the button...lol
Have fitted an inline 10amp fuse to a number of my accessory connections close to the
battery terminal.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:33
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:33
Vicar.....its a combination of both voltage and amps for a kill
Follow Up By: Vicar - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 06:46
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 06:46
Willem, exactly what Mike said. I aint auto lecky, only electrician, but for runs to back of vehicle, I run a 6mm SDI, which has two sheaths, just so when traveling on rough roads, rubbing on the cable won't ruin your day...or you could run it in split conduit. Let us know how you go.
Member no.1: someones been on google looking up ohms law!!! There was talk above of voltage been the main thing, maybe we should talk resistance as well because resistance has a big part...oh, and then we haven't even raised the issue of fault current!!! Always wear rubber thongs! ;-)
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:45
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:45
me look up ohms law...nah it was drummed into me when i was
young lad...many many moons ago
fault current...bloody crap...never could understand that stuff...but i know its higher... or is that lower?... the nearer you are to a transformer
Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:50
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:50
Its true that 12V wil draw more current than 240V. The other thing to look out for is that 240v wiring is often 1 solid length of copper whereas 12v is usualy braided with multiple strands.
Electrons flow on the surface of the wire, not through the middle of it. So with braided wire, there is more surface area for the current to travel across.
A short run of 240v wire should be ok provided you aren't trying to draw too much through it and as stated, if its fused, this should be sufficient enoguh safety net.
Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:57
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:57
Sam,
Why don't electrons travel through the middle of the wire?
Does this mean I could save weight by having a hole down the middle of the wire?
Or is a flat sheet of copper better than a wire?
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:08
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:08
Sam,
Skin Effect is only valid for high frequencies. At 50HZ or less it is irrelavent. The use of braided wire is a design consideration in High Voltage transmission lines but this has more to do with balancing electromagnetic fields than Skin Effect.
Here's a good explanation....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skin_effect
So, R Send, no, a hollow wire won't work for DC, only for very high frequencies (radar etc) where a hollow tube IS used. It's called a Waveguide.
Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:15
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:15
i stand corrected
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:48
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:48
this topic is getting to ruddy complicated....skin effect?
does that mean white skin gets burnt more than brown skin if you touch 33kv transmission lines
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:32
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:32
Willem,
Have you figured it out now?
I ran some wire that used to carry 240V at 100 amps, 24000 watts. so at 12 volts it should be good for 2000 amps give or take a bit for voltage loss!!!
We probably have enough left over to do yours when next you drop by.....
Nick
Follow Up By: Ole Grizzly - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 11:40
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 11:40
Struth...You guy's lost me ages ago. LOL
Goodluck Willem
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 11:57
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 11:57
Fair suck of the sav, guys. Willem simply installed some wire to run a flouro at the back of his truck.
How did we get from there to waveguides ?
Next you'll be telling him to install a quarter wave stub to cut down the flicker LOL
Not sure if everyone was trying to be helpful or obstropolis. (translates to a PITA :))
Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 13:23
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 13:23
Hey Footloose - some people just have to live by the rules with no room to deviate from the straight and narrow. Others - PITAs or showing off? Best to keep any non standard mods to oneself and avoid all this crap :-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:44
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:44
Yer my thoughts too, Footy....lol
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:38
Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:38
Hey Footyl, apologies for not contacting earlier. Our trip length was one fifth of yours; hope all is wellish as may be.
Just chanced upon your note.
Christ, I'm just so pleased that most of these experts never leave the sealed roads.
jh.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:10
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 07:10
Sssssshhhhhhh you lot. This is a great giggle :)))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:38
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 09:38
Hiya Jeffo, yes thanks, all as well as.
I agree with your comments.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 00:47
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 00:47
Heard somwhere the main issue using 240v wiring is its designed for static use with its single thicker copper wire making it more prone to breakage in 4wd applications than the normal wiring.
having said that my camper had some 240v wiring and it was fine - didnt explode, catch on fire or cause the war in iraq. actually was about the most reliable thing about it - it was the only part that didnt break down
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 08:33
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 08:33
Can you prove that it didn't cause the war in Iraq?