Got the spare tyre working as a reservoir for the blue tongue pump.

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:35
ThreadID: 50003 Views:4594 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
A couple of months ago I made up a new hose to run from the blue tongue pump under the front driver's side seat to the spare tyre.
Put a 'tee' in the middle so I can then run the standard hose off the new hose, with the same snap on fittings.

Whole set up.

This way I can run off both the spare and pump, off the spare only, or drop the new line and just run off the pump as of old.

These are the two hoses together.

Two hoses together.

The new hose also has a one way valve on the line from the pump.

Site Link

This way if I want to, I can just run off the spare tyre.

Site Link

To just use the spare, I run the spare at 70 psi, being a 10 ply LT tyre, maximum pressure is 80 psi.

When I have the CT on, it's spare is also at 70 psi, so I have enough air in both spares to put 15 psi plus in all six tyres, and as fast as I can get to the tyres. No waiting for the pump. It is almost as fast as garage air, but they use 12mm air line :o)

Having the pump running means that the spares are topped up between filling the tyres.

Cost about $120.00 to set up.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:46

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 07:46
OK, so I am an old guy and need spme practice on the links!

Try this.

Not sure if to use the html, ing or firect link tags from photobucket, and insert link or insert image from Oziexplorer.

But we learn in the end :o)
AnswerID: 263818

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:56

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 08:56
Your a clever little dickie eh. I do that also but don't worry about all the extra hoses because I have 2 spares and 2 pumps, good setup though but be careful you don't trip on all those hoses and BLOW yourself up,

AnswerID: 263827

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:06

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:06
Yea but- what's the fixation about having to hurry to 'air up'?
AnswerID: 263829

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:07

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:07
Yea but- what's the fixation about having to hurry to 'air up'?
AnswerID: 263830

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:48

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:48
he obviously doesnt drink
FollowupID: 525459

Reply By:- Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:19

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:19
Never thought in this way. Thanks for very good hint.
AnswerID: 263831

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:55

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 09:55
Some people have way too much time on their hands.
AnswerID: 263837

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 11:47

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 11:47
Jeezuz, why all the ribbing responses? Looks like a cheap way of doing things to me....well done John.

Seems like some people would rather spend plenty on an air tank from the 4x4 shops....not me, not only do I not have the cash to waste like that, I also do not have the room to install tank in the cabin. I have been thinking of ways to do something similar but never got around to it. Next time we catch up John, I wouldn't mind have a good look at the setup.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 263847

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 17:21

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 17:21
Well if that isn't POT calling the KETTLE black
FollowupID: 525522

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 12:35

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 12:35
A bit of friendly ribbing is what keeps this site interesting:o0

Made up the hose because my 20 year old blue tongue Mk1 doesn't put out as much air as these new pumps, and I wanted a bit more ooomph to reseat a bead.
And I am careful enough with the dollars not to buy a tank, besides not having the space under the vehicle to mount one.

So reckoned I already had one on the rear doing nothing. Why carry something for only doing one job, when it could do two?

And if the pump fails, I can still get some air without having to resort to a hand pump.
AnswerID: 263850

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 13:10

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 13:10
I think the idea has merit, but $120 worth of hoses, etc just to get air into your spares as an air reservoirs?

Why not just pump the tyres upto their max at a servo and just keep the blue tongue as a back up?

FollowupID: 525489

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:31

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:31
Your just taking the bleep Wizard1 - aren't you? Not too many servos out in the boonies where oldplodder spends his hours:-))
FollowupID: 525565

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 13:29

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 13:29

Did you clamp the hoses or did you get that done somewhere?

Great idea. Spares make good air reservoirs
AnswerID: 263855

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:03

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 16:03
Just used industry standard crimps and did them up with the multi grips by squeezing each side.
Bit neater since there is less to catch on something if you are pulling the hose around from wheel to wheel.
FollowupID: 525503

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 17:40

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 17:40
I have read, re read and looked at the pics and come to the realisation that I to am OLD and confundid.

Just tell me how do you control the air pressure in the spares, the road tyres etc when you have everything hooked up and the pump is going flat chat to reach the safety switch cut off at 100psi.

And Trevor:

If you haven't got room inside for an air tank, then where are you going to store all the extra 35.825kms of blue airline that you are going to need.
AnswerID: 263886

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 18:30

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 18:30
Could follow your lead and add another story to the bonnet and hide all the hose in there smarty pants hehehe.
FollowupID: 525535

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:52

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 19:52
Yes you are old mate. It's time you got with the times. You probably still have a Pentium 3 right?............Drive a Toyota?............ Drink Victorian Beer? There is a light at the end of the tunnel mate, so don't be afraid of walking towards it .:)
FollowupID: 525572

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:05

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:05
Good point Lucy,
About 100 psi.

There iis no safety valve. Did think about it. :o)

Decided the user was the best safety device.

I usually need it after some sand driving, or after a good few Ks on the dirt and just found the bitumen on the way home.

So by the time I turn the pump on (don't always need it with the spare) and do the first tyre, the system is under 60 psi anyway, and not going to catch up. Just turn the pump off after the last tyre.

So what sort of safety device do you have on your tyres to make sure that they are not overinflated? :o)

FollowupID: 525577

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 20:38
Trevor

Keep that tone of language up and your chooks will grow into Emu's and kick your Chithouse down.

Brew

In your boot.

Old plodder

From your answer I think I have worked out how you do the 'tyre air-up biz' with everything hooked up.

Me!

Well I just do it the old fashion way, one at a time like in the servo's, so that when I am taking a rest or walking between wheels and the pressure hits a 100psi, it just shuts off.

This new fangled technology stuff is for the youngun's I say.

Keep things standard as possible is my motto.
FollowupID: 525586

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 21:24

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 21:24
Hah!! "Keep things standard as possible is my motto"

Says he with every gadget known to mankind trying to keep the droopy afloat!!! ROFL.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 525601

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:26

Tuesday, Sep 25, 2007 at 22:26
Its passed your bedtime Uncle Trev - now git to bed will you .

By the way, does your mother know that you are playing on the internet unsupervised. (ROFLMAO)

Shut up and stop giving away 'secrets' (LOL)

I'll have to call the Queen Toad Ms Jo to help me if don't go to bed.

ROFLMAO x 2,000,000
FollowupID: 525623