Gas lantern glass cracking while in use

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:15
ThreadID: 50039 Views:6056 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
How do you stop a gas lantern glass from cracking while in use. mine crack the first time I use the light and then after a couple of uses it has to be thrown away

Greenant

Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:21

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:21
They usually crack because there is a hot spot created when the mantle gets a small hole in it. If the mantle has any holes larger than the natural weave don't use it but replace the mantle.
Of course the glass will crack if rapidly cooled when the lamp is on and the glass is hot if exposed to a cold item like rain or even a very cold breeze.
AnswerID: 264001

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:22

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:22
Could it be caused by screwing the top on too tightly?
I've never had that happen.
AnswerID: 264002

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:11

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:11
Switch to using a 12v Versalite and no more cracked glass. You'll never go back to gas lights.

AnswerID: 264010

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:04

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:04
Yep the old gas bottle is redundant now
- 12v fluro for light
- led head torch for getting round the campsite
- compact butane stove for cooking
gas bottles have had there day and serve no purpose anymore.
Although-------- I still have a tape deck
FollowupID: 525753

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:29

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:29
Had a friend bring one of those butane gas stoves with him last time we went camping - ( the cheap 1 person ones ) about 20 min into boiling water on it - the whole thing exploded - the sound was louder than a 12 guage shot gun.

ended up that the heat was being directed back down by the pot to the little butane aerosol can to such a point it exploded ... needless to say we don't use them any more or let people near us use them. I have a nice hot plate thats 10 mm thick and about 700 mm long x 400 MM and free to use by anyone that would like to use it ;)

Boc
FollowupID: 525763

Follow Up By: obee - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:17

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:17
I bought one once cos I forgot the gas bottle. I went through two cans of gas and barely cooked two meals. I reversed over it and binned it. Made feel much better.

Owen
FollowupID: 525775

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 21:23

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 21:23
you guys are doing it wrong I have never had one explode and their desighn makes it look darn unlikely.
I am still on the original gas pack - they last quite along time and are alot cheaper than gas for your bottle
FollowupID: 525788

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:20

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:20
We have one of those $20 jobs as well and find it takes forever to heat up a billy of water also find as the cannister gets low on gas it (which is very quickly) the flame is more or less useless to heat. Gas bottle on our 2 burner stove is definately quicker. We nearly set our table alight one night when heating up water to cook our prawns in. Similiar to reply above it must have been throwing the heat back down and next thing could smell smoke. mmm smoke coming off timber table. I only use the $20 job now if cooking up a few snags or something quick other wise I have reverted back to the good old primus 2 burner. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 525803

Follow Up By: BIGDOG24308 - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 23:27

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 23:27
Re those little gas cannister stoves..........I have heard allsorts of bad stories about them, but having used them for years i have found them great. Some of the stories often relate to user error, eg.. not having the cylinder in the correct position before pushing the "connect" leaver, or not turning the cooktop over.
I have found the flame on these little jobs ample for cooking and used two for full time cooking for two years.
Maybe some are not as good, maybe i have been lucky ??

Cheers to all...........BIGDOG
FollowupID: 525814

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:13

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:13
Way back in the dim-darks when the only real lantern available was the venerable "Tilley"pressure lamp, I can remember hearing a similar question somewhere, probably either fishing or prawning in the Swan river.

The answer given was to put the lantern glass into a pot of cold water, slowly bring it to the boil and then let it cool naturally.
The idea was to equalise the internal manufacturing stresses within the glass.

I know my 'old man' did this and I can't remember any lantern glasses cracking while in use, although it was 50+ years ago.

Perhaps it would be worth a try with the "modern" gas lamps, just in case the oldies were right.

Disco.
AnswerID: 264011

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:03

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:03
Ahhh the old Tilley lamp, I remember them, ( I was only little) in fact we have one in the shed somewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 525752

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:46

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:46
Hi Dunworkin,
Glad to hear that you still have the old Tilley pressure lamp, don't let it get tossed out as rubbish. Still one of the best sources of light for outdoor activities.

They are becoming a collectors item, a bit like the old "Sievert" pressure blow lamp/torch us old timers used to heat up copper soldering irons.

(What the hell are they, I can hear all the young-uns muttering to themselves).

Disco.
FollowupID: 525766

Reply By: Flight Sargent - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:36

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:36
Try the gauze lamp surrounds instead never need replacing and work well.

SARGE
AnswerID: 264015

Reply By: greenant - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:54

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:54
Thanks for the fast reply from everyone
As I have to get a new glass I will try the old timers recipe and give it a slow warm up and boil
I am not going away for a while but when I return will post a follow up

Greenant
AnswerID: 264016

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 13:16

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 13:16
mate I just bought a remote controled rechargable fluro from aldi as a back up light has a 240 v charger as well as a 12v one and it only cost $16.00 :) just a thought !!

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 525721

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:46

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:46
They can be fragile alright, I tried the gauze ones before I went to my Northstar, but the light output is definetly less on them.

The tempering sounds feasable.

Another thing to practice is bring it down to low for a short while before you extinguish it, this allows the glass to cool a bit before it is subjected to the cool of the night.

Ron
FollowupID: 525740

Reply By: Strawb - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 16:55

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 16:55
I had the same problem and got one of these. The loss of light is minimal and no more breakage. Stainless Steel Lantern Mesh
http://www.sitro.com.au/products/?cat=2&sub=7
AnswerID: 264039

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:01

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:01
G'day greenant, these days I dont have the need to use this type of lantern, but used to use them a fair bit when my son was younger & we used to go camping a bit.They are a great way to light up the place.
Never had the problem you talk about, but can remember opening a stubby or six a bit close to the lense on some occasions
which caused the glass to crack!! Do you drink? LOL. best wishes
AnswerID: 264057

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:29

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:29
"How do you stop a gas lantern glass from cracking while in use."

Turn it off!
Sure its not your fellow campers throwing rocks at it?
They do make a lot of noise and attracked bugs .
AnswerID: 264060

Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:09

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:09
Re the stove.
The stroves come with the hob turned upside down to save space for a smaller box.
Many people think that this is the correct way to use them.
Someone on a club trip did this and it exploded and burnt his arm badly.
So make sure the hob is turned up the correct way. I understand if you do that little thing they give no trouble.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 264084

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 00:25

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 00:25
Correct. When in transport mode, the lever on the front which presses the gas canister is unable to be moved, but they are a bit flimsy and can be forced. If a kettle or pan larger than the base is put on for any length of time, the gas flame can't spread anywhere other than onto the canister, with bad results.

With the base the correct way up, these things will boil a kettle MUCH faster than a typical camper trailer/caravan gas cooktop.

A limitation of these little units is operation in very cold conditions - the gas will freeze and the flame will gradually shrink to almost nothing. Your kettle will not boil under these conditions.

I reckon they are a fantastic device when operated properly - but, like a chain saw or any number of other tools, can bite badly if wrongly handled.
FollowupID: 525817

Reply By: RussellV - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:34

Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 09:34
I found that some of the gas lamp fittings where you tie the gauze on aren't dead centre and if they are too far to one side it will crack the glass everytime (some of the cheaper varieties are like this). I then went and bought another fitting and checked to make sure it was dead centre.

AnswerID: 264151