Basic 4wd principles changing.
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:16
allanmac856
Not sure if it is because I'm getting too old, but it seems to me that the basics of safe 4wding are becoming a thing of the past.
When I was a kid & went out with my old man & his 4wd mates, many many yrs ago I might add, there were a heaps of 'do/do nots' with many I still abide by with today. The main ones were;
1. Take it nice & slowly, it is not a race.
2. Stop & check terrain b4 proceeding if unsure.
3. Use 4wdH evertime when driving on dirt roads.
4. Look after your vehicle as it will look after you; hopefully.
5. Never be afraid to admit your or your vehicles limitations,
as you dont have to prove anything to anyone.
Now these days it seems majority drive like 'cut cats', especially on the easy link tracks/dirt rds, without any consideration that vehicles could be coming the other way. Rush into driving tracks without having a close look. Have some fixation with leaving a 4wd vehicle in 2wd for as long as they can to prove what?. Have a crack at terrain that they or their vehicle is not capable of & it all turns 'pear shape' re damage or worse.
In other words, 4wding now at times seems to be a competition in; get there as fast as you can, & if you do damage & get stuck, it means you are a real 4wder because 'you are up for the challenge'.
Anyone else have similar thoughts, or am I just getting too old?
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:26
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:26
You must be getting old Allan - theres a lot of fun inbetween those stereotpyes.
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:40
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 11:40
No I think you are right to a certain extent. Probably a reflection of society in general, everyone wants it yesterday and at nil cost and bugger the environmental impact.
I'd still subscribe to your 'rules' basically what we learnt years ago too.
We get to meet them when doing 4wd training, they buy a new vehicle and then wonder why it breaks when they subject it to what is basically abuse.
Remember too that most of the newer vehicles are not designed to be used more than once a year in 4wd and then without a load and for only a very short period of time. You are also expected to buy a new one every couple of years and definately before it runs out of warranty.
Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:15
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:15
Only one rule I reckon....common sense.
I'm with you Allan.
Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 16:10
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 16:10
As mentioned on this
forum previously, common sense is not all that common.
However you are spot on
Cheers Ray
Reply By:- Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:16
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 12:16
I see this from other point of view. In the past anyone attempting to tackle difficult road must know that he is taking all responsibility. It includes everything – maps/route, driving technique and in particular knowing your vehicle and its ability or luck of them. As result “old school” 4WDers was responsible people and it automatically translates into responsibility in front of other 4WD, in front of Mother Nature, in front of people who maintain roads etc.
Now we have new breed of vehicles - lots of things inside them cannot be serviced with “screwdriver, spanner and hammer” anymore. This includes auto-transmissions, electronic engine control, ABS/EBD/ETC, unnecessarily overcomplicated hydraulic transfer cases etc). As result “live it to specialists” attitude develops and widely spreads. And this *AUTOMATICALLY* lead to attitude with luck of responsibility whatsoever. (To be fair it hugely applicable to wide range of our being, no to 4WD only).
With new breed of 4WDers develop (some call them “consumer”, but I recon they just losers) manufactures make yet another step and yet even “supernova” breed of cars emerge. I am talking about Disco 3 HSE and alike where we have not even given rights to select low gear, but rather have to dial to choose between “bitumen”, “sand”, “mud” etc. Losers became incredibly happy – they need to study nothing now, but just buy “proper” SUV (I am going to wash my mouth after using this word, but can not call such creation 4WD either) with GPS navigation and going to anywhere! Funny enough even RACV support this bunch of losers better then “old school” 4Wders and crown Disco 3 HSE “best all-terrain 4WD”.
Who going to take such a vehicle off-road? IMHO only person with total luck of responsibility whatsoever. So what sort of responsibility I can expect from him towards to other users, roads etc? IMHO not difficult to figure out.
Just my feelings.
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:19
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 07:19
Hi All, seen that disco floating around, didn't think much of its ground clearance. looks like it would get stuck mounting a big gutter.
As far as i'm concerned, get to know what you as a person can do and can't and stick with it, same for your vehicle and don't be stupid.
Cheers chris
Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 14:03
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 14:03
rule 3 --- kind of curious about this and WHY should i ALWAYS be in 4x4 when on a dirt road?
some dirt roads i go on you could take a jag onto - why would i need to be in 4x4 full time and just adding to drag on motor and such
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:14
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:14
It's safer. If the tail starts to step out the front drive will pull it back into line.
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:16
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:16
4 driving
wheels provide better grip on loose surfaces especially when braking or in an emergency.
I've always since the early 70's and my first 4wd used HL on dirt in all my cruisers, much better handling and braking safety. On the cruiser sized vehicles increased fuel consumption and wear is virtually negligible, some lighter vehicles may notice a minute difference but still very minor, what price safety?
The vast majority never keep a vehicle long enough to wear out drivetrain components anyway.
Follow Up By: Maddmav - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:02
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 18:02
Ever noticed the corrugations on dirt roads particularly on bends,
well this has a lot to do with traction and braking in corners from any vehicle and this has to some degree caused the corrugations.
Put a 4wd in 4H and you will aleviate the cause and drive with better traction as a bonus.
I shake my head when I hear people say I got this far in 2WD out on tracks - a good reason to use 4WD is also to take the strain off the drivegear - its on your vehicle - USE it.
Follow Up By: obee - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:14
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 19:14
I was out with a mate once who took four goes to climb a sandhill in 2wd. Maybe he was trying to prove he could break an axle. I could not convince him that using 4wd was better for the track, his tyres, and the dirive train. Ditto to safer handling in 4wd. When you hit a hole or soft stuff and the vehicle wants to change direction, its a bit late to put the thing in 4wd.
When I am chatting with fellow travellers I ask them if they use 4wd on dirt roads and most of them stick to 2wd till they have to shift. Unbelievable.
owen
Follow Up By:- Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 13:15
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 13:15
There are different kind of "dirt road" and I wouldbe incredibly reluctant to put my car in 4WD mode on road with hard surface because it lead to transmission wind-ups on vehicle without centre diff. And transmission wind-ups put *MUCH* more stress on everything then driving on 2WD on dirty road. I would rather engage rear diff-lock and try to proceed in 2WD as far as it goes.
Just opinion.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:16
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 15:16
Have you noticed how some of the 4wd mags seem to have articles on "How I crossed
The Desert Twice in 24 hours" ! They seem to praise people that want to break some sort of non-existant records - who cares ?
Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 11:11
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 11:11
Couldnt agree more.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:12
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 17:12
Yea but years ago 4wding was different - you usually did it coz you had to not coz you wanted to
-4wds were that rough you would kill yourself going anyfaster than dead slow
- They were too expensive for just anyone to buy (comparativly)
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 21:06
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 21:06
Hi Davoe,
Got to agree with that one.
48 mph was max in my first Series 1 Landy and believe me that was flying.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:24
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:24
Yes you are getting old Al. We no longer drive Landrovers that only do 90 kph, we have double diff locks, 150+ KW of power, constant 4x4, ABS, traction & stability control, 12,000lb
winches & after market
suspension that was developed in the Paris Dakar rally. We drive fast because we can safely, we rarely stop to check conditions as the car will go through or over almost anything, besides Parks have bulldozed almost every difficult track in the country. We don't look after the vehicle as we're getting the next model shortly anyway & 2WD is always more fun particually on opposite lock.
If you look at any 4x4 mag you will quickly discover there is no terrain a 4by can't drive & damage is just another expense like fuel :-)
My guess is you use your 4x4 to see interesting detinations, for others it's the getting there that's the fun bit.
Cheers Craig...............
Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 13:51
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 13:51
We no longer drive Landrovers that only do 90 kph........hahahha
I do!
Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:44
Wednesday, Sep 26, 2007 at 22:44
alanmac,
You're dead right! You're the bloke who'll come along and pull all these other twits from the mess they've put themselves into with all 4
wheels at full pace.
Low and Slow is the creedo ..as relevant today as always.