OT Big W serve yourself checkout.
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:40
Mikee5 (QLD)
Just tried this for the first time and hate it. Bought three items so thought it would be easy. Scan items, second and third items were same thing (bought 2) machine didn’t like third item, must have thought I made a mistake trying to pay twice or something. Eventually it worked so I then scanned my Staff Discount card. The machine said your card has been accepted please commence scanning your purchases. So – I cancelled the transaction because my goods were already scanned. I couldn’t do that without attendant’s key code. He said machine would accept Discount card at any time during transaction (machine lied to me). So began again but my goods by now were in Big W bag from first aborted attempt, took them out, scanned them and put them back in bag. Machine didn’t like this as you have to put scanned goods on shelf provided – it weighs things so it knows what you have scanned. (Machine though I was stealing the goods). Girl came over and told me I must put all scanned goods on tiny shelf next to machine. Finally scanned credit card, had to
sign a computer pad thing which then displayed my signature on a 17 inch monitor for all to see. Bring back checkout chicks.
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:49
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:49
Glad you enjoyed yourself, sounds like bundle of fun.
Luckily I live mainly in the bush, it'll be years (decades) before it comes here.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:58
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:58
Easy fixed just don't use it.
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:59
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 16:59
Technology stuffs up again eh ?
Daughter is a supervisor/relieving manager at Woolies in Syd. She has often said that she wished she could replace some of her girls with a trained monkey LOL
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:03
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:03
Perhaps she needs to go to Supercheap, Bunnings or Dick Smith and poach some of their PFT's
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:25
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:25
Never ceases to amaze me that some companys emply people for SFA on wages you cant live on then ride them as hard as they can
- Then wonder why they only get $16 PH worth of work out of them
Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:06
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:06
That's right, pay pea nuts, you get monkeys
Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 17:17
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 17:17
Hubby recently spent a five days in
Dampier. In a chain fast food outlet they are employing 457 visa holders. It took hubby about 15 minutes from driving up to window to getting his meal, cuz the person could not speak English.
He also had to order is nightly meal 24 hours in advance, no food was served in the CP ( the only accommodation, with a weeks notice), which cost over $900 for four days, for basically a donga.
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:00
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:00
What the " " ever happened to a thing called service , 1st service stations that have no service , grocery stores that sell furniture and car parts and now supermarkets that have self serve checkouts , bet you cant pay cash at a self serve !!!
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:04
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:04
Hey go into a Chemist - they sell everything but what chemists used to sell
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:02
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:02
Yep!
Had a similar experience myself not long ago.
Rocked up to the checkout area and no one insight, just a big empty area that said self check out.
Hmmmmm! not a problem be through here in a jiffy.
Mistake one - assuming the above
Mistake two - the checkout terminal : what a b a s t a r d to operate
Mistake three - I had two many items to stack on the sensor station next to the checkout terminal so I put one on the floor. Holy chit did it go off at me for that. Had to load the sucker back on the sensor plate and ended up having a pile as high at Mt everest.
Mistake four - trying to pay with a credit card. Finally a nice lady turned up, took my C-Card to another terminal, accessed the transaction and I signed the slip, which another person had to sight and authorize.
By this time 25 people had gone through a manned checkout that had opened after I commenced my fiasco.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:03
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:03
Unfortunately, that's how people felt about electronic checkout scanning when it was first introduced.
Now that's accepted, the self-help checkout will slowly but surely replace people.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:25
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:25
Only if we let it happen.
They are under trial at the moment if people use them then the supermarkets will continue to install them if people don't use them they will in all likelihood be removed in favour of people once more.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:35
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 17:35
I'm with you, but that's how we reacted to the scanners. The auto checkouts will get better at it just the way the scanners did, and there will be a long queue behind the only person and 10 empty self checkouts, so they will win.
But I won't help them :)
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:06
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:06
Scanners - Now Gerhard perhaps you can explain why the only scanners that seem 99% reliable are at ALDI??????
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:21
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 18:21
Gerhardp I agree with you and fear your right.
Mr F probably because Aldi only stock about 800 individual product line items in their stores as opposed to the average Coles and Safeway with about 24,000 different line items.
Errors are normally caused by incorrect data entry by someone in the first place, more items more chance of an error??
Reply By: John R (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:56
Thursday, Sep 27, 2007 at 19:56
I won't use self serve because they're putting some kid out of their potential first job. Regardless, do you get a discount for serving yourself?.......
Woolies and Coles are the thieves and thugs of grocery retail. I avoid them as much as possible now.
Follow Up By: Coops (Perth) - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 11:11
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 11:11
a discount , from Coles or Woolies.........now THAT'S funny!
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 16:39
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 16:39
Coming soon,
Self serve petrol / diesel where you must scan your card first at the pump.
Been in the states for years.
Now if the machine gets it wrong, who do you complain to at the servo? And will it print out a receipt for GST?
Some of those check out people at Woolies are smart people.
Both of my sons worked through Woolies while going to Uni, as did most of their friends. Woolies got a good deal. Most of these people now have degrees and doing masters/doctorates now.
We thought it was great for them to experience real work, and have to deal with real people, even the grouchy old customers who don't like change and grumble and fuss all the time. :o)
Breaking them in for our old age :o)
Follow Up By: Kev M - Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 17:35
Friday, Sep 28, 2007 at 17:35
John,
There is already a few of these around. There is one in
St George at the
Mobil and funnily enough they are one of the cheapest in town. But from memory you don't get a reciept.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |