Gas Light
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 18:31
Member - Franga (QLD)
GDay to one & all, I have a an old primus gas light which I haven't fired up for years, checked it all out and put it on the gas stook on the 4.5kg bottle and lit it up.
Now it s been a number of years but i reckon the light is no where near as intense it use to be.
Could it be the gas, not as good as it use to be?
Anyone else got any thoughts on what may be the problem?
Regards Franga
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 18:53
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 18:53
Modern mantles are different, I think the old ones were radio active.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 23:16
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 23:16
Gaslights using the thorium mantle (typically a thumb-size cloth bag coated with a thorium compound) offered a big advantage: because the thorium could incandesce at extremely high temperatures without melting, they were far brighter.
Note that most new lantern mantles use Yttrium instead of Thorium and are not radioactive.
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 20:18
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 20:18
Idon't think that ANY of the modern lights are much chop.
And it has NOTHINg to do with my eyesight........does it ?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 23:52
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 23:52
Hahahaha. (Bloody Gramps).
Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 21:19
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 21:19
The screw in jet is probaly partically blocked
Pete
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 21:30
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 21:30
Madfisher,
'partically blocked' - does that mean
a) blocked by particles
b) partially blocked, or,
c) particularly blocked...
LOL sorry mate, couldn't help myself. (I'm not the Spelling Police, really!)
Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:30
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:30
Glad I made your day , had a laugh myself lol
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 23:57
Saturday, Sep 29, 2007 at 23:57
Galbraith eh.
Have memories of a Galbraith; maths copper.
No relation, eh?
(Please disengage: couldn't resist though.)
jh.