CT's Do you Really reckon its worth the BIG BUCKS

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 11:54
ThreadID: 50138 Views:4796 Replies:12 FollowUps:12
Hey all,
I've been a little quiet lately trying to get my head around the new job over here in the West.

Currently considering a New CT and looking at the Kimberley Platinum. Now I don't mind spending extra bucks for good quality gear, and the Kimberley products are certainly top of the line but 43K is a lot of money. I have considered second hand but would prefer to buy something brand spankin for once in my life.

Keeping in mind I have SWMBO and three kids the Platinum looks as though it is the ducks guts but would be keen to hear others opinions......is it REALLY worth spending that amount of money???

Whatdya rekon.

Toytruck

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 12:06

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 12:06
Apologies in advance, but I'm going to shamelessly take this opportunity to let Toytruck and others know that I have a near new Pioneer Argyle SE 4X4 for sale. I'm currently preparing a Trader submission.

It was bought new in Sept last year and used over the long weekend when the Eagles won the Grand Final and in Easter this year. It has a bed extension for tall people.

Having just bought a Trakmaster caravan way sooner than I expected the CT is now for sale. Asking $26000, avoid 3 or 4 months build time. Optional extras are Yamaha EF1000 genny ($1000), Engel 39litre fridge ($500), porta potti (unused !!) $75.

AnswerID: 264458

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 12:14

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 12:14
Gone Bush,
I applaud your seizure of an opportunity however, I really have my sights set on new. Please do not take offence its just me:-)

Toytruck
FollowupID: 526195

Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:04

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:04
You're right it is a lot of wedge.

Just how far do you go off road? We started out with a camper trailer and after realising that most camping spots have pretty good road access we ended up with a caravan. More space and luxury for the money and the set up time is much shorter.

Or go the compromise, something like a Jayco Expanda Outback 16.49.3 (I think it's the 3 with the bunks). Well under 43 gorillas.

AnswerID: 264464

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:43

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:43
Jimbo,
I don't get off the road a lot but when I go I like to go as far into the bush as I possibly can. I am purchasing the new CT with a view to getting up into the Kimberley later in 2008 and am also preparing for as many weekend trips as I can possibly fit in next year.

I have held off the trips a little for a number of years while building a family however, the young bloke is now seven, number 1 daughter 6 and number 2 daughter now 1 year old (Last one), its time to start having some fun again.

The Kimberley trip is one of many I have in mind including the CSR and firing across to Uluru to show the kids.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 526200

Follow Up By: Kevndeb - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:53

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:53
We have three kids and planning a trip to Tassie at the end of the year. We started looking for the accommodation at the beginning of this year. We planned on re-building my f-i-l CT, it needed new canvas, and we would have to re-do the camp kitchen, then we thought we would just by a new Jayco CT, sell it when we got back, but after several people told us that they are cold in the winter and very hot in the summer and considering it snowed at Christmas last year in Tassie. We started looking at pop-tops. Considering we were doing a big trip with three kids, and needed more then just a place to sleep, we decided on a pop-top. As we do have three kids and most of market is aimed at gray nomads, we really had only two choices the second hand expanda and rapid, in our budget of about $25K or buying new at $35k. My f-i-l had look and he thoughts were that the expanda would need flies to keep dry, were the rapid wouldn't or shouldn't need the flies

We were going to buy in another state, because the both second hand rapids and expands are not that easy to find in WA But we managed to find one at dealer, it had only been used a couple times, as the canvas didn't look like it been unpacked. And due to the change in Stamp duty cost we brought in WA.

We are basically packed and ready to go for out trip, with the arrival of our new Pathy, which will be fitted with rhino basket in the coming weeks.

Debbie
FollowupID: 526313

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:22

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 13:22
Toytruck, It is a lot of money, but you get a lot of camper.
Just for comparison, have a look at the Australian Off Road Campers range if you have not done so.
Australian Off Road Campers

Not suggesting they are better than the Kimberley, but I always like to do a comparison with similar products if possible.

The top of the line with them is the Odysey Export Signature. We have an Odyssey ZR (couple of levels down) and very happy.

The only thing with these top of the line models is that everything is included. Now that is good in some respects, but it limits your options in fridge, solar set up, etc as this is all in the package.

But if all the inclusions are the sort of stuff you would buy anyway, it's fine as the package is designed to hang together with it all included and you don't have to shop around and make lots of decisions.

If you can afford the top of the line, why compromise? Anyone can live rough. I've done plenty of it. But now that we live in comfort on the road, I'm never going back.

Not sure that I'd want to spend $43K on a CT, but we did spend $30K a couple of years ago, without a lot of the add ons you get, - so not a big difference. And if you want the top of the range, you gotta pay for it.

Nice to get something new occasionally. And you can set it up the way you want - match wheels to tow vehicle, etc.

Good luck with it.

Norm C

AnswerID: 264466

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 14:23

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 14:23
A lot of $s , thing is nobody can say or give you a definitive answer , money is only good for 1 thing anyhow and that is to spend it . , if YOU think its right for you and yours ,go for it . some will say its to dear only because they cant justify in their minds the $ value yet will spend the same amount on modifying their vehicle ,
AnswerID: 264473

Reply By: Member - Christopher John R ( - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 16:34

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 16:34

We bought a new Ultimate 3 years ago, can not fault it, and has been everywhere; we are not daunted by diitance, time or place to stay!!

Bateman's Bay rig.
Ultimatecampers.com.au
AnswerID: 264483

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 17:51

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 17:51
Toytruck,

We got a KK Platinum a couple of years ago - 2005 model.

We are more than happy with it and went the Platinum as lower models with extras actually came in a bit dearer at the time.

We have two kids, 11 & 8, and went for the kids room option. They now sleep happily in COI bunk beds that store flat on top of our bed when travelling.

I assume that your 1yo would still be in a port-a-cot or similiar - this would fit well on the hard floor with the two older kids in the kids room.

The new Platinum have a larger area over the hard deck due to a changed angle of the canvas.

The KK does take longer to setup than a pop-top of Jayco - but it's each to their own. We like travelling at a relaxed pace and enjoy pulling up at a park and sliding out the kitchen ready to go! It works out a lot cheaper than going to McD's in every town.

The only thing I would recommend is the tropical roof - we didn't go for this as the hype was for cooler camping in hotter climates - we've since found out it also keeps the camper warmer in the hoigh country.

Don't be too 'gun-shy' about the price - the KK's have a great resale value and life's too short IMHO - if it doesn't cause undue hardship - why not?

Tim
AnswerID: 264493

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 18:59

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 18:59
I don't want to comment on the KK. I have only ever looked at them from the point of view of a visitor. I may be wrong in what I am thinking about them so please don't get upset I am happy to be corrected. I have watched as one was packed up at a site near us in a camping ground.

My understanding is that the basic set up is quite simple and quick but that this really only gives you access to the one main bed. All the other stuff takes a bit more time. From what I have seen I reckon they would be a good thing for two people but I think you can do better for a family.

I have made no secret of the fact that I own and recommend the Trak Shak. In under ten min I can have access to two queen size beds and an additional mattress that we carry for the third child. The kitchen is accessible for the quick lunch stop and can be used either inside the camper or lifted off and placed in an external position. There is heaps of storage, again accessible from inside the camper, we can pack everything apart from the camper itself without going out in the rain, trust me this is a very nice feature. Its ability to go places off raod is second to none.Mine has been to Cape York, the Simpson and the Vic high country just to name a few. I know it's not a hard floor but the soft has never been a problem and I think the extra space on the KK is soft floor anyway.

The Trak Shak now offers features which were not available when we bought ours, like a boat rack and a solar panel set up capable of powering a small outback town.

Resale value on the Trak Shak is also good, I would get the purchase price back if I sold it However, if I got nothing for it it has still been an excellent investment because it has let us see great chunks of Oz at very little cost.

I am not sure what they cost new these days but I think you would get change from $43k

Just my thoughts, new is nice and the KK looks good but there are other options. I have no affiliation with Trak Shak except that I have been happy with mine for over 10 years now.

FollowupID: 526229

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:54

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:54
Gents,
excellent comments thanks. Duncs, to be honest I have not looked at the Trak Shak but can assure you I will have a sticky beak and have a compare. The point you make about packing up in the rain is a good one. It's little points like these that evade most people when making a decision.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 526314

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:57

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:57
Toytruck,

A couple of other things I should tell you about the Trak Shak.

Firstly the trailer is the only one I know of designed to allow you to do vehicle recoveries by attaching a winch or snatch strap to the trailer. They have designed recovery points for this purpose. If the vehicle behind you in the convoy gets stuck you can pull it out without having to unhook the trailer.

Secondly they do have a down side. They are not great in a strong wind, although I think this may be common to any large area of canvas, tent or CT. They bang and flap and are noisy, I have a bit of trouble sleeping through this. The guy ropes are Ok but do not have a long enough spring. I replaced most of mine with car inner-tube rubber as springs this has virtually eliminated the problem.

There are no doubt other good quality campers out there but I and my wife both love our Trak Shak.

Happy shopping
FollowupID: 526387

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:00

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:00
Duncs , Camp-o-Matic also has rated recovery points , would not try to attempt a snatch recovery as you describe however , the loading on the trailer hitch to vehicle would be rather extreme ,
FollowupID: 526500

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:15

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:15
Hi Duncs,

Camprites also have two rear recovery points.

FollowupID: 526504

Reply By: nats - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 20:52

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 20:52
A good quality tent for parents and a smaller one for the kids - set up easily and no dragging a trailer around. Keep it simple, cheap and real.
Nats.
AnswerID: 264512

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:41

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:41
Nats,
I hear you but we like to travel long distances and a 12 or 13 hour day whilst on the way to our destination is not uncommon. At the end of those long days putting up a tent is almost not an option. I want to be able to pull over, pop the camper and be sitting with a cold drink in my hand in under 15 minutes.

Additionally once at the destination we would be camping for extended periods and a few creature comforts with the tribe is essential.

Don't get me wrong, we have been tenting it for years but now want a few added features:-)

Toytruck
FollowupID: 526312

Follow Up By: Middle Jeff - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:16

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:16
Hi Toytruck

If that is the sort of travelling you are doing, have a look at the Cub off road models. I like the inside kitchen with the BBQ outside ( good weight distribution ). Has to be the fastest up and down off the lot, if it is raining you do not need the awning because you can cook inside so not one peg is needed.

Have fun

Craig
FollowupID: 526366

Reply By: Road Runner - Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 21:45

Sunday, Sep 30, 2007 at 21:45
Bought a new Classic in 2005 and for two of us it is perfect. Erects in about ten minutes for short overnight stops, takes a little longer to close up. This is more to do with carefully folding up tables and chairs, repacking the pantry and kitchen than the time taken to close up the camper.

For longer stays the awning and the ensuite provide additional comfort. I opted for the 2.4 metre awning with canvas walls at the ends (for privacy at some busy sites). I have since bought a 1.8 metre awning – it has less poles, doesn’t need struts and if you don’t have the sun roof attached the tent will fold into the camper with the smaller awning in-situ.

I use the sun roof all the time. As stated above it keeps in warmth in winter but is exceptionally cooler in summer. Also protects the canvas from bat and bird droppings!

There is an enormous amount of mesh covered by zip-over flaps. Spent the last two weeks in the Gulf of Carpentaria and the KK provided cool accommodation in temperatures up in the high thirties. Low overnight temperatures were not a problem once the internal curtains were zipped.

If you run the fridge off a dual battery set-up in the car you will find the 70AH battery pack in the Kimberley ample for about ten nights running the odd fluro, internal lights and the kitchen pump. You could back it up with solar or generator if your demands run high or add more batteries. Also managed to stretch the 130 litre water tank over eleven days touring (drinking and cooking only) using river water for showers and washing-up etc.

The later models have an extended tent that may provide accommodation for the kids during the short overnights. Alternatively the ensuite is large enough for a small bed. Allow ten minutes to erect it. I would probably opt for a ‘quick erect’ tent for the kids if you go the way of the Kimberley Kamper, particularly for the quick overnights. Last trip I did down the Strezlecki we took our son and he camped outside in a swag. For longer stops the extra trouble of erecting the full awning and ensuite is worth it.

We like the idea of an external kitchen as it is accessible for roadside stops and keeps the cooking smells outside the sleeping accommodation.

The storage box on the Classic is a bit tight even for two of us – the larger gull-wing box would be essential for a family. I probably carry a few more luxuries than most folk and the back of a Prado doesn’t offer the storage capacity of a ‘Troopie’ or dual cab.

They are well built underneath and will tow to places I probably wouldn’t get the 4WD into. On the highway the turbo-diesel settles in at 100 – 110 and you hardly know the camper is there.

I personally would probably buy ‘new’ again. Although a low time used example may arrive on the market place offering quick delivery, the seller would probably get new price or better given immediate availability.

Can’t fault the Kimberley, it is easily maintained, well built and designed for the task it does, all of which is reflected in the price.
AnswerID: 264521

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:36

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:36
Road Runner,
thanks for the detailed response. You've convinced me. As others on this thread have quite rightly stated it's a lot of buck but you get a lot of camper.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 526311

Reply By:- Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 08:10

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 08:10
Wouldn't have a CT for quids yet alone $43,000.00. You can buy a decent caravan for that money.
I like to be able to pull over, have a brew up or possibly a kip. Not have to worry if it is raining and now worries about packing away wet canvas. I'll stick to my caravan.
AnswerID: 264537

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:14

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 09:14
I hear what your saying however, I can drag a good CT into most off road places in Oz but I carnt get a van in there. I still want to be able to go bush and teh CT is the best way to go.......for me.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 526308

Reply By: ferris - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 15:27

Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 15:27
Have a look at the Cape York Camp Trailer, by Cape York Trailers. They're solidly built with most of the features of the KK, but a fair bit cheaper. Set up and pack up times are around 2 minutes, and we've lived with kids in ours for up to 2 months at a time.Cape York Trailers

keep the shiny side up
Ferris
AnswerID: 264575

Reply By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 10:06

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 10:06
Mate,

I reckon that CTs are the go. I have a Downunder CT made in Forretsfield (on the way to Perth Airport) and it is a great trailer - but is a soft floor. Can be set up quickly for over nights stops or full set up takes about 40 mins for longer stays.

Just got back from a camping trip over the longweekend down on the Blackwood River and my CT went well.

If a soft floor is not the go - have you considered the Camprite CT - it is also WA made and has a very good reputation.

How are you finding WA?

Karl
AnswerID: 264677

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:48

Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 14:48
Hi Toytruck,

Spending that sort of money you really want to make sure you choose correctly. While reading other peoples opinions is great, there is nothing like hiring one to see how it really performs for your family. Given the potential $43K you might spend, its certainly worth hiring a few different types for a few weekends away.

I currently have a Camprite C/T and have found it to be near perfect for my family (2A, 2C). I was specifically after a "hard floor" model but found the "flipover" type had a relatively small covered area. The Camprite is a great compromise as it has two pemanent single beds (can be set up as bunks) as well as a double bed plus still has a large floor area while all off the ground.

The Camprite can be setup easily in 5 minutes and thats ready to sleep - all beds are permantly left setup. It has no ground pegs at all (unless annexe set up) and has no problem in winds. I particularly like the "off the ground" setup, no worries about level ground, rocks, mud etc... The kitchen setup is well thought out and you have arguably the largest amount of bench space in the kitchen.

I carry two kayaks on the Camprite roof and they do not have to be removed when setting up - a really convinient feature. Best of all, you will have ~$15K change even if you buy a brand new Camprite!

Click on my rigpic link below a few shots of the Camprite if you are interested.

AnswerID: 264712