Bit O/T - Lifting the Ute a bit or a new bull bar for the RV.
Submitted: Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:01
equinox
I have a bit of dough I want to spend on the Ute (about 3k) but I have two possible options.
A new steel ARB bull bar and side rails and steps will cost me around $2500 fitted. I should also be able to flog my exisiting alloy bar and stock steps as a bonus.
or
I'm also thinking of lifting the Ute about 15mm to allow for the 265 75R16's and give a better approach and departure angles.
I haven't the faintest idea
where to start on this.
Can anyone give me a guestimate on costs and somewhere in
Perth which can do this sort of stuff?
I would rather spend a bit more on a good job than pay less and get into trouble where I need it the least.
Cheers for the answers
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:58
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 17:58
Hi Alan,
I guess I'd do the
suspension first. I've got the usual OME 2inch lift and it sits up OK. I have a few friends who have added the airbags on the rear as
well, so they can adjust the rear end height according to how much load they have.
265/75 are the same diameter as standard 750R16, so won't change anything.
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:48
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 18:48
Thanks Phil,
I'm still trying to get my head around the
suspension. Is your articulation improved much with the OME's?
I hate that sound from the rear when I drive across small
creek beds diagonally.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:42
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:42
Alan,
Articulation is improved. I measured the shock absorber length and the OME were 40mm longer than the factory shocks. The rear brake line looked to be a bit tight, but by tilting the tab where it attaches to the chassis, I got some extra length.
The ride is a better. Only downside I've noticed is that it leans a bit more, especially when its
well loaded.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:57
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 19:57
Gees Phil, I always thorght you ran standard Toyota shocks and
suspension.. :-(
only once I changed
suspension on the 720 and shockies on the Navara, but neaver the Pardo or the Troopy.
I have fitted the air bags to the rear,,
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:30
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:30
Gday Richard,
The factory stuff is very reliable, and yep, I was a fan of the factory shocks on the 90series. But the rampover angle on the 79series was no good, so it needed some lift. And I wanted the longer travel shocks. The OME stuff has done over 50,000k and seems to be standing up
well.
I bought some Boss airbags, and they arrived today. No more trips planned until about May next year, so will have to wait until then to test them out.
Reply By: Member- Tony C - Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:11
Monday, Oct 01, 2007 at 21:11
Alan,
Upgrading my standard
suspension and steering damper to O.M.E.along with air bags has been the best money spent on improving
mine.It's made an enormous difference to ride and articulation.I went for the medium grade springs and compensate for a heavy load by increasing pressure in the air bags.
Tony
Reply By: Fnqt2 - Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:38
Tuesday, Oct 02, 2007 at 19:38
Gday there equinox hows it going mate , im running old man emu's LTR's on my 79 rv and couldent be happier , they have handed the
cape york corragations beautifully up here in the cape and going strong iv given em lots of curry and no problems, i have all so installed 30mm front spring space's for a little bit more hight they seem to dampen some of the front end vibrations and that, if it was me id save up a few more dollors go
suspension first , ill so be gettin rear air bags soon just no sure of what brand yet.