New Feature - Driving Directions

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:47
ThreadID: 50218 Views:3912 Replies:18 FollowUps:23

Just a quick note (pre-release info for the forum). I have just added a new driving directions system into Places. I will be adding it to the home page etc in due course however you are welcome to have a go now and see how it works.

Visit the Driving Directions system.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

Reply By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:51

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:51
David,

It works, it would take my outlaws about 7h 38mins to get to my place:))

Which means I have enough time to pack and head bush LOL

AnswerID: 264875

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 16:13

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 16:13
Kev, you are assuming they would tell you they were coming obvioulsy. Triffic if they do that. I usually take 20 minutes less thna indicated by the system this morning. Sometimes even less time.
FollowupID: 526857

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 16:17

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 16:17
John,

I know when they are coming as the FIL wants to know if there is beer in the fridge LOL

Any more info on the Pyrenees trip??

FollowupID: 526859

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 16:36

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 16:36
I think David is looking to set up a place for files and maps and the like and he was looking into that. Otherwise I may set an offsite to EO place, I can send you a bit if you email me.

Wanting to have electronic maps available easily, and the locations, the brochure, but will have that in a handout too. Chris G, an EO member is local to the area we have met with already and he knows all the locals that we need to be in contact with. You will meet Chris as you have expressed interest in the Sunday service

I know there is a fair thought we will go back and do another recce, but just for a day trip. Lucky wants to, and Bonz, and Glenn, and ..........

There are some beautiful tracks there. DSE know we are going
FollowupID: 526862

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:51

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:51
David,

I think you need clearer instructions. I entered home to work address and couldn't get it to work.

AnswerID: 264876

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:56

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:56
Peter,

I found that you need to put commas in after each bit.
eg 1 Holiday Street, Retirementville, NSW

FollowupID: 526705

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:59

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 16:59
Thanks Kev. Needs a , after each address bit. A form asking for street, suburb, state might be better.

FollowupID: 526707

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:05

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:05
Strange it does not care when I do it. As an example of what I have done (and is defaulted from your membership) just enter 1234 Martin St Hillarys wa (this works fine for me).

Anyway keep the feedback comming. Yes commas do make it easier and I guess this is to ensure long multi word street names can be identifed - I will adjust the members default from address info to match this.

FollowupID: 526708

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:12

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:12
Modification made and tested to add the commas in the default start address (which is yours from your profile).

FollowupID: 526710

Follow Up By: Michael A (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:16

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:16
Great improvement. Thanks
FollowupID: 526713

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:20

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:20
Weird! Not working for me now.

FollowupID: 526715

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:23

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:23
What happens - I just tested it again and it is fine? Please tell me the start and end strings and what error you get. If you want to take the info off system then email it to me david@exploroz.com.

FollowupID: 526716

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:33

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:33
Apologies. OK now. had a spelling error in the St name
FollowupID: 526719

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:16

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:16
The new system is now linked to the Places home page.

AnswerID: 264878

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:26

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:26

It can't take me home from the pub. I'm lost!

Kim
AnswerID: 264881

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:28

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:28
Pity, I was hoping it would take me to the pub tonight and back again. Alas I will have to rely on a mate to drive....

FollowupID: 526717

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:46

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:46
David,

That's where Michelle comes in LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 526722

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:54

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:54
goodday david
have tried 3 different ways of putting in in laws addy and it just goes back to the places main screen

i have tried 28 austin ave ,moe
28 Austin Ave , Moe
28 austin ave Moe
AnswerID: 264885

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:00

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:00
Steve,

You need to put a State in

FollowupID: 526725

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:01

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:01
put state in and remove all commas and full stops and it works

FollowupID: 526726

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:09

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:09
I just tested it with commas and it works - here is a direction from my suburb in perth to the address is Moe.

Directions from Hillarys to Moe

FollowupID: 526727

Reply By: BIG_red87 - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:56

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 17:56
Very nice David - a lot better than Whereis and others. It would be good if you could have a running total as well as point-point distances.

Big Red
AnswerID: 264886

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:17

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:17
Good one David.

Except it couldn't find Kunawarritji, WA and its drive times are VERY optimistic...LOL

AnswerID: 264891

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:50

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 18:50
Yes you are correct and this is where ExplorOz steps in with our new mapping and routing product that is being developed. It knows where this place is and it also can tell you all the 4x4 specific routes that intersect it.

I found the Google version and added it because it was there and avaialble to solve the main road routing requirements, after all I do not need to redo all of that just interface the systems together. It works Ok and will solve those forum posts that say what website can tell me the distance and time between towns - now the answer is ExplorOz.

Have a good one.

FollowupID: 526732

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:41

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:41
It worked perfectly for me with no commas . Amazing .
Thanks ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 264916

Reply By: Old Dave - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:43

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:43
Hi David
I have just become a member and have tried out your driving directions and it worked well. Can I now throw out the UBD? LOL
Regards Dave
AnswerID: 264917

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:50

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:50
David, can you get it to list the bakeries and pubs en-route pls?

AnswerID: 264918

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:53

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:53
Trading hours for the pubs in the NT as well would be good LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 526739

Reply By: Member - Franz Peter R (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 19:57
Well done David it works a treat found my way to Hobart and back

AnswerID: 264919

Reply By: Member - Cliff L (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:06

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:06
Excellent well done David works fine for me
AnswerID: 264922

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:23
Like how it comes up with our address straight away. Found a mistake with the mapping directions to my parents place who live in Kelmscott. Directions indicate that you can still get off Albany Hwy into Lake Road. This has not been the case for about 6mths now.

AnswerID: 264926

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:36

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 07:36
Duncan

It must linked to your physical address you have to give EO when you register as a Member or a Visitor.

I also found a route which does not exist these days. The road it shows would go right across the Primary School Footy field...lol. It has been like that for the 8 years I have lived here. Updating maps takes a while, it seems.

FollowupID: 526996

Reply By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:26
very impressed.

that will get some use in this household

cheers JD
AnswerID: 264928

Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:57

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 20:57
Excellent, David. Very useful. Any chance of zooming in on towns en route? Sometimes easier to follow directions if one can see it.

AnswerID: 264933

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:10

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:10
Ian,

There are the typical Google controls available however I wanted to try the cleaner interface however, You can double click the map left mouse double = zoom in, right double zoom out. You can also click the number in the driving directions and a window will pop over the map with a smaller image of the intersection and the ability to turn on Sat and Hybrid maps. Have a go and see what you think. I can document the controls or add the standard google type zoom, hybrid, satellite etc.

FollowupID: 526756

Follow Up By: Ianw - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 00:00

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 00:00
David, Yep that works fine, Thanks
FollowupID: 526787

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:27

Wednesday, Oct 03, 2007 at 21:27
Nice program David, but one question. Is the route plotted from one destination to the next the shortest distance travelled? I found from my home Rockingham to Midland the plot was through Perth where I normally take the Roe Highway which is much shorter. Cheers.
AnswerID: 264944

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 14:55

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 14:55
The engine currently takes you via the most major roads. Thus sometimes for suburb to suburb it may not show the fastest route but it will get you there. Local knowledge is always better than a computer program.

Glad you like it.

FollowupID: 526845

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 00:04

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 00:04
I just give it a test across Australia , worked fine after I added street numbers instead of Crystal Brook Caravan Park , 388 Kelvin Road, Orange Grove WA , I had to add it as
18 Palmer Ave , Warwick, Qld
388 Kelvin Road, Orange Grove, WA

It done the calculation quite fast,

Doug

AnswerID: 264975

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 13:57

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 13:57
Very good David.
Got me two houses up the rd. Told me which way to head
leaving my drive way.
Whats coming next.
AnswerID: 265014

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 14:53

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 14:53
Heaps and heaps of realy cool stuff. First project that is being worked on in the background (full time by two staff). Is our new trek note and outback road routing system to complement the driving directions system that really only knows about the road network (not the off road network). It is fully integrated in places and will be really nice once it rolls onto the production server.

There is always room for more stuff. Thanks for the feedback.

FollowupID: 526844