How these internet "hot spots" work

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 17:39
ThreadID: 50248 Views:3513 Replies:11 FollowUps:32
I've just bought a new fliptop computer and it has wireless internet connection. It's great for sitting on the back verandah accessing this site and others.

I've heard that McDonalds, for instance, has wireless connection. Just how does this work? Do you simply sit down with your fliptop and a McTasteless and log straight on?

Keep in mind I'm a simple man, any help would be appreciated.

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:02

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:02
Basically you have to pay for a connection at most places.

Credit card or I think you can book it up to your phone account.

You can also get free connections at some caravan parks and motels.

You need to search for the network once you find it mostly just click on connect. You will be provided with a key (which is a series of letters and numbers or a username and password.

Simple as that.

AnswerID: 265044

Reply By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:18

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:18
Gday Jimbo
If your laptop is running Windows XP:

# go to the start menu
# then "connect to"
# then "wireless network connection"
# bottom right hand corner there should be "View Wireless networks" - click on this

If any wireless networks are available it should display them here ( you probably know all this already as you are using your laptop with your home wireless network).

If other networks are available they should be displayed. If they have a padlock symbol next to them they're locked and can only be accessed with a password. To connect to an unlocked network simply highlight it and click "connect". It will then let you know if you have access and the level of signal.

I'm not sure how McDonalds works, but you'll find that a lot of unsuspecting people leave their networks unlocked, allowing you to "highjack" their wireless internet.

Big Red
AnswerID: 265045

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:23

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:23
> you'll find that a lot of unsuspecting people leave their >networks unlocked, allowing you to "highjack" their wireless >internet.

which is of course very illegal and immoral
FollowupID: 526894

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:26

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:26
why yes of course - i'd never dream of doing such a thing myself... ;)
FollowupID: 526897

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:47

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:47
I might be tempted if I was away from home and desperate :)
FollowupID: 526908

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:13

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:13
I'm not aware that it's illegal to connect to a stupid person's unsecured network, any more than it is illegal to listen to their radio if it's loud enough for you to hear.

My wireless network shows as unsecured, but still not accessible to everyone.

FollowupID: 526919

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:20

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:20
unsecured or not it's illegal, just like entering and unsecured house when having no right.
FollowupID: 526923

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:29

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:29
Quite right Red Frog as if they turn their radio up its "free to air "
You have to conciously find a network and if you choose to use it its illegal as you say. comes under the communications act I think

If Gerhard P1's network is unsecured get a friend with a lappy to come around and see if he can log on. If he can be worried.

The person may not be "stupid" as you say, maybe just not savvy or had bad advice.
FollowupID: 526928

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:31

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:31
The legislation I found to be relevant to Wardriving is the Cybercrime Act 2001. In particular

477.3 Unauthorised impairment of electronic communication

(1)
A person is guilty of an offence if:

(a)
the person causes any unauthorised impairment of electronic communication to or from a computer; and
(b)
the person knows that the impairment is unauthorised; and
(c)
one or both of the following applies:
(i)
the electronic communication is sent to or from the computer by means of a telecommunications service;
(ii)
the electronic communication is sent to or from a Commonwealth computer.

--So basically, If you are driving around looking for wireless AP's and then using the Internet when you find them then the following applies

A person is guilty of an offence if:
(a)
the person causes any unauthorised impairment of electronic communication to or from a computer; and

--Well you are imparing the electronic communication as you are using some of it's bandwidth but there is an and needed to make it an offence. Also this part of the act actually concerns denial of service attacks but their definition of impairment is grey and could include this. However if that were the case it would also include just having a network card in your laptop and waliking past as they automatically connect to unsecure networks and any such connention would impair the communication.

(b)
the person knows that the impairment is unauthorised; and

--I'll admit that this part seems a bit of a grey area but how do you tell if a network is unauthorised and not a public wireless AP. Now I know some people are getting "scalps" by entering the router's IP and then logining into it. That IS illegal as you have clearly entered a restricted area.
FollowupID: 526929

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:32

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:32
>"I'm not aware that it's illegal to connect to a stupid person's unsecured network"
Why would they be stupid? Because they not that good with computers?

Does that mean if you dont have security screens on your house its your own stupid fault if you get broken into and its acceptable???
Strange way of looking at something.
FollowupID: 526930

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:19

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:19
I don't think there's many free hotspots around, maccas you have to pay. I provide a hotspot at my place for family and friends.
AnswerID: 265046

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 09:04

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 09:04
What was that Hotspot address again? Ohhh yes I remember ... 23 Premiers Rd Catland :o)

FollowupID: 527191

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 09:36
hahha love it, GO THE MIGHTY CATTERS

Go Cats 2008
FollowupID: 527196

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:23

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:23
Oz doesn't have too much in the way of free wireless access - bandwidth is overpriced here - a number of people (including me) leave their wireless networks open for others to access. Tell your wireless software to do a search for local wireless networks and if you find an "unsecured" network you will probably be able to access the net.

KEEP IN MIND: any logon names or passwords you send over such a system can be read by the owner of the system - I suggest you DO NOT access your bank account via this method - and that includes caravan park internet access people! An open wireless network is exactly that - open.

AnswerID: 265048

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:42

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:42
And if by some chance you have "shared " any of your drives they are open to see for anyone on the network. Also someone using the network illegally can spoof your address and send almost anything over that and you can get the blame if they are being nasty.
Some nice people have been known to drive around with sniffer programs and they can get into anything on your computer including passwords if they have the right stuff. Anyone who leaves a wireless network open in my opinion deserves anything that may happen to them. It is the computer equivilent of going on holiday and leaving all your doors and windows open.
I run wireless and use 128 bit encryption so that whats mine stays mine
. PS where are u Mike, I need to d/load a few movies, handy to use someone elses monthly allocation rather than mine. HE HE

And I did get a radio thanks
FollowupID: 526905

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:51

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:51
I was thinking the exact same thing. What if you live next door to a pedofile for example and he uses your network to download child porn. There's plenty of other examples where this could turn to sh*t...
FollowupID: 526910

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:55

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:55
Only thing that may save you is the MAC number of the computer is usually logged somewhere and if you can prove yours isnt the one you would be OK.
In saying that I got some nasties once from a university computer and found the MAC number of it
When I rang the supposed IT guy he denied it until he went and looked at his files and found I was right.
Up till then he denied any one could do that from his system. Shows that everthing is possible if you know how to do it.
FollowupID: 526912

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:00

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:00
Life is full of risks people - try as you may you will never be able to exclude them all - and it's nice to help others as we pass through.

Graham: if you really want a couple of movies my 25GB bandwidth per month is far more than I need and when exceeded it simply limits to a 64KB stream.

Compared to having an accident in my car and other daily risks - internet issues rate pretty low :)

Radio???

FollowupID: 526913

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:03

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:03
My thoughts exactly, Big Red. Better to not be the generous soul.
I read about this argument used in courts, where the accused reckoned that someone must have accessed their open wireless network to download porn or illegal movie downloads.
I have a wireless network for the odd time when I want to run the lappy out on the deck, or for when friends stay, but I run WPA2 128 bit encryption and also hide my SSID to keep out unwanted users.
And WEP is too easy to crack.
Gerry
FollowupID: 526916

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:08

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:08
In a perfect world everyone would willingly share their internet and we'll all sing songs around a maypole haha but when it has the potential to cause you so much hassle why risk itr? People who want wireless internet everywhere should fork out for next G and get sh*tty coverage like everyone else :P
FollowupID: 526917

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:13

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:13
>but when it has the potential to cause you so much hassle why risk itr?

Because I don't believe everyone is out to get me (a few sad individuals on here excepted :) - and the risk is a _lot_less than you scaremongers make out.

FollowupID: 526918

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:24

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:24
Mightnt be when someone empties your bank account for you.
It has been done more than once. These sniffer progams can haul anything out of an unsecured computer.

I have 20 gig and shaping so just joking but some months would be handy.
Still took two months to d/load 5 Garth Brooks concerts
FollowupID: 526925

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:00

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:00

It's not so much scare mongering as common sense. I'm sure back in the day when people left their doors unlocked they would say that there's no need to lock doors because "everyone isn't out to get them" but over time it has become the norm because people have come to realise the risks involved.

As wireless internet technology is relatively new, many people may fail to realise the potential risks associated with unsecured networks, and hence it's useful to provide a word of caution. Whether or not you secure your own network is obviously a personal choice...

haha Jimbo Vic - have we answered your question in enough detail?

Big Red
FollowupID: 526945

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:49

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:49
A simple solution is to live in my suburb in Adelaide. No broadband available, not even the expensive wireless versions.

*Sigh*

Pete
FollowupID: 527520

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:51

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 18:51
Has it a direct internet connection or just a local network to a wireless router modem. Wireless internet is much to expensive and sometimes slower than broadband.

If you are using a local area network
I hope you have enabled WEP or WPA or maybe the neighbours are using it as well.
You will find out when you get your first acct for usage if they are.
It helps to keep a check on your usage which usually can be accessed on your ISP's page.
Just sort of keep tabs on what times you are logged on to the net and you can check.
Of course if you have encryption you wont have to worry

AnswerID: 265058

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:11

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:11
Must admit I haven't tried it here in Oz, as McD's in not really the place I visit to sate my esurience.

But travelling in the UK, I frequently found coffee shops with a wireless hot spot, where for the price of a cup of good coffee, one could freely access the internet on their unencrypted network.
Gerry
AnswerID: 265062

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:17

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:17
I'm astonished they were not beset by paedophiles, buggerers, pelican abusers and goodness knows who else taking advantage of them? How can that be, if one is to believe this thread?

FollowupID: 526922

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:49

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:49
Possibly because he was in the UK they are a little more refined As they are renowned tea drinkers they might just do it at home at 4pm and have their own "hotspots" LOL Perhaps lack of Pelicans may make a difference??
FollowupID: 526932

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:06

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:06
Everyone knows pedofiles go to boost juice - not high end coffee shops. I'd say that the coffee shop may have had the foresight to install a net monitoring device such as those which are common in basically any environment that has a large number of wireless users (such as a university). And i doubt the coffee shop would use a computer which had personal details to route the wireless internet traffic in its store.
FollowupID: 526946

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:15

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:15
I didnt know that but then I dont drink coffee or boost juice. nearly old enuf for Viagra but dont need it either. Get Peed off when Pelicans sit on the light standards on our bridge and s**t just as bus goes under Got whole windscreen covered once Good for removing paint as well LOL
FollowupID: 526948

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:20

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:20
>I didnt know that but then I dont drink coffee or boost juice

well you're missing out mate!! could be hanging out with kiddy fiddlers or surfing pelicanabusers.org
FollowupID: 526950

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:31

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:31
So you guys missed the news last week that a guy sat for some time in the Qantas first class lounge downloding child porn using one of the free kiosk computers provided.

Eventually one of the passing passengers was so horrified they complained about it. Staff called the Federal coppers on duty at the airport and he was arrested and charged.

Totally amazing that someone could be so brazen or stupid! He is yet to face court but is looking at possible jail time.

FollowupID: 526952

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:59

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 19:59
I was waiting at Perth Airport last week, so booted up the laptop, and it connected automatically into a "Telstra hotspot". A page came up in Internet Explorer telling me to feel free to use the internet access.
AnswerID: 265075

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 20:16

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 20:16
Were u in first class or cattle class. Some airport exec lounges have it so suppose there is a bit of bleed there and if u r lucky u might get in ok.
Also are u a telstra subscriber would make a difference perhaps
FollowupID: 526936

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 20:27

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 20:27
We have several Telstra Hotspots at the Hotel I work at. They are in executive levels, conference centre and main bar area. At no cost to the hotel they provide another service to our clients. You have to be a Telstra subscriber though.

Good for Telstra who get the fees, but have to do the full install and maintenance of equipment, and us (the hotel) who pay nothing yet our clients can log on to the net.

FollowupID: 526941

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:15

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:15
Graham,
I was in cattle class - downstairs from the Qantas lounge. The Telsra message welcomed me to use the access. I am not a Bigpond customer. I was surprised - didn't think you could get anything for free from Telstra :-)
FollowupID: 526947

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 22:16
Geez, Phil, they usually want you to log into the Qantas page as a frrst requisite. Did you bypass that page? I will have to go to the annual meeeting and get the value on my shares... ;-)))))
FollowupID: 526957

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:58

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:58
I can just see you at the next shareholders meeting, John.
"hotspots aint hotspots, Sol"
:))
FollowupID: 527021

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 13:31

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 13:31
Internode provide free wireless access throughout the Adelaide terminal.

Pete
FollowupID: 527523

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:23

Thursday, Oct 04, 2007 at 21:23
The easiest way to use a Telstra wireless hotspot at a McSuck&Chuck or a Starbucks is via SMS if you have a Telstra mobile phone.

Boot up the lappy within range (most of them you can get a signal in the carpark so you don't even need to go inside) and turn on your wireless (most laptops have a switch to enable wireless)

Start your web browser and it should automatically connect to the Telstra login page.

On the login page there is a place to put in your mobile phone number. Enter it and press the send button.

Within seconds you will receive an SMS with a password. You then use this to login to the hotspot. Browse away!

When you finish you can logout (or you will be logged out atomatically if nothing happens for about 15 minutes). The system will then send you another SMS telling you how long the session was and how much it cost you. This cost will then be billed to your mobile phone account.

If you have a Telstra NextG wireless device you can use the login details from this account to access a hotspot and the usage counts to toward your plan usage for the month.

More info on the Telstra website.

Muddy

AnswerID: 265084

Reply By: brushmarx - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:16

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:16
I queried Telstra a couple of days ago for the same answers.
What I was told is hot spots like Maccas, Starbucks, many accomodation style hotel lobbies, airports etc, have wireless access, but most of these are at your cost.
When you fire up the computer and find the wireless connection, it should come up with a log on area that requires the details from:
a: credit card (bank or visa)
b: debit card from major banks, but these cards apparently have a time cost as well as a access cost, and if the broadband drops out, you get charged a connection fee each time.
c: pre-paid "phone home" card from any phone recharger (Australia Post, 7/11 etc) These can be purchased in various monetary denominations. This pre-paid system access is 20 cents per minute or part thereof.
AnswerID: 265129

Reply By: Member - John G- Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:58

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:58
G'day Jim

If travelling in country SA, you can get free connection (need to register at a library and get a password) via the SA State Library network. You can then either pull up in the library carpark or go inside, and use the net on your laptop. Not all country town libraries are on the library net though.

Perhaps it is a suggestion for the exploroz owners to develop a list of national hotspots and method of entry and whether they are free or not?

John G
AnswerID: 265185

Reply By: Member - John G- Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:11

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 17:11
G'day again Jim

I've answered my suggestion. If you google 'wireless hotspots australia' you will come up with references to web hotspot directories

John G
AnswerID: 265188