Insurance companys 'collecting' rego numbers!!

Submitted: Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:15
ThreadID: 50261 Views:3544 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
I have it on reasonably good authority (an insider)- that some insurance companys and brokers agents are collecting rego numbers of 4WD vehicles. These are being collected from 4wd magazines, TV shows featuring 'extreme' type 4WDing- and maybe even this forum??
From what I understand, this follows a claimant who damaged his vehicle in the Nissan Trials put in a claim to a leading broker indicating it was shopping centre car park damage ?? Collusion between the vehicle owner & the repairer to justify the claim are being investigated.
Apparently the vehicle involved was featured in a 4WD TV show.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:24

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:24
Good. I hope they both get what they deserve :)))

AnswerID: 265131

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:34

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 09:34
Fraud is one of the reasons our premiums skyrocket every year!
AnswerID: 265135

Reply By: redfive - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:23

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:23
It is my understanding that if you use your 4wd or any car for that matter in a competition you cant get Insurance you dont see the V8 Supercar teams calling into NRMA to put in a claim im sure they will get the guy

Glenn
AnswerID: 265142

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:34

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 10:34
Exactly my sentiments - If you attemp to make a false claim then the company should throw the book at you - you would be surprised at the level of false claims - Pushes up my premium and for those of us that own a few shares in the likes of QBE and IAG it reduces our dividend. Most of us are law abiding citizens that use our 4wd responsibly - if you race or compete - go away
AnswerID: 265147

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:01

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:01
I couldn't agree more. One of the basic tenents of insurance is "utmost good faith" between insured and insurer.
If you go making false claims or underinsure, you deserve all you get.
And it won't be what you're hoping for!
Alan H.
FollowupID: 527030

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:39

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 11:39
....."One of the basic tenents of insurance is "utmost good faith" between insured and insurer."

YER RIGHT! ......as long as it's in their favour.
FollowupID: 527040

Reply By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:11

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:11
There is also this Thread from 4WD Monthly Forum

AnswerID: 265165

Reply By: Member - peter C (WA) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:34

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:34
While I agree that fraud is wrong and costs us all in extra premiums - I also agree that many insurance companies do not act in good faith.

I'm not that fond of insurance companies (or banks) but that's their customer service and large profits - not because I've been denied a claim.
AnswerID: 265167

Follow Up By: DIO - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:50

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 12:50
Respect yoour opinion, however Insurance companies are entitled to minimize their risks and recover any payments from fraud offenders. Both Insurance and Banks are entitled to make profits in fact their share holders demand such from them. Anyone in business expects to make a profit otherwise what's the point. As for customer service or more so the lack of it, choose another service provider if your unhappy with their performance. It's your right to do so. If fraud offenders and potential fraud offenders only realised how much resource the Ins companies put into data matching etc to catch them, they wouldn't even consider a dodgy claim.
FollowupID: 527058

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 15:33

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 15:33
DIO,

I don't mind that companies want/ need to make profits.
It's when they pay out money to a company for repairs that I know would cost a fifth of what they charge, that get's up my nose.
It happened to us recently. We had a claim on a house we own that was rented out up north.
After the tennants left they informed us that the place was flooded as the fire place flue was on the ground outside. No worries, when I got up there I called our insurance broker to sort out.
There was mould everywhere, the fireplace was shot and the wall behind the fireplace was stuffed.
Assessor came out, and said a builder will call you. A week or so later the builder actually gets there to have a look and do a quote. Next thing I know the builder gets the job, no other person came out to quote on the job.
5 months later the work was finally finished. All the insurance was going to pay for was the wall. No worries we bought a new fireplace and had it installed.
After the job was finished we got a call from the assessor to say if we were happy with the job, and we said no as we had not seen the completed job yet as we live 9 hours away. While they were on the phone I asked what the costs were, she said $5800. All that had to be done was remove the approx 8 metres of old VJ craftwood panelling from the bottom half of the wall fit new VJ and refit the old dado rail and skirting, paint all the new VJ and touch up. They were there for 1 1/2 days from start to finish of the job.
The materials for this job came in at less than $700(including paint). I know as I got prices from hardware stores for all the materials.
If someone can explain to me why this isn't blatant fraud then I don't know what is.
I could've done all the work myself and a lot quicker as well as replaced the fireplace and all out of pocket expenses from going up there to fix it, all for the same money they paid the builder for the wall. And the insurance company would have kept a happy customer, but no, they lost this customer, and will never get another cent from us again. We had approx $2000-$2500 worth of insurance with them. Not anymore.
Like you said if you don't like it,choose another. We did.

FollowupID: 527085

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:03

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:03
Here here! The righteous defenders of capitalism see no wrong with the blatant abuse of authority. I don't condone dishonesty in any case. But capitalism in many forms more resembles extortion. And if you disagree you probably believe the Iraq war was not about oil. Even a pleb like me asks why are so many politicians have interests in the portfolios for which they govern?
FollowupID: 527087

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:01

Friday, Oct 05, 2007 at 16:01
See plenty of patrols ,cuisers etc at alot of these events with number plates either taken off or covered and a sticker over there rego label so it cant be read by any one. So they obviously know they are doing the wrong thing and then have a whinge when there claim is either investigated or refused. I say bad luck to them. I pay my premiums every year on two vehicles + trailers etc. I have rang NRMA 3 times to clarify coverage and have been told on all three occasions as long as Im not partcipating in any form of racing, hill climb events, or any form of events Im covered. Im fully covered for off road, Stockton,Fraser, private land etc no problems. Never had to claim on either the previous hilux (one on the hilux but bloke reversed back into me not my fault)or prado so can only hope there policy holds up. Hi signman sounds like he's pretty well screwed if it was plastered on tv. As said above I doubt any of the blokes driving in sundays Bathurst race will be ringing NRMA of GIO or any of the others. No time for peolpe ripping off other people which is exactly what there doing by us having to pay higher premiums like mentioned above. Regards Steve
AnswerID: 265181

Reply By: S&N - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 01:09

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 01:09
yes, yes, yes....fraud is bad, good faith is.....well.....GOOD! and all of this tree hugging crap is rubbish when it comes to insurance company's trying to get out of a claim. i have a mate who got knocked back on an insurance claim due to not telling them that he had gone up in rim size!!!! not that it was illegal or unroadworthy, but because he hadn't listed it on his policy! he only went 1 inch above what was original on his car (legal in VIC) the mags were of better quality than the rims that came standard on the vehicle. its just insurance company's trying everything to get out of paying on a claim!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 265248

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 06:41

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 06:41
Just like some Insurance company's to do anything to reduce the value of a clain, including stand over tactics on those claiming, and the panel beaters, ect ,,,, to " get the job out ", as cheap as they can..

Honesty must be on both sides. !

AnswerID: 265253

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 11:47

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 11:47
What, do I hear pepole sticking up for insurance companies???
Think about it, you pay your insurance for years, never have a claim or done anything fraudulant in yout life. Youve been out to some 4wd competition to watch and your car has been photographed. On the way home you have an accident........hang on what was I thinking....I was nearly going to suggest that the insurance company was going to try to reject your claim for a minute.

As for the person who did put in that frudulant claim! Shame...Shame...Shame ,Im mortified!
Its because of pepole like you Insurance companies have been ripping us of blind, not honering their polices, finding every possible loop hole in their policy so they dont have to pay out for years.
Now they are charging that much to insure things that events and small busness have had to close down because they cant afford the premiums.

Mmm.... hang on, or do pepole do this because they have been ripping us off for years????
AnswerID: 265283

Reply By: gbc - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 14:30

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 14:30
Bit of a thread hijack here, but of a similar nature :

Tax dept employees take photos of signed vehicles on the beaches at DI and Fraser during events and holidays.

Try claiming 100% write down when they show you a photo of your joe bloggs builder ute with tailor fishing gear all over it.
AnswerID: 265570