Ramps to a 4WD cargo area
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 16:57
porl
I have a 90 series prado and will probably be getting a ride on that does fit in the back, so this is about getting it there. All the ramps I have looked at have short lips for the backs of utes and vans, anyone know of ramps that have lips that go over the top of the modern plastic bumper and into the cargo area? They gotta be out there, though I suppose they might have to be made up.
Also, if the cargo area is just under 80cm above the ground, for a 1.4m long ride on mower would I need the 1.75m, 2.0m or 3m ramps?
Thanks for replies.
Reply By: LCRUZA (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:27
Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:27
Have alook at these:
http://www.affordablemobility.com.au/RAMPS%20MULTIRAMP.html
I picked up a set the other day and they are very good.
Ron
Follow Up By: porl - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:06
Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:06
Bingo! Thanks Ron, have done a lot of google searching but hadn't come across that one, thanks heaps.
Porl
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:17
Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 20:17
I would say the longer the better, bit like bottoming out your 4by. If the ramps are too short it will hit the base of the ride on even when lifted to full height. You will get the front
wheels up into cargo area but midway of the mower will hit on top of the ramps if the ramps are at a sharp angle to ground. I would say its going to be a specialy made issue taking into account that the ramps have to fit into the back of the prado as
well or a set of roof racks wil be required. Is this going to be an on going thing in and out all the time or a one off as in picking it up ??? Might be easier if its a in/out thing on a regular basis to fit up a tow bar and buy yourself a box trailer. Personally if going to be on a regular basis you will with out fail end up damaging the inside of the rear of the prado then you have to tie down as
well so it doesnt go jumping about while in transit. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: porl - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:43
Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:43
It will be regular,
well not more than once a month.
I'll take your advice thanks but will try the ramps first as the whole trailer issue gets very expensive when you don't have a towing bar and nowhere really to store a trailer (
well so the wife says). The unit looking at is a Greenfield minimow, very compact and not too heavy. And I don't have far to travel, basically about 1km.
The cargo has good tie down points and the mower has a hand brake so I'd like to think it won't move much. time will tell I spose.
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:54
Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:54
I would be driving the mower the 1 km!
Just a thought. Not much good if you have to cross a 6 lane highway though......
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 23:39
Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 23:39
Be the way to go Muddy Doe, just zap along the footpath if mister policeman comes along just duck onto some ones lawn LOL. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:24
Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:24
When my Grandparents moved house when I was about knee high to a grass hopper, Dad built a trailer for the Rancher Ride on Mower. The mower was my mode of transport and as they were using a neighbours vacant shed for storage about 800mm up the road, they would load the mower trailer up with stuff and send me off up the footpath with it while they used the ute and 6x4 trailer to move the rest of the stuff. By the time I had gotten to the neighbours shed they had finished unloading the trailer and ute LOL they then unloaded the mower trailer and sent me back. They were doing about 2 loads to my 1 but it kept me occupied for the move.
Aaahhh the memories
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:54
Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:54
Geeez Kev you were close to your neighbours. 800mm !!!! LOL. How you going mate ?? Whens the big move on ?? Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:43
Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:43
Whoops,
meant 800m.
The move is commencing on the 10 Dec.
Thanks to Kev h in QLD,for
the tip, I have applied for a job in
Bundaberg with the council. I just hope I get it now as I don't have anywhere to move to as yet :))
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 11:06
Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 11:06
Cruiser looks great Kev, did you keep the triton or get rid of it ?? I Reckon you will miss the ute till you get the cruiser chopped. Bundi eh, went through the distill up there quit interesting how its all made. Regards Steve
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 11:48
Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 11:48
Steve,
Still have the Triton, don't get the cruiser until mid December (after the chop has been done), so I need something to go to Pyrenees in :))
As soon as I'm back it is on the market.
I think my liver and kidney's will hate me living up there, I'm a bit parcial to the odd drop of Bundy LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight: