Towing in sand

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:12
ThreadID: 50299 Views:4233 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
I wonder if this is this one of those personal preference things or can someone really tell me; Why is it necessary to lower the tyre pressure on a trailer when towing in sand?
As there is no drive to the trailer wheels, I can't see that it makes much difference.

I would have thought that the lower pressure (presuming that I have dropped the pressure on the trailers tyres) would have increased drag resistance on the towing vehicle and therefore make an already tricky job that much harder.
I'm Ok with the less bouncing about bit in the trailer with the lower pressures and our trailer has exactly the same track width as the cruiser. Lower pressure in the trailer must contribute to greater fuel usage surely.
Or does the broader footprint from the lower pressure mean that the trailer is more inclined to stay on top of the sand more and that that offsets the fuel consumption? Perhaps it's six of one and half a dozen of the other....
Over to greater experience. We're looking at doing a fair bit of this shortly and this will be the first time with our camper in tow.

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:22

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:22
Ok Steve,

If you are driving on sand you will have increased fuel use. If you are towing as well then it will increase again.

I drop my trailer tyre pressures to match the towing vehicle because the increased floatation it affords makes life easier for me and for the car.

I don't knwo if you have ever tried to push a wheelbarrow full of bricks along a sand covered path. If the tyre pressure is too high the barrow sinks in and becomes very difficult to push, if the pressures are too low then the tyre squirms about and it is hard to push. The right pressure is a compromise between these two, and is based on how soft the sand is and how much load is in the barrow. Same when you are driving in the sand. It applies equally to the trailer.

Is that clear, I have done a fair bit of this sort of driving and what I have explained above is the theory as explained to me. It is also what I have found to be hte case from experience.

AnswerID: 265312

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:02

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:02
Just a little T.I.C
Mate about the bloody wheelbarrow / trailer '
do you have your trailer attached to the bullbar and push it , NO of course you don't , so if the wheelbarrow starts to bog down you turn it around and pull it ..... you silly bugger , how many stubbies have you had today,

FollowupID: 527240

Follow Up By: AMack - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:50

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:50
Absolutaley spot on with your analogy.
FollowupID: 527251

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:20

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:20
I knew someone would say that Doug and nearly addressed it in my original reply but I didn't and you did so here goes.

Whether you push the barrow or pull it it is easier if the tyre pressure is matched to the terrain and the load.

If you have an empty barrow it is easier to push than a full one and you can get away with harder tyres. If you fill the barrow with bricks then you will need to drop tyre pressure on anything other than a paved path.

Years ago there was a bloke who sold icecreams from a hand pulled cart on Cronulla beach. In the ignorance of youth I asked him how he managed to pull such a heavy cart on the soft beach sand. "Simple mate" came the reply, "I keep the tyres soft."

FollowupID: 527291

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:34

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:34
How the hell are you going to get Murphy's Bricks into the barrow when it has Member No 1 sitting in it.
Mate you better have another Fosters

FollowupID: 527295

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:55

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:55
going of your rationalle doug a front wheel drive on sand will be as good as a 4by just let the front wheels down.
Just for intrest mucking around in my 4by i find letting the tyres down in sand makes a bigger difference than using 2wd/4wd ie a 4by in 2wd with tyres down performs better than in 4wd with tyres up
FollowupID: 527454

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 00:16

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 00:16
Davoe
Do you remember the figure 8 crossing of Australia , who took part , and what the 2 cars were .

FollowupID: 527456

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:35

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 17:35
Don't worry about a decrease in econony, just that its a lot easier on the vehicles drive-train, and you may still get bogged, but its unlikely.

What you are doing by dropping tyre pressures, is increasing the "foot-print" of the tyre, ie its length, and it is that that gives you the grip. ( hope I put that right ? ).
The sidewalls will balloon out a little, but trust me that is secondary.

Puts me in mind about those 2 dudes at Big Red, near Birdsville, they had a 200 kw chipped up "wizz bang" Cruiser ute, with difflocks front and rear,, and they had about a dozen goes to get up that sand dune,, failed every time.

Finally they listened to me and dropped their pressure to 15 psi, turned off the diff locks, and guess what ??? ,,,,,, they actually got up there.

At a pinch I am prepared to go down to 8-10 psi, but only in a straight line.

As far as your trailer goes, then its still better to drop tyre pressures to give you the same "foot-print" as the tow vehicle, then all things are equal, and you then can enjoy the experience.
You can actually do this at home before you leave, on hard ground, by placing a bit of dowell, or twig, at the front and the back of each tyre, and measure the distance between them. Let the air out to get the same distance on all 4 tyres on your tow vehicle. Repeat the proceedure for the camper, loaded up. You may find pressures on the CT may be different, but the foot-print will be the same on everything. So when you hit the sand all you really have to do is to drop pressures to those predetermined at home ...

Hope I haven't confused you too much ?

AnswerID: 265316

Follow Up By: obee - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:40

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:40
spot on

owen
FollowupID: 527248

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:51

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 18:51
That is spot on.
Have you ever seen a swap bulldozer & notice how wide their tracks are,same reason.
FollowupID: 527252

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:01

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 19:01
It's not the 'broader footprint', but the longer footprint gained from dropping tyre pressures.

Some folk dispute this, advocating width as the definitive factor. Width will play a part but only in combination with length. I've seen garbage trucks etc drive onto beaches across the soft access tracks and get off again without lowering pressures. The length of the footprint is maybe twice that of a standard 4wd but no wider. But I can't see that if I had 13" wheels and was using wide rubber I would have superior traction to my 16" wheels with a much larger rolling diameter.

I think weight plays an important part in regards to the above; a very light-weight vehicle like a quad-bike WILL get enough flotation with small wheels but wide rubber, but the heavier the vehicle the more important the LENGTH of the contact is.

We could try an experiment; soft sand and two tyres. The aim is to push by hand each tyre through the soft sand. One tyre is 5 feet high and 3 inches wide, the other is 3 inches high and 5 feet wide. Now add 2.5 tonnes of weight or more on to 4 of each tyre and think about which one will be easier for your vehicle to drive/push/pull around.

A longer footprint on your trailer's tyres will reduce the stress on your vehicle and reduce the chance of becoming bogged. I would be thinking that a fuuly loaded trailer with High pressures being DRAGGED through the sand would increase fuel consumption.

AnswerID: 265328

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 21:07

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 21:07
Skis (long) are better on soft snow OR sand then ordinary shoes (short).

And thats the long and short of it.

Traction AND support to prevent sinking. As already said above, it's a compromise between pushing a bow wave of sand (drag) and more support.
AnswerID: 265344

Reply By: lifeisgood - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 21:29

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 21:29
So larger Diameter AND wider tyres on lower pressure and everybody should be happy.
AnswerID: 265348

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 07:09

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 07:09
Wider tyres work well ONLY if you have plenty of horsepower (torque). If your vehicle does not have lots of extra power then stay with narrow tyres deflated to make the footprint longer.
FollowupID: 527306

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:24

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:24
Slightly OT but have a look here:tyre pressure changing on the move they've got a movie worth seeing.
AnswerID: 265355

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:43

Saturday, Oct 06, 2007 at 22:43
I think this bloke Site Link has a pretty good handle on sand driving (and with trailers)....

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 265361

Reply By: Bidgee1 - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 18:29

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 18:29
Thank you one and all. I only posted this yesterday. 442 views and seven replies and a few bites. Amazing.
I like the tip about testing the footprint while at home to determine the correct pressures for the towing vehicle and the trailer... I'll do it.
I expect that we will have plenty of time to experiment with this ourselves on the Googs track. We're coming down from Nth to South and we're in no hurry.
Thanks again everyone who posted a response. This is a fabulous resource.
Steve L.
AnswerID: 265454

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:10

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:10
Steve,

Next time you are at the beach just try this simple test:

Walk across the sand on the heels of your feet. This is what tyres are like when inflated to highway pressures (35-40psi). Very hard and rounded on the bottom. Sink into small path of sand.

Now walk on the sand using your whole foot. This is what tyres are like at low pressures (8-15psi). The footprint is much longer. Much more sand in the weight bearing patch under the tyre so does not sink in nearly as much.

Simple experiment but memorable.

Happy sand driving.

Muddy
FollowupID: 527449