Caravan Parks in 1770 and Hervey Bay

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 06:23
ThreadID: 50313 Views:8868 Replies:12 FollowUps:12
Hi. Later this month I am planning to go to both 1770 and Hervey Bay towing a Camper Trailer. Can anyone suggest Caravan Parks or other camping areas?
Thanks in advance.
Rod, Perth

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 06:38

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 06:38
This should give you some help. put it in your favorites
CARAVAN PARK INDEX

Also try this HERVEY BAY

AnswerID: 265374

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:12

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:12
Doug, that second link is seriously out of date!

Many of the places mentioned no longer exist and many, many more establishments have opened.

JFYI
FollowupID: 527342

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:31

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:31
P7OFFROAD
Yes your right it is getting old, really I think the EO list of Parks is growing and it will be up to us Members to keep updating , like the park I'm in in Warwick I know of 3 names for it ,

Doug

FollowupID: 527344

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 06:39

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 06:39
Rod, what ever you do, please bypass the caravan park near Bunnings in Hervey Bay, would have to be the worst one I have ever seen. Good luck with your trip. John

AnswerID: 265375

Follow Up By: floody- Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:53

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:53
Have to agree with John about the caravan park behind Bunnings. There are a couple of similar ones around as well.

There are around three or so parks on the waterfront, along The Esplanade. I think all three are council owned and managed. They are around the three star. There are some better ones around Torquay, but they are a block or so away from the water.

There is also one down opposite the Boat Club and marina. From the outside it looks a bit dodgy, but once you gave a look around inside it, seems ok. Handy if you want to go over to Fraser Island.

If you need any help with picking a park let me know, as I live here. Only problem is I wont be pack from the Flinders until this time next month.

Floody

FollowupID: 527338

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 16:00

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 16:00
We stayed at the park by the Boat Club in August for 4 or 5 days. As 'floody' says it doesn't look much but it is OK. The Club and several restaurants around the marina are only minutes walk away.

The showers and toilets are clean and tidy although in separate buildings. The ladies in the office are very helpful. They put us on a whale-watching trip and couldn't have asked for better.
FollowupID: 527376

Reply By: aka - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 08:18

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 08:18
There are 2 parks in 1770 I reckon the midges would be in both we were eaten allover
AnswerID: 265386

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:04

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:04
Its funny you mention that - my parents live at Moorepark beach (North of bundeberg) and for the first 2 years they lived there , they had nasty bites from those horrible little monsters and they took weeks to disappear. Now some years later they don't get bite marks any more ( last time i came back with at least 20 + and they took almost a month to go away )

still have not seen the turtles at Mon repo as yet :)

Boc

FollowupID: 527365

Follow Up By: Member - R Send - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 16:03

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 16:03
We stayed in the 1770 campground in August for several days - we didn't get bitten at all, but we made sure we were off the beach by sundown, and our van was three rows back off the beach.

Site is tight if you have a big caravan especially the U-bend at the end of the park.

The pub/restaurant on the bedn in the road on the way in is worth a visit.
FollowupID: 527377

Follow Up By: aka - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:03

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:03
We stayed at Baggara for 4 nights the turtle place was closed but it was a good place to stay very good park and a nice little town
FollowupID: 527488

Reply By: shieldsee - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:28

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 09:28
hi Rod

I spent my honeymoon at 1770, there is one right on the beach, its got the best views great place. Also there are a couple at agnes but the pick is at 1770. There is(i think its still there) a really good takeaway place just up the road. I am not sure if there is now a woolies/coles up there, when we were there in 99, you had to take your own fresh meat also any vegies in otherwise you had to drive to bundy or gladstone (thats where we went, we were a bit bored). The 4wd is not hard but its good fun, most of the tracks are well marked, some you may get lost in. Fishing is not really great, when we were there, but have heard that it is really good.
AnswerID: 265399

Follow Up By: Peter - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:20

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 14:20
The park at 1770 still exists. Right on the beach and is like stepping back to the good old 1950s. Unspoilt and unpretentious. The take away food shop is still open and yes there are plenty of shops available in Agnes if you need to shop up. We've stayed at 1770 a number of times and haven't suffered bites from mozzies or midges. If you arrive at the park at low tide don't be put off by the beach. At high tide it provides some of the best swimming along the coast, keep your eye out for the dolphins. Go for a wander from the park back to the jetty where the fuel stop is. Take some bread with you and stop at the fish feeding area. Don't expect to see too many fish, until you drop some bread in that is - then stand back and watch the frenzy.
1770 is one of the best camp spots in Queensland
FollowupID: 527369

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 10:09
as a Hervey Bay Local...

The esplandade parks are convenient, but quite noisy being right on the 'nard.

In Torquay there are a couple of nice parks, but a few blocks away from the beach.

There is a very nice park (big 4 I think) in Point Vernon.

and i'll concur about the one behind bunnings...

A couple of the other dodgy ones have been shut down in the last couple of year.

Have a great visit. We can't think of anywhere we'd rather live!
AnswerID: 265406

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 15:35

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 15:35
The 4WD track through DeepwaterNP (Between Wartberg and Agnes) is a good drive, with two bush-camp areas. Also free camping behind the dunes at Norval Park (Maybe 40 k N of Bundaberg),can be ok .
Jeff.
AnswerID: 265430

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:27

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:27
Stayed in Captain Cook Holiday Village at 1770 about a month ago...it is an excellent spot on the hill just short of the village. A short 800 metre walk through the woods to the beach...good surf and fishing. The other camping area is 1770 Camping Grounds which is right on the creek just out of the village. My impression was that both were great parks....and the midges didn't worry me too much.

Pete
AnswerID: 265466

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:28

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:28
Well that didn't work too well....here are the links to both the parks again....
FollowupID: 527407

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:29

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:29
It's gotta work this time..1770 Camping Grounds and Captain Cook Holiday Village
FollowupID: 527409

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:30

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:30
Doesn't seem to want me to load both links in the same post....maybe just me:-))
FollowupID: 527410

Follow Up By: Prado 1 - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:40

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 19:40
We have stayed at The Happy Wanderer Caravan park , it,s very clean the staff are very helpful and it is reasonably close to to shops,club etc,. Hope you have a great holiday.
FollowupID: 527411

Reply By: Member - nigel P (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 21:22

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 21:22
Hi, we stayed at the park on the hill above 1770 ( check the 1770 tourist site, it's a small place). nice place, less crowdwed that the creek frontage omne and a short walk to the beach. Happy to recommend it, as midges weren't an issue (in June!). On the way back we went to deepwater national park and stayed on the beach campsite at baffle creek. pretty as heck, low crowds, but some difficult soft sand above the high water mark
np
AnswerID: 265485

Reply By: George_M - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:27
Rod

If you have the time, I'd seriously recommend the Big4 caravan park at Cathedral Beach, on Fraser Island.

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 265601

Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:31

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:31
Thanks for your responses, I am sure we can avoid the obvious mistakes now. Best wishes.
Rod, Perth

AnswerID: 265602

Reply By: disco1942 - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:59

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:59
The Discovery Coast CP, 5 km W of Agnes Waters on Rocky Crossing Rd looked OK last time I passed it. Phone 07 4974 7547

AnswerID: 265617

Reply By: Member - Howard T (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 13:01

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 13:01
Rod
Little late but....
2 caravan parks at 1770 and one in the backstreets of Agnes Water and a council one at Workmans Beach which is a little south of Agnes.
The one right on the beach at 1770 is a council one and my advice is to book a site in advance as it can get pretty crowded.
Midges can be a problem if the northerlies are blowing.

Howard.
AnswerID: 265750