For the oldies..

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 22:49
ThreadID: 50335 Views:3880 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
It still only seems like yesterday since I bought my first 4wd, a Series2 ex army Landrover. It had a Holden engine and would do 100km/h only downhill with a tailwind.
Economy wasn't a word you'd use with that vehicle.
I made a lot of mistakes that I survived, including different sized tyres on the front and back (the back two were new).
Bush trips were few and far, but I was a weekend warrier between the long slow journies to the tar's end.

The Landy was replaced with a petrol LWB Landcruiser. Now this beast went bush. Its first trip was to Birdsville where I had to exit a ton of dust before sleeping in the back (how was I to know about the rust hole above the rear wheel? I thought that amount of dust was normal!)
When my wife's hair turned red on the Oodndatta track, I found it interesting....she didn't.

This was followed by my trusty (and later, rusty) FJ55V which went everywhere including a crossing of the Simpson when even the locals thought I was mad for going there.
It was on a trip across the Plenty that I found that petrol could be scarce in places, so I paid the outrageous price of $16500 for a diesel HJ60. Diesel was around 3 cents a litre cheaper than petrol at the time.
The 60 went around Oz several times, Cape York, Birdsville etc etc as well as being by daily driver. I just about lived in it, and when the rust finally got too bad to ignore I sold it with 400K on the clock.

A 91 Mitsi Padj proved a great vehicle around town, but it just wasn't up to serious 4wding.

The current series 80 diesel has been the best thing since sliced cheese, but I'm finding it won't keep up with current technology on the road. Off the tar and ...well what can one say? Simply the best vehicle for my style of touring.

When I think back to the kid who bought the Series 2, I wonder what became of him? One day you're the nervous youth then you look in the mirror and you've been transported to the land of tossil fossils. And it's true what they say, inside every fossil is an 18yo trying to get out :)

So...get down and get Jiggy folks, cause I'm a kewl dude who's not fading away just yet....I hope.

200 series landcruiser ? Bring it on!

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:22

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:22
My first encounter with a Landcruiser was 1966 , A bloke by name of Arnald Walker had one , he also had a bicycle he carted on it or in it , he took the bloody bike to the top of Ayres Rock and had his mention in the Alice springs rag for being the first to ride a bike up there, Up there means on top, Arnald came from Newcastle , Now why in hell do remember his name ????
Anyone know of this bloke....

Geez I was just thinking how one would go if you rode it down .....Bathurst would be chicken feed compared to that

AnswerID: 265507

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:23

Sunday, Oct 07, 2007 at 23:23
I had a photo of his rig once ....gone, I remember the bike was on the bullbar

FollowupID: 527451

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:01

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:01
One of the blokes I met crossing the Simpson (I refuse to call it the Simmo..I have too much respect for it) was a champion desert racer on motor bikes from Melbourne.
He had a video of himself riding a motorbike up Ayers Rock, and just to prove it wasn't a fake his wife did the same.
These days I'd call it cultural vandalism.
Those days we called it fun.
FollowupID: 527486

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 07:44

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 07:44
Footy

I learned to drive 4x4's in the Army in 1966(hmmm must be nearly as old as DougT....lol). Drove Landrovers and Mercedes Unimog 6x6's, the latter being awesome trucks to drive offtrack.

I always say that my first 4WD was a Renault 10 because I took it just about everywhere in the scrub in the Top End of the NT.
In reality my first one was a Suzuki LJ50 with skinny 600x16 bar tread tyres. It was second hand and used to belong to a Hairdresser and the canopy was painted with gaudy stripes.

Well, after 23 four wheel drives I end up with a GQ Nissan. I have a feeling that this will be my last one as the cost of acquiring something else is beyond my financial capacity. The GQ Nissan has a good level of comfort and is still in the build era with no computers and just enough electronics which I can repair myself. When the mechanical parts go pear shaped I just have to smile and pay the repair bill. Now with 346,000 on the clock and at 30,000km a year in distance travelled and a vehicle life expectancy of another 300,000km, it should see me through to the day when I get beyond all this adventure stuff......lol

AnswerID: 265518

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:04

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:04
Dunno about getting beyond this adventure stuff. I rekkon that my coffin will have to have 4wd, or I'm not getting in it LOL
FollowupID: 527489

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 07:57

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 07:57
First adventures were with a beetle. Flat floor pan, could slide through places most people only took 4wds.

Given up looking in the mirror.
Just live as you feel, good mid 30s some days, not so good others.
Wife reckons I am regressing into my old ways.
Sons just live with it, and a smile.
AnswerID: 265521

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 08:16

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 08:16
My first 4wd was a Willys Jeep we had on the property at Cunnamulla. It had no brakes so you learnt to become a very good judge of distance (stopping at gates). That was back in the 50's when I was a little bloke. Was driving around then at about 7 - 8 yo. Went from them (we had several) to a F150 and then onto Toyota - 45's, 60's, 80's and now a Prado which hopefully will see me out. Nobby
AnswerID: 265523

Reply By: T-Ribby - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 08:16

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 08:16
Yeah I had a series 2 SWB ragtop. No heater, no radio, but it did have a hand winch on the bar. I kept the spare wheel inside as it obstructed the view of the track. It had the standard Landy motor and spent most of its life with me bouncing off the sides of cuttings and being winched out of creek beds. Diabolical on the tarseal but magic offroad. I remember when the Holden motor conversions came in, as there were more rollovers in my area. The more powerful motors took the Landys where they were never meant to go. I wouldn't try to crab around a hillside in a 4WD today.
T.R.
AnswerID: 265524

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:04

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 09:04
Strewth Footyl, I grew more and more distressed as I scrolled through your post - so depressing!
Upon returning to Forum, I realised I should not have opened the thread............... meant for "Oldies"!
Whew.
Cheers Old Feller,
Jeff.
AnswerID: 265529

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 10:04

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 10:04
That's right, Jeffo, young blokes like you shouldn't be reading this stuff !
Now turn "Rage" off and go to bed :)))
FollowupID: 527492

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 11:42

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 11:42
Ive havent read your post yet as it was titled "for the oldies"
I only opened it to work out who the oldies are!
Now Im worried! How come Kim has'nt made a comment?....
Do you think hes alright? Ill send him a mm to make sure.
AnswerID: 265548

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 11:50

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 11:50
Mate, its easy to tell how old you are by the language used by the checkout chicks.
Yes=young
Yes mate= around the same age
Yes Sir=as old as their dad(and you're wearing good gear)
Yes Luvvie = YIKES ! As old as Footy !

I thought Kim was last spotted crawling home from a nightclub ?
heheheheh
FollowupID: 527504

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:02

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:02
Crawling home!!!
I told him about leaving his walking stick hanging on the rail, so someone finally knocked it off hey.
FollowupID: 527510

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:06

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:06
Dunno about that. There's a rumour that he threw it away because it slowed him down when....umm...hurriedly trying to assist some young ladies. LOL
FollowupID: 527512

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:09

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:09
Maybe he should just build a bull bar for his wheelchair.....he could run the villans down insted of straining something?
FollowupID: 527513

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:14

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:14
I can see that this might be a case of not happy, Footy LOL
I am thinking roofracks and a trailer, to assist all the cheap female drunks that I hear about in the village.
Oh oh...now I'm in strife....LOL
FollowupID: 527514

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:21

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:21
I reckon the wheelchair is probably a sympthy thing anyway. He probably hops out when they get tired, offers them a seat and pushes them home to his place. HaHaHa
FollowupID: 527517

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:29

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:29
I once asked a guy in a motorized one, how long the battery lasted.
His reply ?

"Longer than me !"

True.
FollowupID: 527518

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:29

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 12:29
Shhh.....listen......I think hes coming!
Im outa here!
FollowupID: 527519

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:03

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 18:03
goodday footy
never really had a 4b as a youngen but i had the old mans austin a 40 ute ex work ute (he had finished with it i learnt to drive in it 12/13 years old)and we reckoned it could do most things a 4b could do but it wouldnt go thru a dam ended up with mates oldmans tractor stuck as well had to get a dozer to get them out it finished my old girl they hooked onto the steering arm to tow it out i think it had something to do with the mate not asking his old man for the tractor and then getting it stuck in the dam
he was pretty peed off
jeez now look what you done footy that seems like forever ago not just 43 years ???????

AnswerID: 265597

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 21:57

Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 21:57
Footloose

This discussion is now reminding me that I'm an old fart.

First drive was an old Case tractor, then moved up to a 57' SWB Land Drover. After that we messed around with a few Vanguards, Bedford trucks etc and finished up with a 37' Nash.

However, my favourite was an old Essex tray.

Would I go back there again? Not likely.

We spent more time as a family walking through the bush at night because the damn things kept breaking down.

Kim
AnswerID: 265642