Patrol ST Gu lll Turbo Diesel 3lt manual 2003
Submitted: Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:15
Laura aka diver 1
Has 58,000km......Can anyone tell us about them - how good are they travelling loaded up, got any pictures of a draw system etc.
Test drove an '04 auto today just to see if it was any good cos we wont see the other one till tomorrow.....It went really good, and suprised me cos its an auto......
They are going to give us $17,000 trade in on our 80 series (are they mad ! ! ! !) and said another $17,990 will do the trick......seems to good to be true.....but can a car that is still very new be a lemon ? ? ? I've heard of them being a bit of a fizzer cos its a smallish engine for a big car , but s there any else we should know....???
Bad Luck Bucky on the comp - get a cap next time - boy you must have got the wrong spelling or something ! ! ! Damian to the rescue ! ! ! !
Laura
Reply By: QLD Kev - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:22
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:22
Kiwi,
I think you paid Damian off LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:14
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:14
I gotta get the next one - i want the wheel cover!!
Laura
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:28
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:28
Wheely,
It would be easier to buy one LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:22
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:22
Here we go again.
Laura do an archive search on 3.0 litre Patrol and a few variances thereof.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:30
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:30
I should have added your 80 series is probably worth more than $17K pending on the model and mileage and they would certainly be desperate to get the bomb off their lot and into your driveway for a very good reason.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:34
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:34
Thanks John.
Done a bit read up on them at the moment. Maybe get $15,000 private sale - 1994 gxl, 289,000km....
Laura
Follow Up By: BennyGU - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:58
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:58
Depends on what motor,
This is what I would pay if it came with the accessories as shown in your pics for a private sale and in top mechanical condition.
4.5 petrol $14k
4.2 1HZ $15k
4.2 1HD-T $17k
An idiot up the road just paid $14k for a 91 1HZ Standard with 500,000kms!!!!!!!!!!!!, fools and thier money are easily parted.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:06
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:06
4.5 petrol and lpg...
with all the upgrades (
suspension, duel battery, rwc, cargo barrier, winch bullbar, spotties.....we are keeping the roof rack and the draw system...)
Idiot got ripped off thats for sure!!
Laura
Reply By: new boy - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:38
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 16:38
Laura You have opened a real can of worms and the 3 ltr haters will come out in droves .I have a 2003 Auto 98000 ks towed an 18 ft van round Australia and have had no trouble at all. I was offered 25,000 for
mine sight unseen and a real tyre kicker question by me of the car yard and I think the salesman know it, but I think your car is on the dear side with what you see advertised here in WA
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:32
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:32
The big problem with the 3.00litre is if they aren't serviced regularly and probably more often than Nissan recommends.
I had a 2000 model, the worst of them, and it went for 190,000 before I traded it in.
If you are serious about it Get a full history of it, if you decide to buy it get a three year extended warranty on it. If he won't give the warranty, don't buy it.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:49
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:49
Hey Notso,
it comes with a full service history - 1 owner so might even be able to find him and give a call...
its just out of factory warrenty so we'll see what they can do for us....
Laura
Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 14:04
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 14:04
The service history is good. Just check and see whether it has had oil changes at 5000 ks instead of the recommended 10,000 by Nissan.
Nissan has a factory warranty extension which will cover it up to 150,00 ks or extra years if you don't clock up the ks.
They have been know to give the warranty on second hand cars so push them.
Don't get married to the idea of having the Nissan otherwise you will accept less and the dealers can sense it when you "Just Luuuurve" the car if you get my drift.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:10
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:10
Its not through a Nissan dealer but a big nation wide company. They have offered us 3 mths / 5,000km which I think they can do better on..they say that this is a standard warrenty that they offer....they also offered warrenty for 3yrs for $1200 or $800 for 1 yr......what a waste of talking I thought!!
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:56
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 17:56
Laura
The 3ltr came out in 2000 and there were problems due to insuffient oil in the sump. In europe they were recalled and the sump was replaced. In Australia Nissan fixed the problem with a shorter dip stick. That gave the 3ltr a bad name.
Models after that time had the modified sump. While the 3ltr is not the most reliable motor on the road it is a very good vehicle.
The other problem is the fuel pumps cost about $5,600 to repair and are liable to failure due to contaminated fuel. Get an extra fuel filter fitted.
Have a mechanic check it over before you consider buying it.
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:07
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 20:07
Thanks mate,
Hoped that Barra(???) tasted good!!
Laura
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:47
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:47
Taking a diesel mechanic with us.
From what i have heard people seem to have problems mainly when they tow and use cheap fuel (looked at a few patrol web sites) , and have admitted that they would have added to the problem with such things....not to say that all break downs with it would be this case...
This one is a 2003 model so I assume the sump has been replaced with the bigger/ better one than the 2000 model.
Laura
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:04
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 19:04
Laura,
My profile has a picture of an Offroad Drawer System,not a 3lt but same body shape.
Cheers Dave...
Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 22:16
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 22:16
Check my profile picture.
This came out of a 3.0 litre at 110 000 km.
I did a clutch conversion on one last week and an engine will be coming out of a 2000 model tomorrow. 180 000 km and
well maintained.
These things have a limited life on them which is unacceptable in my opinion. They are extremely intollerant to dirty fuel and the motors are a lemon that just don't last.
I would give it a miss unless they are giving it to you.
Reply By: Jo64 - Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 23:24
Monday, Oct 08, 2007 at 23:24
Laura
We had a 3l turbo diesel and we loved it muchly, until it blew a piston as we crossed the West
Gate Bridge in
Melbourne with a 23foot caravan on the back! Then we loved it not so much!! (especially as we were 4000km from home and due to catch the ferry for Tassie the next day)
As a previous post explained, due to the sump there is not enough oil and it is very easy to overheat a rear piston. As we get it very
well maintained we managed to get to 190 000 before it blew, but we have since heard stories of them going from 80 000km, depending on how
well they have been mainitained. Have heard that rebuilt they are fine, and if you keep the oil
well up you will have no problems, but there is always the but.. and the insecurity if you are travelling remote.
Jo
Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 12:03
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 12:03
I have rebuilt one at 86000km and sent many to Nissan at around the 110 000 - 116 000 km. Unfortunatley its a common thing. It seems as though
well maintained ones go for a bit longer but not long enough.
I would love to hear from some people who have got over 250 K out of these ZD30's
I get phone calls every week from all over Australia about them from people googleing and it is a broad range of year models that are failing and continue to fail.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 04:56
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 04:56
Carefull Guys !
In the Navara those little ZD30 diesal' s are good, but in the Patrol, they go bang,
Why !
Well look at the weight difference, and they perform at their peak, all the time, then someone goes and puts a caravan on them..
Wow!,, they will still do the job, but when exactly they will go bang is anyone's guess..
Hope you choose wisely !
Cheers Mate(s)
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:54
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:54
Hey Bucky - have a good sleep????
read a bit about the now and the sump by the looks have been replaced cos the 2000 model was the crap one....looked at a patrol site and a lot of the people were syaing that they would have added to the problem by using cheap fuel, not servicing enough, towing (seemed to be a biggy)...
a few little things like tha air conditioner compressor has a tendancy to need a little work and the interior ( im assuming the carpet) can cut real easy so need to be careful with that....
Nathan still in bed and Amy has fallen asleep - yes at 8.30AM - so getting to kindy and wollo late by the looks....will let you know how we go....
Laura
Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:53
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:53
Laura
I have a 2003 3.0L Auto, and so far am very happy with it. Soon after buying it I started reading all the posts from the knockers and yes there have been a few cases of earlier models (seems to be mainly pre 03 models) going bang, but I have had
mine since 23,000km it now has 140,000km on the clock. I have added a
snorkel, bullbar,
driving lights, DTronic (definelty worth buying one of these), 2inch lift, 33" tyres and a few other bits. All done along the way as the budget allows. They are probably not as robust as the big low-tech 4.2's, but if you treat it right and service it regularly it won't let you down, and you will get as much if not more power and torque, better fuel economy, a vehicle that keeps going no matter how hot it gets, (130 km/h at 48 C in the
Pilbara didn't worry it). As for the Auto v's Manual I am not going to try and convert anyone, but I have certainly been converted, they are great off road, lack of engine braking is the only downside. Hope this helps, let me know if you have any other questions.
Snowy
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:58
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 08:58
If we had an extra $6k we could get a 2004 model but with an extra 20,000km and its an auto....
how'd it go through sand etc - how loaded up were you???
Laura
Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:08
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 09:08
I have towed an off-road trailer probably 600-700kg by the time it is loaded up with
camping gear through soft sand at
Coffin Bay,
Goog's track to name a couple. Letting the tyres down to 18psi it does it without a drama, in soft sand the auto really does win by
miles other the manual. Getting around normally it weighs in at 2.75t, I do plenty of beach driving, have not found it lacking on power (although more is always better). For soft sand I would put the following high on the accessory shopping list if you don't already have them; staun tyre deflators, a good air compressor, DTronic and a set of MaxTrax or Bush
Ranger Sand Tracks, the last one is definite life saver when travelling by yourself, they have saved me a few times now. Obviously lighter 4WD's are going to handle sand better than a Patrol or Landcruiser, but I have no complaints about the 3.0L Patrols ability in sand.
Snowy
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:41
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:41
Laura,
There is a lot of negative press about the GU3.0TD but only the series II deserves the bad name. The series III (post late 2001) have the updated motor and late 2002 have the updated MAF as
well.
I have had
mine for 4 years now with almost 100K and cannot fault it. Its motor outperforms my previous 80 series 1HZ by such a margin that its not funny. But i do make sure it is serviced regularly and have also blocked off the EGR (arguably the cause of the piston holing).
Anyway, the price they are asking us very average - can get a 100K 2003 GU for under 30K in
Perth, but then you seem to be getting a good trade-in so really only look at the changeover price.
I happen to know of a 2003GU with dual lockers, lift, winch, drawers,
aftermarket seats, roof console etc... going for $34K negotiable. Have no idea on condition but owner reckons its good - just mentioned as a price check point for you.
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 13:42
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 13:42
3.0 or 4.2???
laura
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 14:54
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 14:54
Its a 3.0TD manual.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:35
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:35
Its the old " Made Up My Mind " syndrome !
now if you get one of those Patrols,,,, what the hell am I gunna Do ???????????????????????????????????
Cry probably,,,,
I wanna 4.2 Patrol,,, Coils ,,, such luxury, after the rough riding Navara, we will be in
heaven, and that included SWMBO's bra.
Bouncy Wouncy !
Hehehehehehehe
Cheers Mate
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 13:40
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 13:40
not gonna go the patrol.....gonna messure the Nav (get a new one on road $32,000) and a Pajero...
they stuffed us round getting it down plus not gonna get cash for 2 weeks....we can wait - nathan slighty bleep !!!
laura