Kidson Track - 6 days no cars

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 10:46
ThreadID: 50378 Views:3740 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
One of our recent experiences was travelling solo on the Kidson from 80 Mile beach to CSR, south to Talawanna Track then West to Newman via Rudall River NP. This can be considered a featureless Track by those in a hurry.

Kidson had signs of another traveller a few days (or weeks) earlier. Most of the track is easy and interesting driving. But this is broken up into sections of overgrown areas where the scrub on each side is now 2-3metres high and sometimes interlaced. There are areas of washouts which can be 60-80cm deep. Some have sidetracks but some washouts required road building/clearance /new tracks.

The dunes toward the southern end of the Kidson need special attention - most have very serious washouts originating near their tops and intruding into or crossing the track.

No other vehicles or radios etc encountered until the CSR when we met at least two other groups each day.

Wild flowers were abundant, camp sites are wherever you choose as the country is open and spinifex is broken by stubble and gibber. Camels of course.

Loved Razor Blade bore and the bore 4km East of the Punmu turnoff- windy enough for great showers. Best we'd had for days

We chose to follow the Gwenneth Lakes track out to the first bore - only 14 km. This is VERY overgrown and has sections of high spinifex most of which the troopy collected in the radiator, around the gearbox and of course heaps of it nesting on top of the rear fuel tank. (Despite wire meesh screen in front of bullbar and deliberate low speed for all spinifex sections.)

Overall 6 days but this was due to detours, tyre repairs and early stops.

Do it again? - certainly. Next time to find old tracks.

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:22

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:22
Chris, great country out there, isn't it ? Did you see any wildlife around razorblade ?
AnswerID: 265744

Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 14:41

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 14:41
We camped at both bores mentioned above. Only wildlife I noticed was birds and geckos. Upon lifting a sheet of iron however was delighted to find a pair of hibernating ridge-tailed monitors - very little response - excellent markings (will load photo soon).
Disappointed by the amount of discarded materials. Got rid of some but much of it requires dedicated effort and truck.
Camping however is easy and plenty of shade.

FollowupID: 527720

Reply By: BIGDOG24308 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:34

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 12:34
G'day Chris, great post.

When "scrub bash'n" i always fit a shade cloth bra to the cruiser even though it has a hard metal grid protecting the radiator, It stops everything.
I s'pose you have one, but I also have handy a 'weedsprayer" full of water incase the spinafex caught up around the exhaust heats up.

You just cant take any risks and its no place for bravado when your travelling solo in isolation.

Cheers.............BIGDOG
AnswerID: 265745

Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 14:52

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 14:52
Hi Bigdog

Had one seasoned type suggest that the answer to spinifex was three folds of shade cloth. I'm inclined to think the answer is either a sheet of corrugated iron (this should deflect most of it but I think the really sharp seeds would still get through!! - or perhaps just hang a pair of socks over the bull bar. This solution is based on the fact that socks are well known seed magnets.

We got into the habit of travelling very slowly for the high stuff. After several under the car to clear the stuff, you get a feel for how long to drive in the conditions you encounter.

I didn't even think of water sprayer - good idea. I did notice that although it nested very heavily around the gearbox and the rear fuel tank, ther was none near the exhaust system - though I suspect that if left aunattended it would eventually fill that space too.

FollowupID: 527721

Reply By: Member - Kevin E (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 13:37

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 13:37
Hi Chris,

How recent was your trip down the track. We are planning to return home via that route in June/July next year and I was wondering how up to date your info is.
I searched but couldn't find any entry in the 'treks' area for the Kidson Track or Wapet Road.

Thanks Kev
AnswerID: 265755

Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 15:06

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 15:06
Hi Kev,

We were there in June 2007. Very mild winter through out this area only a handful of mornings below 5degrees. Once you hit the road east between Punmu and Kunawaritji, your'e back on smoooooth top all the way. The CSR very corrugated around the Well 33 and for a few South. Kunawaritji has supplies, including 3 year old bread, rudimentary vehicle support, some emergency only tube repair kits.

If you were to follow the CSR south, you can leave it at Well 10 via GlenAyle road to Carnegie - this is as smooth as can be. $20 to drive it. Only one feature however: 'the Pinnacle'. Yes,,, you can grow to appreciate anything.

FollowupID: 527724

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 15:52

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 15:52
We camped at Razor Blade Bore last year. Was a nice drive along the Kidson and as you state, overgrown in places. Didn't find any problems with dune crests though. There were some washaways after RBBore heading west.

I wanted to go out to Gwenneth Lakes but on our way through Punmu the community was deserted and we couldnt top up with fuel. So will be doing that bit and a few others in that general vicinity in 2009. Will be mostly cross country stuff.

We met up with some geologists driving a LC Ute out there(the only people we saw for week) and they had fitted a heavy duty screen behind the sump and attached to the chassis to stop grass build-up along the gearbox, drivelines and fuel tanks. I normally have a full shadecloth over the bullbar and mesh over the grille. Still, lots of seeds find their way into the radiator core. I think one has to fit a complete mesh from top of bullbar to behind the sump.

AnswerID: 265765

Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:23

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 17:23
Thanks Willem. Yep from all accounts, things have changed a bit re road conditions. As you know, there's probably only about 10-20 dunes - normally hard topped but the rains, probably related to the cyclones of early 2007, have carved deeep washouts into most. In some cases these are easily avoided. But a few are just waiting for the inattentive or heavy footed traveller.

Had one guy suggest driving with the radiator fan reversed??? so that it blows. Methinks better reverse the whole car might be the only answer.

(Haven't tried the socks idea though.)

Re 2009 - Half your luck! Unless there's a lot more traffic and some armed with axes etc, you'll definitely be cross country. (I used axe and shovel for some clearance where drive arounds were not feasible - hard work by yourself.

FollowupID: 527743

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:25

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:25
Chris, I was there about a week before Willem, and concur with the clearing task and holes in the dunes. I slept outside on the ground at Razoeblade and thought I heard dingos. But wildlife was scarce, apart from Camels.
I actually ended up driving most of that track at night, something I normally don't even contemplate. Don't ask, it's a long story.
It did, however, spur me on to replace my driving lights and to thank goodness for the moving maps.
We saw nobody, but several vehicles came through two days after us.
I thought I saw somewhere that the track was now under aboriginal title, and anything offtrack is discouraged. I hope I'm wrong, as I also would love to go back and do a bit more sightseeing :)
FollowupID: 527830

Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:52
Gday Footloose, Yes I remember your saying that you'd done it by night. I remarked more than a couple of times out there that it's about the last place I'd want to drive at night. Lucky the washouts didn't get you - would have been extremely difficult to find the occasional tracks around obstacles too.

I only travelled by day. By that time I had both driving light up on the roof rack - as the bull bar mounting points had both cracked. Had them welded later and inserted vertical reinforcing supports for good measure

FollowupID: 527834