Rear spring turrets revisted

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:02
ThreadID: 50391 Views:1884 Replies:1 FollowUps:6
Well, I made myself at home under the GQ this arvo with enough lighting, some emery paper and a magnifying glass and spent the best part of an hour looking carefully for cracks.

Contrary to first thoughts when inspecting the turrets initially, there are NO cracks!!

What my mate and I had perceived at first as a crack, was only a manufacturers mark where the turret came away from the mold it was made in. Both turrets have similar marks. I removed all the paint around the areas(and repainted it again afterwards) and with the help of the magnifying glass could not find a crack. So that's good news.

Thanks for all the advice re turret cracks. I will bear it all in mind if it should happen one day.

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:24

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 18:24
Willem,

Don't know much about th GQ or accesessability but maybe a little reinforcing before something cracks might have been good insurance considering the country you traverse.
AnswerID: 265786

Follow Up By: furph - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:01

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:01
Willem.
Sorry, but you dont find those cracks with a magnifying glass.
You need a dye and an ultra violet light.

Crack detection is not a black art, metal fatigue is what its all about when you subject any structure to a continued and variable stress. That Nissan has had more than its share.

Your vehicle, like it or not, is probably about buggered for long term arduous outback travel. OK, the mechanicals will do quite a bit more, that old diesel is hardly working, even flat out.

I know you are quite a pig headed, ornery sort of bloke, the one who reckoned alloy wheels with wide's (and Coopers) were the go, but then went back to skinny splits, who reckoned
axle over springs on the trailer also the answer,but then reverted back, you even once reckoned a good cat was a flat cat! (and I agree with you there) But honestly, its time to think about the future travels in that old crate, they dont make them like "Rosy" anymore.
Cheers Willem, will see out on the trak sometime, I always carry a welder/generator for those situations you could encounter. Always happy to help.
furph

furph

FollowupID: 527785

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:01

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:01
furph...you remain a misery
FollowupID: 527803

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:18

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:18
My first reaction was Willem's going to hit the roof. Well done, mate. Such a restrained answer.
You and I know he's right about metal fatigue. Fair enough.
But how conversant is he with your vehicle ? Perhaps it's a hidden admirer?
Must admit that as vehicles age, the idea of carrying a complete welder, rather than just an emergency setup, seems more attractive if somewhat impractical for most of us.

On the other hand perhaps he's trying to sell you a newer vehicle ?
Hmm...fat chance methinks :)))
FollowupID: 527807

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:24
Willem

I think you just got a 'leetle prick'

(ROFLMO)

FollowupID: 527828

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:14

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:14
Footy...metal fatigue is nothing like Forum fatigue.........LOL

Aaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!! Yes Lucy.....ROTFLMAO
FollowupID: 527859

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 08:25

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 08:25
Zo, ze culprit is revealed ! No doubt the fix will involve wrapping it with a flag LOL
FollowupID: 527868