Dax29 (QLD)
I'm looking at buying my first
UHF radio and was wondering if anyone could suggest a good reliable model at a mid range price.
Naturally being the first one I've bought any other information would be appreciated
Thanks in advance
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:32
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:32
Frank, my experience has been that the Icom brand are excellent.
This thread should generate a few answers, as almost everyone has an opinion so I'll leave it there :))
Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:34
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:34
Top quality is Icom but it is also top price.
Most sets are similar as there are only a few sources.
Uniden?
GME?
Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:44
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:44
From a radio engineers point of view the Icom is also the only one I could reccomend. (they only really have 1 model)
Reply By: Road Runner - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:51
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 20:51
UHF is a limited mode of communication with HF and Sat-phone providing more realistic capabilities. But UHF does have its place for short range (line of sight) chatter on the open road. The option of dual channel for repeaters will extend your range beyond line of sight provided there is a repeater in your vicinity.
I recently went down the same path and opted for a handheld unit. I bought a GME TX630 that has about two watts transmit power in stead of the standard half watt.
Dash mounted units provide the addition of a better antennae and five watts transmit power but still only work line of sight. They would however provide better coms than the portables without the flexibility of using it away from the car.
The undisciplined use of the network by the majority of users relegates it to a second class communications system and I couldn’t imagine that I would use it for other than chatting to another operator in the same group or convoy. I would therefore find it hard to justify spending $700 – 800 for a fully installed system when a good handheld will do much the same job for half the price. GME, I-Com and Uniden are all good quality units.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:10
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:10
Yes, on the tar they are better than nothing. In the bush they are often the same as nothing :)
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:59
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 21:59
No good in the city, too many idiots who have nothing better to do than modulate on UHF. Then there are the other effwits who have 25W commercial units on the CB band.
UHF are a good source of information when travelling the highways, and in some areas essential (passing Road Trains etc) although one could possibly expand on one's vocabulary somewhat.
I have had the same Sawtron 999 for the last 21 years with no problems whatsoever.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:03
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:03
Gday Dax, you asked a simple question mate , so rather than trying to baffle you with whats better and what works and what doesnt , i'll simply say for what you are after you couldnt go past either a Uniden or GME both obtainable at a reasonable price , i recently bought
mine a GME TX 3220 from Prestige Communications in W.A for $287.00 plus $5.00 delivery, delivered to my front door in S.A, excellent service to, paid for it online with my card sunday night and it arrived here Tues afternoon. ...hope this helps you out ......Cheers.......Dave
[url=
http://www.prestigecom.net.au]
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:24
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:24
Here's someone who read the post :)) I have the Uniden UH-088 which is an entry level unit. No bells and whistles, just a reliable unit. Had it 4 years now and no dramas. Prestige is a good place to
shop.......i used them as a price match for a local store.
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:37
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:37
Gday Brew i know people get on here and offer their opinions with good intentions (
well some do) but sometimes you dont want to hear all the bull bleep , ya just want a simple plain old answer ...lol....i had the Uniden UH-088 im my last Patrol , should have kept the bloody thing , didnt get me any extra money for the Patrol leaving it in there ...lol........Cheers.......Dave
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:41
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:41
I'll third that! I have the Uniden UH-088 is one of the best entry level radios. I got one and still love it. It does what I need and with a decent aerial will give you much better than line of sight comms.
Scoey!
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 18:22
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 18:22
I'll fourth that!! Had a UH088 for 8 years now. No problems until I got a broken wire in the microphone cord this year. Prestige had them for $240 delivered recently.
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:50
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2007 at 22:50
Here we have 2 Phillips 620 sets, they have been going fairly
well for 15+ years, a couple of uniden sets, had some trouble with them. We also have a bunch of GME 3200 sets and they are mostly good. 1 has a slight microphone problem but otherwise good.
NickR
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:29
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 07:29
All of the above is good advice.
If you go for a hand-held you have to decide what power output you want. They start at a 1/4 watt and go up to 5 watts. I would suggest that 2 watts is good in a hand held and will certainly work from one end of a small convoy to the other. 5 watt hand helds are usually fairly large, expensive and are (I reckon) not needed. The dinky little handhelds are usually very low power output and the small buttons are not good for those of us that have big fingers or need new glasses but are to cheap to get them :-)) I would definitely recommend that if you get a hand held then get one that uses standard size AA batteries. You can then use rechargeables. If you are getting a charger then get one that you use on 230 OR 12 volts when in the car.
Reply By: Member - Mark H (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 09:25
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 09:25
OK mid-range prices, here's some, I'm looking for one too:
GME TX3220 $290 to $320
Uniden UH012SX $250
Uniden UHO88SX $250, DIN size.
Uniden UH089SX $250
Uniden UHO95SX (scanner & CB too) $290 to $330, DIN size.
If you research UHF on this
forum, you'll find GME tend to be regarded as having better quality and voice clarity than the Uniden units, but the Uniden users appear happy like those above.
All brands have higher priced models than these listed, if you're going the whole hog, look at the Icom model.
Don't forget to budget for an antenna and installation.
Mark.
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 09:41
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 09:41
Hi Dax, look to see where your going to mount the radio or control head, or might want the new GME with all the buttons on the mic.
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 09:48
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 09:48
I would go the GME, locally made and suport around Australia with exellant build quality.
If you want to pay abit more get the Icom IC400 pro, the icom is what we use but it died a couple of weeks ago, we took it in for repairs and it looks like the final transistors have gone...they said it is not common but are seeing more with this problem (3 in the last month).
I would go vehicle mounted instead of hand held better range and ease of use, hand helds are great for portability.
UHF is an ideal way of communication in the outback with local property owners and other road users.
Don't get sat phones and HF radios mixed up with UHF radios, they all have there own advantages.
The ideal thing would be a UHF and a
HF radio or a sat phone that works or all three.
Regards Richard
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 14:17
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 14:17
Hi Richard , funny you should say that about your finals going on your 400 pro, Mines back in there for the second time, I've hardly used it when I got it back from the first time getting repaired and it's had it again.
So maybe it is a common problem with a batch ,
mine is one of the early ones made.
I've got 2 of them and the second unit hasn't missed a beat.
Cheers Skippy
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 19:04
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 19:04
HELLO.........Richard........we can't hear you!!!! :))) Thanks for the globes mate.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 21:24
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 21:24
Yeah funny thing Skippy we haven't used it alot either and the radio is about 2 years old, maybe there is a bad batch.
We have 6 ICF 2010's and have never had a problem with them.
I think it must of been a Nissan Patrol driver with a Uniden who sabotaged it.....Oh Brew as I said it would not be my radio...LOL
Brew next time you wil be able to hear me loud and clear......Im getting one of those 1000 watt amplifier things for it.
So I take it the globes worked and I heard Lyn told you about her little accident........got a set of reversing sensors on layby for Xmas for her.
Regards Richard
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:57
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:57
Yes mates globes are in and working fine. I did see the little accidents damage (nothing too bad) It reminded me about how i need to reinstall my reversing
camera. :)
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:59
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:59
Yes mates globes are in and working fine. I did see the little accidents damage (nothing too bad) It reminded me about how i need to reinstall my reversing
camera. :)
Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 11:41
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 11:41
I've had Uniden and GME sets and a GME handheld. They all worked
well. Some people think the voice quality on the GME is a little better but I didn't think it was a huge difference. Have heard ICOM are good sets but have never used one. To the casual user they are much of a muchness.
All issues I have had have been related to antena's falling apart. If you are planning to do a lot of dirt get a good antenna. I have lost or broken at least six of the wire type antenna's. The last one I got (GME on a heavy spring base) has lasted much longer but it was 3 times the price too.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 14:42
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 14:42
ditto - except I have Uniden.
The GME antenna seems to last longer than the other ones I had been using.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 18:32
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 18:32
95% of the time, I use a rubber stubbie on roof mounted base as its pretty much unbreakable, is OK in car parks, (and out in the bush with overhanging trees), and they actually work very
well when roof mounted. If I need the best range, the big aerial goes on.
I've fixed a fair number of aerials and the majority are the elevated feed aerials which have the coax break inside the elevated feed (from being turned).
Reply By: Dax29 (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:41
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:41
Hi everyone
Thanks very much for all your
feedback, I certainly wasn't expecting that much
information but all the same still all good advice.
Now with all this advice in hand it's off to a couple of electronics shops.
So thanks again
Dax