Nissan ignition keys only lasted for 13 years and 5 months
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:20
Willem
Jump into the GQ this morning and key won't work. It worked flawlessly yesterday so what now? Steering is locked and thats it!
Go find my locksmith mate down the street who owes me a favour and he squirts some Good Oil into the barrell. This does help slightly but the upshot of it all was for me to go down to the Hardware Store to have two new keys cut.
So beware al ye Nissan owners. Keys only last 13 years and 5 months or 346,000km!!!
Whats next?....LOL
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:22
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:22
Ripped off mate...............
Mine is 18 years 7 months old and still fires the beast. I think there should be a recall though.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:24
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:24
But how many corrugations??
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:26
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:26
By the look of
mine....................lots and lots.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:27
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:27
Mr Brew...I thought you bought a newbie not so long ago? The key is a Nissan key? If so I might have to write to Nissan!!!!
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:30
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:30
Yeah Willem only had is a short few months. It's a Nissan key lol. The more i look into my purchase the more i see its history . It's still a great buy though. Just wish i had a hair dryer on her.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:30
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:30
Gday Willem, Thats what you get for buying Jap crap!! The kilometres have no bearing on the wear of the key, If you drove the car the same amount of kilometres non stop, the key would still be in perfect condition... LOL!!!! Michael
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:50
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:50
Michael
So its really an 'In-Out' thing, eh?....LOL
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:57
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:57
Willem !! The trick to even wear on the key is to insert and withdraw the key from the lock the same amount of times :)
Michael.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:56
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 20:56
Willem,
If you did not live in such a crime riddled local then you would not have to lock the car so often and the key would last longer.
Get away from that sleazy area and move to somewhere safe like Cabramatta, Redfern or even Elizabeth and you will save a fortune on keys.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 06:16
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 06:16
Yerrr...I hear you Duncs......lol
Reply By: Brian (3765, I think) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 21:05
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 21:05
My 20 year old Commodore key worked till the day I sold the b1tch for $50 to the wreakers, despite the switch mechanism catching fire twice and the starter motor burning out.
But then, the screwdriver or teaspoon I could also use to start the thing didn't wear out much either...
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 21:58
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 21:58
I took a VL Commodore to Simsmetal 2 weeks ago and got $242.50 for it
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:06
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:06
Gee, my Commodore is 28 years old - i hope to get a premium for it because it's practically Vintage.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:13
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:13
Motherhen,
Isn't concessional rego available once your car is over 25 years old?
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:54
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:54
HI Stu - there is a concession in WA for Vintage, like two lovely old vehicles i saw drive through town today, with Vintage shown on plate. These vehicles are usually used only at vintage rallies and shows. I don't know the full criteria, but my I'm sure my historically early Commodore does not qualify.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:52
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:52
Been thinking of putting one beetle on club rego.
Special concession for older vehicles, and you need to belong to a car club.
You are only allowed to drive it to club events , and a few short K locally for tuning and testing.
But the car clubs do a smart trade in sharing events :o)
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:08
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:08
That's good news, Willem. Trouble is, we can't keep keys that long (we lose 'em)
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 06:29
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 06:29
Except for at
Barmera(see Pesty's post below), I am not in that age group yet....hahahahaha
Reply By: Member - Pixie - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:15
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:15
drove a vl commodore across corrugations to 1770 one time. stopped the car and couldn't start it again
tried for a long time. rang RACQ (auto club) which was going to be a whole lot more dramas getting someone there
in my frustration i thumped the steering wheel while i was turning the key and voila!! it started. turned it off. wouldn't turn on again. thumped the wheel again (while turning the key) and it started!!
spent the next week using that technique to start the car each time until i got to
cairns to have it fixed. cost $10 for a repaired ignition terminal (cracked solder)
ended up with very sore and bruised hand by then but i wasn't going to get the ignition dismantled in a small town not knowing what the problem was.
Follow Up By: Member - Pixie - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:18
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:18
oh and i always used cut keys and keep originals (even if second hand) for getting more cut later
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:25
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:25
That used to be my idea as
well. Got the new Jackaroo 9 years ago, dashed in to a locksmith for a duplicate.
Pushed key in, wouldn't turn. Push in proper key, perfect.
The duplicate didn't have the electronic bit in the key head, so no go. Felt like shoving it where the locksmith wouldn't like it, - he should have known it wouldn't work.
grrr....
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:38
Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:38
Ah Mr Willem,
Didnt work so flawlessly at
Barmera only a few short months ago?
Did it Mr Willem ? Hmmmm!
OH and my old toyota ute, which is 30 years old this year, still uses the original toyota key, what does that tell you !
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 06:15
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 06:15
Hello
young fella
It worked flawlessly when I had it in my possession. Having misplaced it, it was out of circulation for a short and worrying while. Have remedied that now with spare key kept in safe place outside the vehicle
>old toyota ute, which is 30 years old this year, still uses the original toyota key, what does that tell you<
It tells me it has been sitting in the garage most of the time
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:35
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:35
As the years go by, Im finding that the problem is not so much the key, rather the hassle of finding a bit of coat hanger wire to get it out.........lol.
Cheers...Lionel.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:43
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:43
Done that more than a few times! Usually when i had a family member's vehicle instead of my own, so i made sure i locked it properly when at work, and NO SPARE KEY. A surprised garage owner next door to our
shop (who had refused to help or even lend me a piece of wire), shrieked an astonished "She's got it!" when he saw me drive away, after he had been laughing at me with the piece of wire.
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 10:27
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 10:27
Haha Willem,
The 60 keys are still good, how old is it? 23 or 24?
one of them has an added feature now that you can leave the engine running, pull the key out and open the fuel cap!!!
Better get a key cut for my patrol, I might need a new one in 2020
Nick
Reply By: brushmarx - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 11:14
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 11:14
Probably a good time for a little warning.
It's not necessarily the number of times the key is used, key and ignition lock damage can be caused over a short time period by having half a kilo of keys, remotes, bottle openers etc hanging off the keyring, acting as a fulcrum and lever inside the lock barrel which are often made from a cheap soft alloy, especially over rough roads.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:46
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:46
I've done that too - wrecked the ignition on a fairly new Landcruiser. I used to have keys to all the family vehicles, all the offices i worked in, my house and a few other useful ones. Gave up on the instant burglar kit after that.