Fridge, freezer which brand

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 22:45
ThreadID: 50436 Views:3345 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Iam going to buy a fridge freezer to put in the back of the landcruiser on our trip around oz but which brand, Bushman, Waeco, National Luna, Engel, about 40 to 50 lt, whats the best re warranty and duribility

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 23:03

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 23:03
hey 2-gee,s
I have an engel on the back of the ute. it sits there rain and shine. it even goes through car washes and have had no problems in 4 years. they are tough
AnswerID: 266013

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:11

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:11
Thanks Peter for your feed back I will certainly be looking at an Engel fridge, Frank
FollowupID: 528527

Reply By: SteveL - Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 23:27

Wednesday, Oct 10, 2007 at 23:27
If you are putting it in the back of a ute I would get a Trailblaza.They are tougher than all those mentioned.
AnswerID: 266016

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:14

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:14
Thanks for you feed back steve, I have just got my landcruiser wagon not a ute but the Trailblaza sems to be the most popular,Frank
FollowupID: 528528

Reply By: Old Nick - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 05:27

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 05:27
2-GEE,s

I'll definately second Steves post, whether in the back of a ute or in a L/C wagon buy a Trailblaza. They are made from marine grade aluminium, well insulated are very energy efficient.

About 8 of us around here have owned them for years and no one has had a problem.

I reckon any fridge manufacturer who has to make an insulated after market cover as Engel and Waeco do are admitting they have an insulation problem.

Just imagine if you bought a brand new house and the builder advises you to buy a tarp to put over the roof would you buy that house ?

Regards Nick
AnswerID: 266025

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 13:38

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 13:38
Thanks Nick, I see your point re the tarp over the top, Frank
FollowupID: 528555

Reply By: Member - Chucky S (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 05:49

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 05:49
Hi 2-GEES
I think once you start doing research you will find you wont be able to go passed the Trailblazer Reasons why.
1.The way there are built.(Alum not plastic)
2.Power usage
3. (not that you will need them)
4.Australian owned and built.
I have a 105lt in the back of the Hilux always on never missed a beat.
Regards Chuck
AnswerID: 266029

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:38

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:38
Thanks Chucky, every body seems to recommend trailblazer, I wont need 150 lt, dont or couldn,t catch enought fish to cover the bottom shelf, Frank
FollowupID: 528559

Reply By: Member - Chucky S (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 05:52

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 05:52
2-GEES
Number 3 was Spare parts at the factory.

Regards Chuck
AnswerID: 266030

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:00

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:00
Trailblaza

They are the strongest on the market and will take being on the back of a ute.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 266032

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:40

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:40
Thanks mate for the follow up , Iam looking at trailblazer now. Frank
FollowupID: 528560

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:41

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:41
Were is this photo taken, Frank
FollowupID: 528561

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:57

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:57
Frank

Photo was taken at Borroloola NT.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 528635

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:01

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:01
Beer or Wine?
Landcruiser or Patrol?
Kids or Not?
City or Country?

Its all down to good stuff and bad stuff with all of them....there isn't just one that will be perfect.

We have a Waeco 50lt in the Landcruiser and its fine....tuff as guts but the little handle on the lid that you pull to lift up to open it came to an end....camping stores usually have them in stock and cost nothing to replace cos its a known fault.....ours is 2yrs old and only the handle has been the problem - will cover out of warrenty to an extent too...

its your choice...treat it right and it'll treat you right!!

Laura
AnswerID: 266043

Follow Up By: 2-GEE,s - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:43

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:43
Thanks for the follow up, my mate has a waeco and has never had a problem, not even the handle, Frank
FollowupID: 528563

Reply By: furph - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:18

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:18
Trailblaza 60l.
14yrs. old, never missed abeat, always used as a freezer with a foam separator to keep things above it at 3-5 deg.
furph.
AnswerID: 266046

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 11:34

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 11:34
Trailblaza. Mine is going on 30 years old & never missed a beat!!
AnswerID: 266076

Reply By: Member - Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 11:35

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 11:35
Try here... Waeco 2nds

I ended up buying a Waeco 40l as they have a special on with cover, bolts to secure in the back and an extra coller for $999. I did a deal with OzTent and purchased it without the extra cooler or bolts...do some homework.
AnswerID: 266077

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 12:55

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 12:55
For sales, service, reliablity and a bluddy good fridge Engel is the proven fridge in Australia.
AnswerID: 266084