What should we get off them

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:11
ThreadID: 50440 Views:2930 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
Going to talk to the Sales Lady today for the New Navara. Its an ex demo with 4,000km and they have put on roof bars, wind shields,floor mats and a bonnet protector - want to charge us $650 for this........
Is there anything we should try and get out of them??? Never bought a new car before.......maybe ask them to take off the $650 cos its got a few km's on it....we're paying $36,500 inluding on roads.....

Laura

Reply By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:20

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:20
They don't give you any extra cash for accessories when you trade in a vehicle so why pay them for accessories fitted as a demo??

I would get window tint as well for the kids.

AnswerID: 266035

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:32

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:32
I was going to say.... ask for a spare Navara...hahahahahaha

Yes I know.....very unkind of me

FollowupID: 528082

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:33

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:33
I think Peter has one he wants to part ways with LOL

FollowupID: 528083

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 18:01

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 18:01
Mine is in the process of getting ready to be sold. New windsceen in today. A quick wash this morning, and a good wash inside and out over the weekend depending on the amount of bourbon intake. Got to love having a fridge on the back of the ute.
New bullbar once nissan approves it.
2 new tyres as there are a few lugs off the mud terains.
then it's up for sale.
Prob be asking between 22000 and 25000
FollowupID: 528200

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:20

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:20
Extfilm (Peter)
Had my D22 in for it's 10000km service today. They will not replace the missing stone guard. I will deal with Nissan direct strating tomorrow.
Let you know how i GO
vINCE
FollowupID: 528245

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 00:43

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 00:43
Vince.,
As an ex mechanic I have taken pictures of the way Nissan put my stone guard on and it was attosious (spelling) if you need I can send you the pics as I have also had a little drama with nissan today saying they are unsure as to weather they will replace the bullbar or not.......
Best thing I ever did was to record my driving every day from alice to broken hill. The gps has th dates and the average times. 15 kph on the simpson.
I cannot stand nissan.
I wrote a letter to nissan about 8 months ago and the response was " we don't care we have your money"
Go figure huh.....
mine will be up for sale in 4 weeks got my tax done today and the accountant says the bank will give me the new shiny landcruiser woo hoo.
And I have vowed that in my lifetime I will talk at least 1000 people not to buy a Nissan. 8 months later and I have talked 20 people out of one so in 8 mths they are looking at minimum $700000 and that is only going on the Nav prices....... & of them were patrols......
I love being a part of the media :)
FollowupID: 528303

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:42

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:42
Laura

Don't pay the extra $650. It seems too high anyway.
They will concede the extras. Once a vehicle has been registered and driven out of the showroom, it is second hand, whether it is stated as a Demo or not. Youi should be getting at least $5000 off the new car price.

AnswerID: 266038

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:49

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:49
we're getting a discount of $10,266 already.....

laura
FollowupID: 528086

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:13

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:13
I would still badger to not pay the $650 or meet them halfway...like $150....lol
FollowupID: 528091

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:15

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:15
worth a shot....dunno how we'll go....Nathan put a deposit on it until we get a truck load of cash in a couple of weeks - and no it wasn't the lottery although it feels like it to us!!

Laura
FollowupID: 528092

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:39

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:39
Laura,

If you put a deposit on it then you entered a contract to buy it and therefore they are within there rights to stick to the price. You should haggle first , strike a deal and then put the deposit down
FollowupID: 528099

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:14

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:14
Doesnt have my signature yet only Nathans and because it is going to be in both names its binding yet. Going to tell them that we havent asked for the extra's to be put on - they did that for their own benefit so we shouldnt need to pay . Also going to get a tornau cover and a tow bar out of them due to the dints (that can be polished out) and that its in a used car condition.

Laura
FollowupID: 528114

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 12:07

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 12:07
dents won't polish out no matter how small they are and can be costly to repair. Scratches can be polished but only fine ones.
FollowupID: 528141

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:41

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:41
We actually dont "pay" the $650...its taken off in the discount amount....its just written down so that invoices can be completed properly...same as the dealer delivery price, stamp duty and rego transfer - its all included in the discount amount....
thay have also said that the dents in the tub will be fixed and it will be as new, which i didnt know it Nathan got up this arvo....

Laura
FollowupID: 528289

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:58

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 07:58
Not sure how it works on a demo, but during the negotiations for a new car you need to be willing to walk out.
There is usually a little dance you do with the salespeople where they keep having to go to the manager to get approval to take the last few $100.00 or $1000.00 off to "get you the best deal". The salesperson being on your side and the manager being the bogey man. Usual good cop bad cop routine. This leaving to talk to the manager for a "good price" means you are starting to get close.
I find this happens to me every time, and the salesperson may have to talk to the manager two or three times.
At this point, you need to be willing to walk out and come back another day "when they have made up thier mind", or be willing to "go to another dealer". You are the customer buying the vehicle, they are not doing you a favour letting you have it at a good price.
Of course, if you are too hard, you may not get the car, and need to start again, but that is the chance you take bargaining for a good price.

So as some one else suggested, see if you can get the accessories for nothing for a start.

One other thing I do is price a couple of accessories like A/C, bullbars from a well known third party. Usually they are cheaper from a 3rd party. Check at the dealer what price they are and maybe talk about ticking the boxes, then finalise a price. Then don't take the accessories and take that back off the final price. Only hassle is if that they will not be covered by dealers warranty, only the accessory manufacturer's warranty. Just remember that they have the option to say no to your bargaining, and you can take a different tack.
Getting the final price at a dealer takes me at least an hour of negotiation.

Also remember that the dealer has an "invoice price" from the manufacturer. It may be mentioned that they are selling at "invoice price" and infering they are not making any money. However, what they don't tell you is that there may be monthly bonuses or discounts from the maker based on the sales figures, so the real final price it cost the dealer is less than the invoice price. Different manufacturers have different bonus schemes. So if you can get it for invoice price, you are getting a reasonable deal, and the dealer is still making money.
The dealer may also get a special deal on buying a car for demo.

The technique is to get you emotionally involved first. Be a friend and talk about what you will do with the car, how good it is. That you need that car. Once they know they have you by the short and curlies, they can then do the little dance and dictate the price until you feel you "got a bargain", and you are happy in your mind. It's called reeling them in, and it is exactly like playing a fish. And the salesperson may actually believe they have done you a favour, for their own emotional needs to keep going to the next customer,and a lot of the time, the salesperson don't know they are doing it.

Gee, I am cynical re-reading that! But ti happens just about every time. :o)
AnswerID: 266042

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:05

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:05
Im going to ask for the accessories to be dropped off the price if not at window tint - its a used car so give us more than standard without paying for it.

They weren't going to take our car with the accessories so why should we??!!

Laura
FollowupID: 528087

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:59

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:59
If you have paid a deposit, you have made a deal, but you should be able to barter.
FollowupID: 528107

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:15

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:15
John,
It hasnt got both our signatures yet so we can still pull out at this stage if need be...

Laura
FollowupID: 528115

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:27

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 08:27
Hi Laura

I wouldn't take any of the accessories , and before actually taking delivery (handing over check) make sure there are no marks etc left by their removal.

At least they told you about them , brought a new car once like that and when I went to pick it up they removed headlight covers and few other things. I'd actually put check on the table , and as I discovered this I picked up check and tore it up.

This definately caused a bit of a stir and I got 1/2 of them for free
when I came back 1 hour later with new check.

AnswerID: 266049

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:51

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 09:51
Mate, one thing that you should flatly refuse to pay is Dealer Delivery. Sometimes it can amount to several thousand dollars. Many refer to it as nothing more than an expensive car wash. That's about all it is too. The dealer, generally cleans the vehicle, yours should already have been 'prepped' and they will insist that you must pay it. Just remember you don't have to pay it. If they want your sale badly enough then they will negotiate with you. If, on the other hand you have gone there after having fallen in love with the said vehicle, they will soon pick up on this and won't budge an inch (or cent) on the price. Remember to buy with your head NOT your heart after all it is YOU that has the money available with the intention of buying a vehicle. Remember it's only 'A' vehicle not THE vehicle. Good luck with and I hope they don't take you for a ride (rip-off that is).
AnswerID: 266062

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 10:22

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 10:22
Turns out I know who the owner is of the car yard...maybe mates rates will kick it....another thing to get them about it - another line for the "used car" story ! !

Laura
FollowupID: 528129

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 12:26

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 12:26
Laura, if they are discounting the vehicle by 10K or so, get them to put that price on the invoice.
That way there is also less stamp duty to pay, as it's calculated on the cost, or value, of the vehicle.
The more stamp duty you pay, the more the Govt. have for lurks and perks.
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 266082

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:33

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:33
Not having to pay stamp duty - cannt remember why...was told just too hot and bothered to really listen!!

Laura
FollowupID: 528153

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:02

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 13:02
Hi Laura

We picked up a new NAVARA with the ABN deal it was $32990-00
on road, it was for my plumbing business.

We got a factory Bull Bar, Heavy Duty Tow Pack, Weather Sheilds,
Toneau Cover, We played one dealership up against the other.

Daza
AnswerID: 266086

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:20

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:20
Just did your idea and played them off another company...getting the torneau cover now......but we could say that because only 1 signature is on it and not mine then its not technically binding yet....the other company offered a white with 60km - not an ex demo for $36,500 with 6yrs warrenty plus he's getting back to me about any extra's.....

Laura
FollowupID: 528158

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:15

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:15
Hi Laura, you seem to be getting in a fix over this car. Calm down
girl & work through it. Get some paper & write down what is being offered, include accessories, wanted & not wanted. Cost
them by ringing another dealer for fitted quotes. Assess the condition of ongoing expense items ..tyres...rego...stamp duty.
If Stamp duty is paid by dealer ask how much & get it in writing.
Do not pay dealer delivery charges, this is not a new vehicle.
Have you got an insurance quote yet...more expense I'm afraid.
Most importantly, dont be rushed & try to keep emotions out of it.
There are hundreds more Navaras out there so take your time,
this is a big money decision & you want to get it right, first time.
My method is to bargain hard & establish a price, taking all into
account, then offer $1000 less than the deal, be prepared to
close the deal on the spot, If refused walk away & leave the
offer on the table for 24 hours. This has never failed me & my
buying limit is only $15k.
Good luck with it, but slow down, check it all out, & compare
other vehicles first....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 266123

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:52

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:52
Thanks Baz,

insurance is the same pretty much as the landcruiser..in the $10,200 discount the dealer delivery is included so is the accessories - they do this so that at the end of the month they have accessories that have gone some where not just missing from the incoming invoices.
We are playing with another dealer and bouncing off each other....all good...no emations involved except that car is up for rego in 16 days and would like to go without the need of forking out the money for it as well.
Laura
FollowupID: 528190

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:16

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:16
Good advice Baz,

It took me over 6 months of searching and price haggling until Lyn and Al assisted in the widening of the search to Mexico.
I now have a vehicle that fitted into my budget just need the conversion done now so I can drive it LOL

FollowupID: 528195

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:37

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:37
It is good advice but when you have been looking at cars and the options open to us and you come across a vehicle that is selling cheaper than the same model used cars then its a good thing yeah???

Howd ya go in the exam Kev???

Laura
FollowupID: 528288

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 06:34

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 06:34
Kiwi,

5 boring questions about stuff I only skimmed over Doh LOL

I reckon that I passed though as it would be pretty hard to fail it, but that's only cause I reckon I'm good at Bullschitting ha ha

Find out the results by the end of the month

FollowupID: 528315

Reply By: greenant - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:30

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:30
Laura

there is NO free stamp duty

it has to be paid find out for sure that they are paying as it is usually paid on rego transfer

Greenant
AnswerID: 266126

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:47

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:47
wea rent paying rego transfer...
FollowupID: 528187

Reply By: pepper2 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:37

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:37
Lets see,you found the car at a dealer,spent time negotiating a deal,confirmed offer and acceptance by firstly paying deposit then hubby confirms deal by signing contract waiting for you to now sign agreement and now you want MORE,and some people say salesmen are untrustworthy............
AnswerID: 266141

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:35

Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:35
we arent trustworthy,in fact the deposit was done and written down so that it would slow down the selling and we could keep negotiating..plus the sales lady was going to talk to her boss about extra's as well.
the agreement is not binding - its purely there so that its held in our name - they are still able to sell it from under us if someone comes in the with money...now that would be trustworthy wouldnt it !!!come off it!!

Laura
FollowupID: 528287