ExplorOz Team - Michelle
I'm interested to know how
well used/read is this paper called "The Senior" available in all states for free pickup from various outlets. Each issue in each state has a 16 page "Travel" insert in which we are thinking of advertising. Interested to hear feedback - ie. do you see it lying around the caravan parks, is it
well known amongst this age group, do you believe its a good paper for us to reach potential new readers etc.
Reply By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:42
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:42
We advertised in it once about 2 years ago (totally different industry) without much luck. Having said that, I regularly see it at my mother in-law's house and often at our local pharmacy - we are based in
Melbourne.
Not sure of the cost to you, but I think a good bet would be an insert in the local papers - seniors tend to religiously read their local paper. You may not be getting the people currently on the road, but you will definately be getting the people at home.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:45
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:45
Thanks for that.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:57
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 14:57
Never heard of it.
But then I have
grey hair, am still working (to pay Mr Howard's wages) and don't consider myself a senior :o)
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:01
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:01
John,
I wonder if Willie "the
Grey Gnomad" gets it??
Then again he probably is their best subscriber LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:10
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:10
People can be so unkind .
I have never heard of the rag mentioned .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:21
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:21
We read it
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:23
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:23
Aaahhh,
That's right you haven't done a big trip in the brand new secondhand Bushtracker yet have you. It must be one of the things you pick up on big trips LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:47
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:47
Aaaahhhhh....
grey hair....not a
grey nomad....makes you a blue rinsed gypsy!!! LOL
Laura
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:38
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:38
Michelle
I have read it once
It is not something that draws me in to read it. But that goes for most publications. I tend to do more research on the internet.
Then again, maybe I don't want to admit that I am a senior citizen.....LOL
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:54
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:54
Yes, I'm confident we reach those who do prefer the internet based on our general SEO however every now and then we run promotions in printed media to ensure we attract attention of those that have not tried using the internet to research trip information. Appreciate your comments, thank for contributing as always :-)
Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:41
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:41
Hi Michelle, I must admit reading the mag..my local librarian brings
it home (married to her) The travel section offers seniors all sorts of deals & offers. Not really qualified to comment on advert. merit,
but a lot of tourism operators pay to appear in it. Costs may be
moderate perhaps...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:56
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:56
Yes, this is the interesting thing. It seems to have a large circulation and would naturally falll into the hands of many without consciously "buying" it, as with a 4WD magazine etc so thinking of giving it a try based on that risk.
Reply By: deserter - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:45
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:45
Never heard of it.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:56
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 15:56
Thank you - interested in all feedback, ya and nah.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:41
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:41
Another never heard of it.
Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:25
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:25
Hi Michelle,
I won't say it's terribly common but a number of Visitor Centres in WA have it available on display, and I've also seen it in Caravan
Park offices
As it's a freebie, its is not likely that accurate figures on distribution or readership (other that the number printed/circulated) would be available to joe blow off the street.
IMHO the advertising targets the self funded (and perhaps more affluent) of the Senior Citizens and not so much those on pensions or limited incomes. You know:- First class travel and 5 star accommodation rather than caravan parks and backpackers
Having said that, there are plenty of interesting and informative articles in most issues I've seen.
Hope that is of some use,
Disco.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:33
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 16:33
Yes agree on the demographic however my thought pattern is that perhaps this is a good group for us to target as these same people would most likely want to get seriously comfortable and would be organised if they ever embarked upon "camping/caravanning/motorhoming". Plenty of Winnebagos, BushTrackers, 5th wheelers and the like in this industry for them to spend their money on if they want to :-) and our site should answer many of their questions in terms of setup, and trip planning and surprise them with how much information they can get, and how nice it is to "meet" people such as in the
forum. We most certainly aren't just "4WD" focussed so need to branch out our advertising to reach those that don't use this label but would find our information useful/interesting.
Reply By: Member - John G- Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:26
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 17:26
G'day Michelle
We've picked it up a couple of times but it seems to be just about all advertising - so who could take it all in? Real estate and alternative potions!
Another option may be the magazine of the National Seniors Association. People pay to belong, so they expect their magazine to be useful.
John G
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 19:32
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 19:32
Hi Michelle
My parents are seniors, and they read it, as do my aunts and uncles. My mother has booked a holiday before with a group who advertised in this publication. This year though she has decided to book her own holiday but has drawn ideas from it.
Lyn
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:13
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:13
Michelle I see it regularly in our shopping ctr (we have 3 van pks nearby and 2 more on the border) also sometimes on the counter at work (Local Govt).
Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:16
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:16
Hi Michelle, I have been reading it for a couple of years. Keep an eye out for it at my chemist. Lots of interesting articles, heaps on travel stuff too. Certainly beats the pants of our local free(find it in the gutter) newspaper. That's a real 'rag'.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:47
Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:47
Which state are you in?
Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:17
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:17
Hi Michelle
Never heard of it but I'm a bit of a ways off from senior status......lol
Don't know what costs are involved but why not try radio (unless you do already) and draw attention to the website. We all listen to radio and most oldies are surfing the net more these days, which is great news to hear.
Hope this helps?
Cya
Reply By: japmel - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:17
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:17
Never heard of it here in Central QLD
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:39
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:39
Michelle, neither of us here will admit to being old enough to reading "The Senior", though approaching the demographic I may be.
In another life we had a "Host Farm" business, offering accommodation and a country experience. We did it for about nine years and were often asked to do promotional things in all sorts of directions.
A publication like this one, not sure if it may have been that one asked us if we would provide some accommodation to the editor in return for some promotion. The editor duly arrived with interesting company and we got a sort of advertorial.
Like so many things we got absolutely no response to it. Nothing, but then I am telling you nothing. The Victorian dailies differed, The Age was good and the Herald Sun absutely yielded nothing. You are never going to know until you know your profitable demographic. Hope you do ;-))
Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:52
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 20:52
M,
I'd suggest the Probus publication may be a better alternative. Old retirees with dough.
I'm looking into it now to promote my business.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:05
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 21:05
Na mate, Never heard of it.
Probably to
young!
Ask Kim,... then again, hes probably too old! LOL
Reply By: Wok - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:25
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:25
Michelle,
I work at a shopping centre and the demand outstrips supply. I have to squirrel aside a few copies for 'special' people. The majority of readers here are locals, not travellers or campers as such.
Quite a few travellers stop to replenish their supplies at the supermarket.....perhaps that is an alternate target?
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:45
Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:45
That's interesting
feedback about how popular the paper is at your outlet. In regards to the demographic, I always keep in mind that people are only usually "travellers" for 4 weeks a year, the remaining 48 weeks they are "locals". For this exercise my goal is to reach people in their home environment - people that wouldn't normally think of using the internet - before they go on a trip. Just wanting to increase our audience share of newbies.
Reply By: WA 1968 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:51
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:51
Michelle,
I run an advertising agency out of Bunbury WA. We have had a number of clients advertise in this publication with mixed success. One, a motor vehicle dealer, good hit rate as they advertised a specific motor vehicle specifically targeted at the 55+ demographic. Second client, great success.....they were a funeral home (sorry I'm not laughing too much), but there product goes with the demographic. Third client, whom we thought would do well with a particular product, a recliner rocker, got very few calls out of it.
Just a bit of
feedback, would be happy to discuss further if you so wish.
Ash
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:49
Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:49
Thanks Ash, interesting anecodatal examples. Much appreciated. Might be interested in getting your contact details. Please send me an email with your details.
Reply By: Member - John L (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:53
Thursday, Oct 11, 2007 at 22:53
Its available in our Rec Centre , Chemist & local shops- often look at travel section & either keep if interested or put back on stand. My arts org does free ads occasionally & seems to be OK for attracting tourists to special
events. It seems to be WA originated. Cheers Heather & John
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:50
Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:50
Thanks John - there is a different edition per state but the Travel insert is national, so same for all editions, this is the bit I'm looking at currently.
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:59
Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 11:59
Thank you to all of you that have submitted comments and suggestions - all of it is rather interesting. I guess I'm now further convinced that it is well enough available Australiawide and used in the age demographic I'm looking at but like any advertising medium (ours including) the decision to advertise in a new medium is a risk so I am measuring that up with the advantages. I'll also take a look at some of the other suggestions made here that I hadn't considered but Radio, Local Paper etc are all out of the budget range I'm afraid. Everything we do has to be national of course.
In the meantime if you get the Caravan World Yearbook you'll see we have a half page ad in the Computers and Communications feature article they will be running in the next edition.
Any, if anyone has contacts with the Age, The Australian or any other major national newspaper for Travel or Computer sections then let me know as I'd look at that too.
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 12:03
Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 12:03
John Laws would love to do a bit of cash for comment. Isn't he retiring in the next month or so, so will need a bit of extra cash for retirement LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: disco1942 - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 20:01
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 20:01
We read it when at home (NSW
Central Coast.) However we have not seen it available over here in WA.
There is/was a computer section (does not seem to be there every issue) that may be a better section to place an add near and contact the computer correspondent.