Don't go bush before....

Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:25
ThreadID: 50486 Views:3050 Replies:6 FollowUps:31
Thinking of traveling?
As a person with a pension from a super fund, I get a letter once a year. Saying how well they’ve done yadda yadda..
This year they’ve included a letter telling me that if I don’t confirm that I’m alive by a certain date, my income will stop.
Excuse me?
MY money that I slaved for, they’re making a living from administering it, and they’re going to stop my miserly income if I don’t prove that I’m alive?
Apparently they can’t check the Qld B,D@M because they’re in NSW.

So, what happens if you’re a traveler and don’t see the letter until too late?
YOUR money is cut off!
You’re dead as far as they’re concerned, until you prove otherwise.

If you’re a pensionized person (self funded fool) be sure to check with the people who kindly allow your money to make their income before going bush or o/s.

Otherwise you could be in for a shock!

PS. Yes I made the word up, just as they made their rules up. It’s my policy

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:26

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:26
And yes, I checked. Despite what some say, I am alive .
AnswerID: 266295

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:29

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:29
Footy,

Which word did you make up?? LOL

Good to see that your still alive and kicking

FollowupID: 528373

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:31

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:31
Did you see the story the other night on the telly....tha council kept asking the man to pay the rego for his dog that was dead...? Turns out he had to take the ashes in with the death certificate for proof after the certificate had already been sighted by them.....

Maybe you gotta go for a trip down south with a certificate from the Dr saying that your still kicking!! LOL

Laura
FollowupID: 528374

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:33

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:33
Kev, pensionized. Sounds positively gruesome :)
FollowupID: 528375

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:39

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:39
Footy,

I was just making sure cause Kiwi (Laura) sent me an MM wanting to know what word you made up. I told her I'd dob her in LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 528378

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:42

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:42
Kev, I can see that you two have a thing for words LOL
FollowupID: 528380

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:43

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:43
See Kiwi's post about Pick This Post, she offering house cleaning as well LOL

She needs to pay for the Navara somehow :))

Kev

FollowupID: 528382

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:44

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:44
Laura, I'd love to take them an empty urn :)) In fact, right now I'd love to break it over the CEO's head ! (oooh a man a peace...normally :)
FollowupID: 528383

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:46

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:46
House cleaning ? Now I have one that could prove a challenge, SWMBO is away o/s at the moment. Lucky for Laura that she lives elsewhere...
FollowupID: 528385

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 08:19

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 08:19
mmmm.house cleaning...my favorite thing!!! If im ever up or down your way everyone Ill pop in....LOL!!
Does that mean someone else does ours???Lol
Laura
FollowupID: 528508

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:30

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:30
G'day Footloose
Never heard of this happening. Can you name institution? Wonder why they think you might be deceased!
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 266296

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:40

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:40
I certainly can, NSW State Super .
And the onus is on me to prove that I've not died and the money going into someone elses pocket.
I can understand that they want to know if I'm alive. So do I. I check every morning.
But it's the threatening tone of the letter that gets me.
What if the letter doesn't get to me ? Tough.
I've got to run around because of their policies.
Otherwise I lose my money that funds their wages !
They can check the registry for NSW members, but if you live out of state tough luck, you get "The Letter."
FollowupID: 528379

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:45

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:45
Footy,

You would be doing well to wake up Dead.

FollowupID: 528384

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:48

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:48
Dunno, Kev. Nobody's come back to prove that we do or don't "wake up."
With my luck I'd wake up in my second life, as an insect and be trodden on a minute later.
FollowupID: 528386

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:55

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 13:55
That would mean you woke up dead twice in one day LOL

FollowupID: 528389

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:00

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:00
Kev, not that good on the finer points of that particular religion. But its possible, perhaps to come back more than once. Maybe the third time as an uglee female liking female ? Just my luck !
FollowupID: 528391

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:03

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:03
Moose , perhaps the CEO came from Centrelink or something, they seem to have similar attitudes from what I'm told.
FollowupID: 528392

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:04

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:04
Is that as a lesbian that likes ugly females or an ugly lesbian?
A bit down today are we?

FollowupID: 528393

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:13

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:13
Moose I have no knowledge of such things :))
Yes, you're right. I must be a bit precious at the moment ..just can't get over how the great unwashed are treated by the mindless little clerks.
Oh well, I'm sure someone will sign to say I'm alive....and then I can fax it off and wait until the next episode.
FollowupID: 528394

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:19

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:19
Hey Footloose
Here, have a squizz at this site. Might cheer you up.
http://www.collegehumor.com/moogaloop/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1775922
You'll have to cut and paste - my compuer skills (or more to the point lack thereof) preclude me from posting a direct link for you to use.
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 528396

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:28

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 14:28
Moose, many thanks. Actually I've seen it before, but I appreciate the gesture :)
FollowupID: 528397

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 15:33

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 15:33
Maybe you should write them a letter asking them to prove who they are and the letter has come from the right company. Got to be careful about scams these days.
If you don't hear with in two weeks, you are going to report the matter to the fraud sqaud.
Better make a list of the proof you need.
1. A visit to their HQ, at their expense, well you are expected to reply at your expense, and charge you fees for administering the fund, you should be able to charge them fees for your administration An appointment with the CEO, and a look at the company registration papers.
2. Some proof , such as a letter from a JP , that you account and funds are secure, and has been personally sighted by such JP.
3. Confirmation form the auditors that the company is sound, and signed off by the chief auditor, and an original copy to be presented, not a copy.
4. A bank guarantee as to the funds being available for the next 12 months. Renewed yearly.

And this and a few other random checks need to be done at least once a year.
AnswerID: 266308

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 17:00

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 17:00
John, thats a great idea. Compared to my thoughts on the matter, that's nasteee....I like it :))
FollowupID: 528421

Follow Up By: Member - Philip S (SA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:28

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:28
I'd like to see that!
FollowupID: 528430

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:38

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 18:38
No doubt you will all rue the day I got my PC devirusized...

Yep I got a similar letter from CSS this year the first time since 1999......Mr Billson also sent me a similar letter telling me all the ubeaut things Mr Howard is giving me to buy his vote.

Now I have a question for all you learned chaps and chapetts, my DVA pension is to now be indexed to the cpi or AMWE whichever be the higher but the problem seems to be that the CPI no longer reflects the actual CPI... the cost of all the staples has risen, you name it, bread, milk, eggs ,sex etc have all had massive price increases around 12%-32% over a year (all due to the drought) yet the CPI stays the same or goes up 1.5% per 6 months.... Can't figure it.

Yes we have been all well and truley pensionized.....
AnswerID: 266332

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:05

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:05
Govts have always fiddled with the measures of CPI. Its like deductions for tax returns. Pretty soon the average truthful taxpayer (they do exist..tell me they do..) will just hand the Govt their paypacket and have to fill in forms for an allowance.
I'm certain that the CPI is set at whatever rate they are happy to increase pensions by at a particular time, and bear little resemblance to the cost of living at all.
FollowupID: 528438

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:14

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:14
But our Parliamentarians salary increases accurately (plus a bit in case they made a grevious error) reflect the true increases in the cost of living.
FollowupID: 528440

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:21

Friday, Oct 12, 2007 at 19:21
I was recently told that anyone who'd become a police officer, nurse or teacher etc had made a poor decision. Anyone who made a good decision would work in an area where the money was.
Son was offered a job teaching trade stuff at TAFE, do you think he'll get out of the mines to do it ?

I know I made a poor judgement...I should have gone into politics.

Everyone hates your guts, but who cares? You're rich and powerful and in todays world that's all that seems to matter.
FollowupID: 528443

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:37

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:37
It's a privilege to be amongst such like-minded, lesser unwashed.
Talk about a virtual brotherhood.
From the Mines to the Tafe eh Footyl. I bet that was the cause of many sleepless nights.
(As for you in politics. hahaha. So where would you park your morals? In a Super fund, maybe. No need to access 'em.)
I see Young Kev is already a force in the outfit. Good stuff.

FollowupID: 528530

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:58

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 10:58
Jeffo, too right. Up the revolutions:)

Mines to TAFE ? He's 25 and can earn more in a year than I'll ever see...wasn't a hard decision. I told him its always an option later.

Mois ? Morals ? Ahh did not have lations with that woman. Well....more than a few doze times.
Besides, everyone knows these days that anythings Ok until you get caught...then you say how sorry etc

You're right, I wouldn't have lasted long in politics. I would have committed the cardinal sin...owned up to making mistakes, twitching the till, using taxpayers money for o/s trips etc etc .
Well if little John can own up, so can I.....and suffer the same fate ???
FollowupID: 528532

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:48

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 14:48
Fawlty - I wish my DFRDB pension was indexed to the AMWE - got a bloody letter from them telling me that seeing the CPI had NOT risen in the past 6 months there would be no increas in my pension.....just wondering where they do their shopping.
FollowupID: 528564

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:55

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:55
yes, one does have to wonder dosen't one.... I'm waiting to see how the AMWE will be recalculated to ensure that those of us relying on it for increases don't get an increase....
The truth of the matter is that they don't do their shopping, it's done for them by their sychophants who do not pass on the bad news but in one remarkable case recently in the media the stupid sycopantic "Grocery buyer' was paying the extra out of her own pocket so her boss, some stroker elected by us would not be forced into having to pay her more for the "housekeeping"....
You really have to wonder at the morals of some people.
FollowupID: 528573

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 09:02

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 09:02
what!!!!!!....why didnt you guys tell me earlier
"sex etc have all had massive price increases"

now i know why i'm not getting much!
FollowupID: 528833

Reply By: JimDi - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:50

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:50
Footloose,
This is a silly question...but. How does one "prove" to the ones on high that you are indeed alive? And how much does it cost?

When you are dead,died whatever, there is a whole system in place that will be enacted, costs and all to provide proof that you are dead. Costs,well at least $6000 for paperwork,burial etc.

So how did you prove that you are alive? Apart from the obvious friendly phone call you would have made.
JimDi
AnswerID: 266390

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:55

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:55
Yes, but for them it's easy. Get someone who's known you for a certain period of time to certify that it's really you signing your signature, or get your power of attorney to sign.
Then they can ring and check yadda yadda
In eaither case it's a mattery of your inconvenience so that you can continue to access YOUR money.
FollowupID: 528540

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:40

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:40
Wow. I don't think even Centrelink or DVA make you prove you're alive, and it's their money they deal with, not yours !!
AnswerID: 266570

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 06:43

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 06:43
WRONG .... they don't have any money other than OURS :)))

FollowupID: 528819