What to look for, when buying bullbar & winch

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:47
ThreadID: 50513 Views:4240 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
I want to buy winch bull-bar and winch for Landy Disco.
Looking at add in 4x4 Australia magazine there is big difference in prices.
ARB and TJM are lot dearer for same thing than Ironman 4x4. Any one has idea, why I should pay more? Are the others that much better quality?, or is it only gimmick?
Thank you all very much for response
Dana

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:52

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:52
Some say u get what u pay for. I am more of the opinion that sometimes some manufacturers set prices at what they think people will pay, ARB and TJM have been in the game for a long time.

I would go an Ironman without hesitation, but only cause I have had a close look and seen that they are made of and how. Also one should think of what one has intended to use the bar for. If its for winch, like u suggest, then make sure tha bar is strong enough. That said I have seen ARB bar bent pulling a vehicle up a hill.

YMMV as Truckster says

AnswerID: 266391

Follow Up By: wheeler - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:51

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:51
You cant have had a real close look then. You only have to give a ironbar a slap to watch it vibrate etc.

What about posting some pics of the factory if youve seen how they are made
FollowupID: 528572

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:36

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 18:36
I meant that I had crawled underneath one or two and looked at how its put together not visited the factory :0)

compared it to the Nissan one on my car and there on par I reckon.

FollowupID: 528588

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:53

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 11:53
Depends on what you want to do with it!

Do you want it to look good when driving around town but useless in the bush or do you want a good solid bar that will handle massive winch recovery loads with multiple winch and recovery points for serious Off Roading???

The later will cost extra bucks naturally.

Toytruck
AnswerID: 266392

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:01

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:01
ARB make Bull-Bars for themselves and Toyota.

There are 2 differences : 1 The tubing on the Toyota one is 2mm compared to the tubing on the ARB 3mm.

2: The ARB Bull-Bar is $1500 and the Toyota is $750.

Work it out.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 266394

Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:07

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:07
Thanx Steve,
that good, but I have Landy Disco
FollowupID: 528541

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:16

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:16
My point was same Bull-Bar same factory same workers twice the price.

Steve.
FollowupID: 528544

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:31

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:31
G'day , I think my photo will back up your comment , Going to see this ....MAD bloke tonight ,

Doug

FollowupID: 528547

Follow Up By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:56

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:56
Doug T....are you pleased with your detroit no spin auto diff locks on the front and rear of your troopy.....Phil
FollowupID: 528650

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:39

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:39
Phillip
Hmmm Umm ....I thought this thread was for Bullbars, or did I miss something , ....
Oh Phillip , It's you ....sorry old Chap, well as you have bought up the subject of Detroits , mate the answer is a BIG YES or a TICK ,
Though I must add that If I were to do it again I would put a Detroit Tru-Trac in the front just to give the edge in Mud , not that I like driving in mud but ...you know ...Schitt happens ,
NoSpin maximizes traction by delivering 100% of the torque and power to both drive wheels. It is engineered to keep both wheels in constant drivemode, yet has the ability to automatically "unlock" during turns to permit the necessary wheel speed differentation.
No-Spin
Conventional differentials allow vehicles to get stuck when they loose traction on one side. NoSpin continues to drive your vehicle even if one wheel is off the ground.
A two wheel drive truck with a NoSpin can be a legitimate and productive off-road workhorse. Maybe not quite a four wheel drive due to suspension and ground clearance issues but still a very viable alternative.

Truetrac Limited Slip Differential
The Truetrac was the first helical gear differential ever introduced into the automotive aftermarket as a Detroit brand. It remains the leading helical gear-type limited slip differential in the industry. Detroit Truetrac's proven helical gear design eliminates the need for wearable parts, resulting in maintenance free traction. Recognized not only for it's toughness but also it's smooth and quiet operation.
Engineered to work efficiently in front and rear axles, semi-floating(C-clip axles) and transfer cases, power transfer is so smooth, it literally goes unnoticed by the driver - even in front wheel drive axles.
Proven design, low cost and effective performance, all make the Detroit Truetrac limited slip differential the ideal choice for a wide variety of vehicle applications. No maintenance - Just Traction!

FollowupID: 528663

Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 23:26

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 23:26
Guys, ? I asked you about bullbar and winch, but yes, I’m very happy with my new Detroit Truetrac Limited Slip Diff too and I know exactly what you talking about and driving feels so much better.
Cheers Dana
FollowupID: 528676

Follow Up By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 11:55

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 11:55
Doug T.......where did you get your Detoit Truetrac LSD's from ?
They sound like what I need for my troopy, both front and rear. regards Phil
FollowupID: 528845

Reply By: Love The Outback - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:04

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:04
Sorry, I didn’t mentioned I want to use it for real recovery, not to impress others. I need something strong enough and reliable for serious trips to the bush.
Thanx Dana
AnswerID: 266395

Follow Up By: Member - Toytruck (WA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:10

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:10
Dana,
then I would suggest you spend some extra bucks and get a good one. Remember, an inferior bar could potentially kill somebody in a winching situation.

Toytruck
FollowupID: 528542

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:28

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:28
Dana
I would suggest a steel Bullbar if your going to use it as a winch bar , I have hit Roos with mine at 90/100kph with no effect, I have seen Alloy bars bent and cracked by Roos and Rough Roads, Mine is an ARB steel , It;s not there for looks , it's there to do a job and it sure does that, see photo of the unit it was connected to for a 15m jump start.Jump Start Truck

;

AnswerID: 266398

Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:56

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 12:56
Yahh made, but Landy is bit too small, I wouldn’t even see where I am going having one of those beauties front of me… eeeh.
But when it comes to serious thinking, you definitely right.
Dana
FollowupID: 528549

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 13:04

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 13:04
Dana
I'm not referring to the Bar on the truck, I was referring to the bar on my Troopy which in the photo is just behind the truck, The Jump Start was at Burke and Wills Roadhouse North of Cloncurry, The Truckie and I had just had lunch and a coffee and when tried to start the truck ...No go... TOYOYA to the RESCUE

FollowupID: 528550

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:57

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:57
We got Ironman for the reson that they are cheaper, got ours even cheaper because it had a slight scratch on it - about 1cm long....

Its brilliant...but got know winch in it though but it looks mighty fine.

Laura
AnswerID: 266432