caravan power lead

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 15:01
ThreadID: 50515 Views:9101 Replies:15 FollowUps:37
My Dad has just bought a second hand van and just realised that he can't use the lead it came with to plug into the house, so instead of buying an adapter he has filed the earth down(splitting it in the process). Can someone give me an explanation of why there are different leads and why he should get a new lead. If filed down i assume the earth won't work, leading to the possibility of being ZAPPED.Please suggest what he should buy.
Thanks for you time
Regards Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 15:21

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 15:21
Holy Moly...............One thing i remember about when i was younger was Dad telling me not to mess with electricity. The two types of plugs are 15 amp and 10amp. Most household appliances will have a 10 amp lead and plug. The long earth pin belongs to the 15amp (which caravans use). Foe the sake of the price of a 15amp lead, its just not worth the risk imo.
AnswerID: 266411

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 15:50

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 15:50
lyndon
Brew is correct in his post even if a bit over rated , but if you go visit the rellies and park the van in the driveway , as sure as hell they will not have a 15 amp Socket, I carry a modified lead with me, I can also use it from the 800w inverter, some people carry a 200mm short lead with 10 amp plug on one end and a 15 amp socket on the other, I don't see any problem with it, your using the same 240v appliances as you do in the house, Maybe your Dad got over eager with the file. Tell him to go ta an electrician and get a little one made up to use at home ,

AnswerID: 266414

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:40

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:40
It is NOT over rated and an electrician should not make up a lead as it is illegal !
FollowupID: 528606

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:57

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:57
Disagree, see my response below.
FollowupID: 528712

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:33

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:33
The correct answer is to buy the 15amp lead and have a DEDICATED (only 1 on the circuit) 15amp power point installed by a qualified and licenced electrician.

This of course needs to be in the vicinity of where the van is parked.

Filing the earth lead down is illegal and is not to be condoned.

The reason for the large earth pin is to allow for larger earth fault current should there be a problem.

Adapters are also a no no hence the new power pint on it's own circuit..

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 266417

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:34

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 16:34
POINT.....
FollowupID: 528570

Follow Up By: rockpiglet - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 17:18

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 17:18
You will need a 15amp lead for caravan parks etc.

But at home a 15amp to 10amp adaptor is a cheaper option, then installing a new 15amp GPO.

If you plug it into a 10amp circuit in your home that hasn't got the likes of a fridge, washing machine, dryer, on the same 10amp breaker at your fuse box you'll be sweet. I wouldn't go over 20m on the length of 10amp lead, shorter the better.If you over load the circuit the 10amp breaker will go before the lead.
If you have earth leakage protection over your home GPO's you'll be safe, and so will DAD.
How many home handy men operate welders with 15amp leads into 10amp points, yet with their actual power draw being lower than their potential to draw no worries.
FollowupID: 528574

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 17:58

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 17:58
I rarely go to caravan parks, but unbelievably I have been to one recently that had power outlets that wouldn't accept 15 amp plugs.
FollowupID: 528578

Follow Up By: obee - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:41

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:41
The reason for the larger earth pin is to stop you plugging i what we would assume to be a load that doesn't belong on a ten amp circuit. A smaller earth will trip or blow a fuse same same.

Owen
FollowupID: 528607

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:17

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 21:17
Crazy Dog
GGrrr yeh that's all fine if one is going to be staying in one place but what about the people who move about , they might go to many places on a year,can't expect people to be installing power points at all the mates places just for a week here and a week there. a properly made 10/15amp adapter cord will do the job quite safley, damn it I have done it that way for years , and as I said I connect up to the inverter , turn fridge of first because the 800 watt won't handle it, Yes it is illegal , and so is speeding , you going to tell me you don't go faster than the limit.......

FollowupID: 528641

Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 23:14

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 23:14
Crazy

What do you mean by "larger earth fault current should there be a problem".

I always thought the reason for the larger earth pin was to ensure 10A plugs are not used inadvertently.

JD

FollowupID: 528673

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:59

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:59
Ok final post regarding this subject..

If you want to file the earth pin down on a 15 amp lead then do so.

It is not my problem.

I just told you what the Electricity Act and other rules eg AS 3000 in most states says and if you choose to ignore that then like I said - your problem not mine... Don't shoot the messenger....

The reason for the large pin on a 15 amp lead is to stop the lead being used in 10 amp circuits but is designed when plugged into a 15 amp circuit to carry any possible larger fault current to earth without losing its integrety before the circuit breaker or fuse trips blows etc... Remember most 15amp domestic circuits only have one GPO attached thereto...

Grrr!!!

Ps Good luck with all your chosen methods be they correct or incorrect...
FollowupID: 528753

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:32

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:32
i'm with you Crazy

rockpiglet "If you have earth leakage protection over your home GPO's you'll be safe, and so will DAD."...??

in this situation a earth leakage system will not probaly protect one from death from possible fire... earth leakage does not stop overloading of a circuit which may cause a fire! ....which is what the 15a plug is jointly designed to do...stop one from plugging in a 15amp appliance to a 10 amp circuit where someone has replaced the fusewire or breaker with a greater capacity but which they believe is legal as the bloke down the road has done this and as has the neighbor at the back and nothing has ever happened to them

and incidently a earth leakage breaker only protects if you hooked up to power and YOU are Earthed....It Will Not Protect if you have electricity going through you from active to neutral only...and may KILL...same result as the fire but different method ...so lets be safe, eh?
FollowupID: 528831

Reply By: lifeisgood - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 17:54

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 17:54
Crazy dog is correct. At home have the large pin 15amp power point installed. I did it not only for the van but so I could use the welder without tripping the circuit breakers and interupting my wife cooking dinner etc. (its on a separate circuit)
For other situations people have suggested ways that many have tried even if unwisely. If you go the 10 pin plug then at least use it sensibly by limiting current draw to 10 amps. This means dont park in your friends driveway on holiday and expect to use airconditioner and electric toaster etc at the same time!!
In fact better to forget about air cond altogether.

AnswerID: 266422

Reply By: sparkyray - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:44

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 19:44
Crazy dog is spot on. I would go one step further.
1. Buy a good quality 15amp heavy duty lead. (trade quality)
2. Have a 15 amp point installed by licenced electrical contractor
3. Ask for and receive a certicicate of test for this installation.(legal requirement)
4. Ensre that a fault loop impedence test is carried out on this circuit.
5. Have an RCD (safety switch) installed in the van
6. Have the van tested by licenced electrician and ask for certificate of test.
7 finally, even though you have a new lead, have it tested with a PAT tester by a competent person.
Last but not least: enjoy a safe holiday.
AnswerID: 266431

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:14

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 20:14
Bloody hel Ray,

Yall avvem runnin' fer them thar hills wiv that sorta infoe mation....

But cha crekt... I thunk I spalled thet rite!!!

yep all of the above - DO NOT TAKE RISKS WITH THE STUFF YA CAN"T SEE or worse still don't understand.. That's why we have 65 year old leckies still alive today like me...The tests are invaluable for peace of mind & no it is not a rip off just something those would be who could be's think will save a dollar or two. Could be a life or two eh but!!

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 528619

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:38

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:38
hey you two...what we need is to give all these persons doing doing such illegal things a brief insulation test with a 415...no 1000v meggar...once they have tasted this they may just understand what you you are trying to tell them..electricity kills and in more ways than one
FollowupID: 528832

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:17

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:17
Are you sure it is illegal to use that type of plug, and ain't the neutral and earth usually joined together at the meter box anyway.

I always thought it was a caravan park idea to use 15 amp plugs to stop people using the cheap low quality cords that will load the power boards up when over heated.

I would check with your state electrical authorities.

We use mig welders that came out with 15 amp plugs that have been converted to a 10 amp plug for ease of use, we have spoken to alot of authorities regarding this and all we got told was a 10 amp plug can handle alot more current then they are rated for and aslong as the cable size and curcit breaker for current draw is correct there is not an issue.

But I would still check.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 266453

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:19

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:19
One last thing it is illegal to file the earth pin down as the plug no longer meets the Australian Standards.
FollowupID: 528653

Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:38

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 22:38
"Member - Olcoolone (S.A) replied:
Are you sure it is illegal to use that type of plug, and ain't the neutral and earth usually joined together at the meter box anyway.

We use mig welders that came out with 15 amp plugs that have been converted to a 10 amp plug for ease of use, we have spoken to alot of authorities regarding this and all we got told was a 10 amp plug can handle alot more current then they are rated for and aslong as the cable size and curcit breaker for current draw is correct there is not an issue.

But I would still check.

Regards Richard"

Bet your "authorities did not put this in writing!

What you have done with changing the plug tops from 15 amp to 10 amps is also illegal.

Gees all you blokes lay out good money for your vans and all the add ons and yet are too bloody tight to do the job properly when it comes to the supply of electricity to them.

I hope if anything goes wrong in your electrics in the future (fires etc.) is that all that will happen is your insurance companies will refuse to cover your work and that nobody gets killed from your handywork.

Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

FollowupID: 528662

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 23:13

Saturday, Oct 13, 2007 at 23:13
Mig welders come under differant standards then usual 240 volt appliances, and these days very few people will put stuff in writting.

We spoke to a Safework SA inspector about it and he could not answer our questions and he refered us to another mob who gave us the answer.

No differant then someone using a older style power board or double adaptors and running heaps of gear of a single GPO.....it's not good practice but people do it.

Most good heavy duty extension cords (not the white ones) use 20 amp cable anyway.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 528672

Follow Up By: rockpiglet - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 04:30

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 04:30
Olcoolone
In the entertainment industry there are heaps of 10a - 20a adapters.
And has been for many years. makes 10a - 15a look trivial.

Power is a funny thing goes to peoples heads. Get it wrong, it usually goes through the feet.
FollowupID: 528685

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 05:44

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 05:44
Circuit breakers are primarily for a short circuit protection and are NOT for a current limit. A 10 anp circuit breaker can quite happily carry 20 amps for long enough to melt your cable. I have seen circuit breakers that were so hot you could burn your fingers if you touched them and they were still operating.

FollowupID: 528687

Follow Up By: rockpiglet - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 11:09

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 11:09
Can't say seen 20a load on a 10a breaker.
Fixture _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 18.5a at strike, drops to constant 8.5a. Usually load 2x fixture on 20a breaker. Don't strike/ start both fixtures at once.

When we have local sparkies hard wire us in, if we don't know the sparky we all ways meter their work, unfortunately history has shown us not to even trust the professional.
FollowupID: 528728

Reply By: PeteS - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 06:56

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 06:56
Hi lyndon k

Forget the confusion and differences of opinions these sorts of questions raise each time. Stick to what sparkray states in his reply. No need to elaborate any further except to say the earth pin is different for a very good reason.

PeteS
AnswerID: 266464

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:59

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:59
Disagree, see my response below.
FollowupID: 528714

Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:56

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 09:56
Use of common sense and simple maths should prevail here.

A 10 amp lead has a safe available delivery of 2400 watts. As long as you do not run above that there will be no problem.

Most people do this to cool their fridge before travel, a typical 90L Van fridge _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 175 watts. A Heron 2.2 aircon _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 1100 watts on cool and 1600 on heat. A 2 slice toaster _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 900 watts. A kettle _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 2000 watts.

Simply add up what you plan to run and keep it below 2400.

To be completely safe buy a power board with an in built circuit breaker that flicks at 10 amps, these are only about $10. Plug this into the power point, plug the lead into this and then run it to the van.

This is a greatly over discussed topic, particulalrly the comments about safety and legality. People have been running 10 amp leads to caravans for years as have people been running extension leads around their houses, factories and farms without problems.

I keep hearing it is illegal. Can someone please quote the actual act of parliament and relevant clause?

The whole thing is a storm in a teacup. Spending $400 on having a dedicated 15 amp power point installed at home is simply uneccesary.
AnswerID: 266475

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:24

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:24
Jimbo
Good one . you have summed up the situation 100% , What we are dealing with here is ordinary people with ordinary households with ordinary appliances , Not Caravan parks with up to 50 plus vans drawing on the power system of the park,
Have a good day.

Doug

FollowupID: 528719

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:29

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:29
Hi Jimbo

Please contact the authority providing the 240v and/or 415v supply to your property (assuming you do not generate your own power). They have conditions on supply, including the compliance with many Australian Standards, one of which is AS3000 Wiring Rules. Extension leads and use of such are well documented in AS3000.

As always it's your choice if you wish to do otherwise.

PeteS
FollowupID: 528721

Follow Up By: sparkyray - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:40

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:40
Use of common sense is something that most people do not use. Yes if you kept you current draw down to 10 amps, then yes. BUT... there is nothing to stop you drawing more, maximum demand calculations are made for a reason. There is the electrical safety regulations (available on the net)and also australian standards for caravan power installation and safe use. (yes I could quote numbers,) Yes many people run extension leads around. There is a maximum length and there are many people around that have received electricic shocks or electrocution. If everyone exercised common sense and had enough knowledge, then we would not need rules and legislation. In the meantime, if the rules are abided, then you will be around a lot longer to enjoy your caravan. The danger of double adaptors powerboards long leads etc is not only the amount of current, but heat (hot spots) voltage drop, excess heat and damage to your fridge or AC motor as well as the danger of the lead being damaged or cut. Like the previous mention of speeding, yes we can and mostly do, however speeding at the wrong time in the wrong place might just one day prove fatal. I guess it all depends how much risk you are willing to take? Just don't winge when you suffer the consequences
FollowupID: 528723

Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:54

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 10:54
Ray,

Please do quote the relevant number, I am interested to read it.

FollowupID: 528725

Follow Up By: sparkyray - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:17

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:17
Jim, a number of references can be found in AS3000 as to general installion practices. Direct legislation is found in As3001:2001 wher you may read 2.2 about maximum demand, 5.2 RCD protection, 5.1 supply lead requirements, 5.3 installation of supply lead requirements. App A describes how maximum demand is calculated. Reference should also be made to AS3199 extension leads, Other references to As 3004 , 3.1 connection to supply; 3.2 supply cords refer to similar installations. Compliance with these standards will assist in your obligation for the safe use of electricity required by the the electrical safety act 2002, s26-s27
FollowupID: 528733

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 14:48

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 14:48
The technical argument Jimbo puts forward is quite correct.

FollowupID: 528746

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:22

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:22
Hi Mike Harding

Wondering if you can comment and confirm if using a 10amp female plug on a 15 amp male extension socket (or filing down the 15amp male plugs earth pin) is within the terms of the supply authorities rules and be deemed by any accredited electrical inspector to be safe?

PeteS
FollowupID: 528748

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:26

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:26
Sorry Mike Harding
Ooooops, sorry, make that...
"a 10amp male 3 pin plug connected to a 15amp 3 pin socket"

Apologies, was too quick :-)
Pete S
FollowupID: 528749

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:58

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:58
>Apologies, was too quick :-)

A foible which afflicts all of us on the internet from time-to-time :)

I'll take a look at AS3000 tomorrow but I am almost certain such actions would be outside the standard.

Now let's look at the safety aspect:

a caravan is an electrical unit built as a 15 amp system so all the switch gear, wiring etc from the point of supply entry is rated to 15A or better.

A domestic 10 amp socket is capable of supplying 10 amps plus any fault current permitted before the protection device trips so we now have a 10 amp system supplying a 15 amp system - I can't see an issue there.

If our caravan owner chooses to use three toasters and a kettle at the same time he'll trip the 10 amp breaker in just the same way, that on a caravan site, he would trip the 15 amp breaker.

You can view the domestic dwelling in the same manner; it is protected by, iirc, a 100 amp supply authority fuse but a quick count of the 10 amp sockets in my house suggests I could draw far more than 100A if I plugged a 10A load into each one of them, the fact that I probably wouldn’t is called the diversity factor and seems to work quite well. However I am _very_ unhappy with the Australian practice of permitting small appliances with (say) a 3 amp rated cord to be plugged into a 10 amp socket! That is plain daft! Yet AS3000 permits it!

My strong suggestion is that people don’t file the earth pin because of the danger of weakening it, instead I suggest they make up a short length of cable with 15A/10A plug/socket pair as an adaptor.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 528751

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 16:30

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 16:30
Hi Mike Harding

Thanks for the response. I would appreciate your research on AS3000 and the other standards it refers to.

I'm sure you woud agree that IF the 10amp to 15amp connection is deemed not to be in accordance with AS3000 and/or the supply authorities rules then it should not be promoted to others as an acceptable method.

I guess most forumites really want to know if its legal. At least they can make an informed decision.

Would be nice if we could put this baby to bed once and for all (yeah, i'm a dreamer).

Pete S
FollowupID: 528758

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 16:39

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 16:39
Hi Pete

>I would appreciate your research on AS3000 and the other
>standards it refers to.

I'll take a look as soon as I can - I have access to the whole standards database - which should be free to all, but isn't!!! Another damn disgrace.

>I'm sure you woud agree that IF the 10amp to 15amp
>connection is deemed not to be in accordance with AS3000
>and/or the supply authorities rules then it should not be
>promoted to others as an acceptable method.

No, I wouldn't, indeed don't, agree with that. I cannot see a safety issue with it (see my post above) if you can I'd be pleased to listen?

Don't runaway with the idea that "Standards" are always right or sensible - most of them are drafted by a "Standard Committee" which usually comprises a majority of people from interested commercial suppliers.

Standards have a value but they are not the Word of God handed down on stone tablets.

FollowupID: 528759

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 17:25

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 17:25
Hi Mike Harding

>I'll take a look as soon as I can - I have access to the whole standards database -
Thanks, I appreciate that.

>I'm sure you woud agree that IF the 10amp to 15amp
>connection is deemed not to be in accordance with AS3000
>and/or the supply authorities rules then it should not be
>promoted to others as an acceptable method.
>>No, I wouldn't, indeed don't, agree with that. I cannot see a >>safety issue with it (see my post above) if you can I'd be >>pleased to listen?
MY RESPONSE: My comments relate purely to the non compliance of the wiring rules and supply authority terms and conditions. This gets into all sorts of legal situations. The supply authority can disconnect power and insurance companies can deny claims due to non compliance. I'm not only coming from the angle of safety, I feel users must be fully aware of ALL implications in their non-compliance.

> Don't runaway with the idea that "Standards" are always right > or sensible - most of them are drafted by a "Standard > Committee" which usually comprises a majority of people from
> interested commercial suppliers.
RESPONSE: Agree however many of them become industry standards and benchmarks. We are eventually bound by them under that respect whether we like it or not.

Pete S
FollowupID: 528761

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 17:39

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 17:39
Hi Pete

>and insurance companies can deny claims due to non compliance.

A valid point, without doubt - insurance companies will try and wriggle out of anything :)

My assertion is that I can see no technical risk in what I have outlined so I would adopt it without hesitation but each to their own.

I'll have a look at AS3000 Pete but I'm sure it will say "No" :)

It's a risky business: life is a sexually transmitted disease with a 100% mortality rate :)

FollowupID: 528764

Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:51

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:51
The earth is the most important point on any electrical circuit ( for your safety ) and to not use it is just waiting for trouble to happen -

Just a side note - one of our electricians was killed this week - was found dead in an electrical cabinet - perhaps not related to your lead - but an example that even experts with a very good understanding of electricity can slip up and make mistakes :( Its just not worth the risk

Boc
AnswerID: 266498

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:56

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 12:56
Wonder why all the power points in my van have 10amp earth pins, there is an external point with 10amp pins .
Somewhere up the posts someone said people will use 15 amps through a 10amp pin, so I guess there will be those who use 20amps through the 15amp pin , I don't see the difference,
And Jim
I can just see them desperately looking for info on the net to nail you with,
Like I told someone recently, I done things my way all through my life with common sense and it works, I will continue to do so .
Trial and error I call it, like the time when I was about 6 years old I wondered how quick the heater bars would get hot on the 240v radiator Dad had, so as soon as I turned on the power I stuck my finger through the grill to feel it , F*** N' HELL I FELT IT ALRIGHT, Geez it give a boot,..funny you know I never ever tried that again ,

AnswerID: 266500

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 13:58

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 13:58
What a subject....so who can we call, it seems every body has a differant opinion.

Found this web site, don't know whether to belive it or not but it sounds good.

http://users.tpg.com.au/schoolpa/tagging___long.pdf

We are having a ball at the moment at work trying to comply with differant companys that we do work for, one says one thing and the other company says the opposite and no body can tell us anything.

In the end it is costing us S&%T loads of money and time to and I will use the word TRY to comply with them.

To many regulations and signs around now.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 266506

Reply By: Peter - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 14:20

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 14:20
No a new subject but one that still isn't answered satisfactorily. I have a Yamaha gene with only 10 amp outlets, also the inverter has only 10 amp outlets. Without the use of a short 15 amp lead with a 10 amp plug on one end and a 15 amp plug on the other, how would I be able to use either of these systems? Or shouldn't genes and inverters be used in caravans? Apart from caravan parks I've never been able to pull up somewhere (friends places etc) and access a 15 amp power supply. What's the solution?
AnswerID: 266510

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 14:53

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 14:53
Make a 15A to 10A adaptor cable - ensure you don't exceed a 10A current draw.

I have two goats if anyone would care to discuss this question with them?

FollowupID: 528747

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 16:00

Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 16:00
ThreadID: 29011

15 Amp power lead for caravan
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 00:02
i am led to believe that all caravan park power outlets only suit 15 amp power leads which have the larger earth pin . Is this correct ?? If so does that mean that all female lead connections in the caravan will only suit 15 amps ?? I was hoping this is not so as i want to go away in the new ( s/hand ) caravan after xmas and would like to have all the stuff in the caravan fridge nice and cold by means of a normal power lead from a normal power point at home

Advertisement
Suppress Advertisement - Members Only ThreadID: 29011 Replies: 12
Views: 936 FollowUps: 14

AnswerID: 266518

Reply By: rockpiglet - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 01:35

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 01:35
Must say been very interesting reading all the comments.
Doug, Mike, Peter, Richard, Ray, and Ozboc (sorry to hear about your work college).
Must respect the pros opinions as they give them for 3 reasons,
safety, safety, and you can guess the last one. Also the guys who, well, you know it's not up to standard but common sense lends to safety.
Don't want to change the topic but most vans I have been in get the old appliance when the new one is bought for the household.
You know the old, old toaster, I've even seen the ones that do a side at a time, bakelight handles and all. But the old jug, the old electric frying pan etc.
I've never been too worried about the power feed into the van, it's whats getting plugged in, inside I keep my eye on.
Have you guys seen this or do I happen to bump into older folk and tight wads. Hmm if it's the latter don't answer i'll get the drift.
AnswerID: 266588

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:10

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:10
you can use 10 amp system (appliance or van if you like) on a 15amp power source.....but not the other way round....

ie if your van is wired as a 15amp ( i think all later model vans are now as such) then you should not plug it into a 10a source as that is what most domectic gpo's are!...if you are able to connect your 15a appliance to a 10amp circuit you have the wrong plugs and are therefore illegal

AnswerID: 266604

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 11:32

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 11:32
Que Sera.... sera............... whatever will be will be.....

Grrr!!!

There are none so deaf as those who will NOT hear (or listen for that matter)....
FollowupID: 528841

Follow Up By: rockpiglet - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:58

Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:58
reply 3 follow up 8
Number 1 my hat off to your words
I'll eat humble pie, but won't cook it in a van with a large oven, and a 10a feed?? eh!
RCD safe, ok..yeah well how's "a degree of safety in certain fault situations"?
Active to neutral me,, probably even more plausible considering we are sitting on tyres. Old vans, with old appliances increase potential maybe?
I did say the pro's make their comments for 3 reasons.
But you guys never get personal, and you well know your on the money, that's pretty cool.
What do we call 10a to 15/20a adapters in the entertainment industry, "Jesus leads".(yeah I know don't rag me)
Is there still 1 more correction and a fault area not mentioned yet?. Maybe the correction was too stupid, to comment on.
Thanks for ending with "stay safe eh". also Sparkyray earlier had a "enjoy safe holiday" after spelling it out straight.
FollowupID: 528956

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 07:59

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 07:59
rockpiglet...if you ever see a person who has been severly injured or even die from electricty you'll really understand the words Stay Safe...when lots of volts and amps are invloved...

the chasis of the caravan should be earthed, and when connected to the grid would have an earth connection...meaning tyres aint insulating it
FollowupID: 529014

Follow Up By: rockpiglet - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 12:46

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 12:46
Yes No1 I have, unfortunately had to render first aid, must admit though thankfully not death.
But still it's the height and or venue/site that substantially increases our risk.
Correct van SHOULD be earthed, but only added this as could make your active neutral scenario even more plausible? Rubber tyres, rubber jockey wheel, no earth in feed... a floating earth. Would van then be insulated?

Sadly, how many pro's have died because the mains SHOULD of been off.
FollowupID: 529100