18 gal keg
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:15
i lean
Has any one got a good design for a mud crab cooker made out of an old 18 gal keg.
I got hold of a couple and though there must be some one out there with a good design,saves me stuffing up trying to get it right.
Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:50
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:50
4 Besser Bricks (Masonory Blocks to some), some redgum and a firelighter.
Sorry, couldn't help myself.
Follow Up By: pojo - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:59
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 15:59
I cut one in half then made a stainless steel lid for it ,i use it for cooking crabs at home i just sit on a gas ring also when
camping i u se it on an open fire to boil our washing and showering
water. Also with the other half i have made a fire box
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 18:40
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 18:40
We used to use one at the dive
shop for all the blue mannas we used to get, Preety simlpe. Cut a hole in the top (necessary to be able to allow for ingress and egress of said crabs), stainless lid that sits on top with a handle welded to the middle (doesnt burn your hands as much), two peices of C section, on their side and welded to the base to make stable and allow for a gas ring, and a basket made of wire that fits inside to allow for easy removal of crabs.
Otherwise, a couple of besser bricks and some red gum...
Reply By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 18:50
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 18:50
Check this link out
9kg gas bottle converted
You might be able to adapt a keg to the basic design.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: i lean - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 19:47
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 19:47
Thanks Kev that gives me some ideas .
Ill see what I can do.Now Ill just have to get the crabs.No worries here at Halliday bay in sunny queensland...
Reply By: goff - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 22:06
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 22:06
gday i lean mate of
mine uses a 20litre plastic bucket with electric jug element in the bottom. put a round cake cooler in the bottom above the element and just enough
water to cover the element fill with crabs it steams them it works really good
Reply By: Bros 1 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 11:20
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 11:20
i lean,
If you cut the top off in the right (at one of the raised
places) place the cut off top will fit over the bottom piece. Weld two stainless handles to the bottom, double or triple round gas burner under neath and bob's your uncle.
Bros.