Member - Straps (SA)
Hi Gang,
As the title says, I am after information and advice on
suspension / shocks.
I have spent a while reading through archives and done some general reading but am looking for specific info now.
I have a 2001 Frontera SE with a standard / original set-up. (I think).
I am wanting to mitigate any 'weak spots' on my vehicle in preparation of some non bitumen driving. I don't want to 'do' a shock etc and be at the mercy of the local automotive business.
I am looking at doing a run from Alice back to
Yulara via Santa Teresa through phillpson stock route and the hugh river track. So any info about these tracks would be welcomed
I just want to understand what needs to be upgraded / improved / replaced on my rig and what are peoples thoughts on brands etc. I am far from technically minded with regards to my rig.
Any thoughts and ideas are most welcome.
Shane
PS Thanks to all who gave info and advice for my question about UHF radios etc. I ended up purchasing a TX 3440 with a AE4705 antenna from Electric Bug in SA. They were the BEST price around including shipping to Ayers Rock..!!! (the usual no affiliation other than a happy customer)
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:23
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:23
I don't want to 'do' a shock etc and be at the mercy of the local automotive business.
Was at Home Valley yesterday, Had son in law along doing a repair job for a company in Noosa doing some work there.
Nick mentioned that he had heard there may be a tourist stuck on the Karunjie track with a gas
tank problem. So we decided to take that route back home in case. Sure enough there was and had been there for 36 hours so we got him up and going and then made sure he got back to
Kununurra
No charge plus we helped fed and watered them. Think they may have been happy to be at our mercy.
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:44
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:44
Hey Squiz,
Wasn't neccesarily meaning the likes of those in your example and good on ya for being a true blue aussie..
Was more meaning, I didn't want to get back to home at
Yulara and be at the mercy of the only mechanic / automotive business in town. Reckon if I have new
suspension / shocks, that I will minimise my chance of having any troubles..
I accept that 'sh*t happens' and when it does I will be grateful to whoever, wherever I am. Just more about mitigating risks and addressing things before they occur.
Shane
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:51
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 21:51
Uhuh. Twas the generalisation that pipped me. There are good and bad in most fields.
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 22:06
Sunday, Oct 14, 2007 at 22:06
My apologies for the apparent generalisation. Certainly not intended. And despite sounding bad, is not meant to be having a go at any particular business, it was more just saying that if I can fix a problem before it occurs, I save myself from being at anyones mercy. (Either good or bad)..!!
Shane
Reply By: ILike2Play - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 04:00
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 04:00
Well I have a Navara and I am now on my 4th set of shocks in about 60,000km. I have come to the conclusion that I or the Navara kill shockies.
1st pair. Originals. Not worth the time taken to rip em out.
2nd Tough Dog (big
bore). ok lasted 5,000km on
Cape York trip. Slow leaks.
3rd OME ok. Lasted 5,000km over Simpson and to
well 24 from
Wiluna on the Canning. Catastrophic seal failure. Best so far.
4th Gabriels. ok Got me back home on the bitumen at $400 fitted in
Newman lol
On bitumen you wont have a problem any will do the job. Short trips no worries either. Depends on terrain, ambient temperature, duration of driving stints, cool down periods, temperature shock from
water, rock protection, Vehicle. If in doubt take an old one as a spare but on those tracks all good I'd say.
Follow Up By: Member - Edward G (QLD) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 05:09
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 05:09
Oh I should say this is on the front only. Short stubby little critters. lol Had adjustable Toughdogs on the back. We're ok but adjuster got hard to rotate by hand after a bit. Still have OMEs on the back at the moment after ARB
suspension upgade.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 07:43
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 07:43
Thats amazing. Must be something wrong with the Navara
suspension.
I have a set of OME Nitro's with 65,000km on them and they have been to hell and back being on the Simpson, AB, Connie Sue,
Pilbara, CSR, Talawana, Kidson Tracks and a variety of cross country jaunts and have only worn out one shocky rubber!
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:05
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 08:05
Thanks for the info / advice..
Was looking at OME's, but just not sure difference between various makes and models, and assume its a little like the whole tyre debate. Everyone will have a story for different types..
What does a shocker do, as opposed to a spring. Think I have a good idea, but wuld like to clarify..??
And is there a big difference between front and back in a fourby..?? (with shocks / springs..??)
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 13:25
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 13:25
Straps,
Our 2001 Rodeo runs Monroe shocks ($484 in '05) and "Supersprings" helper springs on the rear. I guess our suspensions are similar, if not identical.
Just another option; we're happy.
Jeff.
Follow Up By: Member - Edward G (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:38
Mate everyone has their opinion you can be sure of that.
This may help you find out
How shocks work.. On a lot/most vehicles front and back are different. The job they do are the same but the forces they can be exposed to vary with the load/springs/travel length/etc.
Ed
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 14:29
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 14:29
People who take it very easy and dodge those pesky stones can get by on just about anything. Those that flog along give the hardware a terrible time and of course rack up a list of failures.
For
mine, unless you are really loaded way up, decent shocks and sturdy tyres would be about all you need. My choice on the 99 Jackaroo was (now being pensioned off): BFG's all round, down to 28 psi front and 30 rear on the rough: Koni mono tube gas shocks front: XGS twin tube gas shocks on the rear. They've done some good K's with nary a problem, but as I said, we give the hardware as good a time as possible - mainly via reduced speeds. Overloading
wheels is avoided via the use of a trailer.
Reply By: Spratty - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:23
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 21:23
Hi Shane
I too have a 2001 Frontera and run OME Nitro's F & R OME coils in the rear and torsion bars wound up, gives me a 2'' lift . I also have polyiar bags fitted as I tow a 16' caravan have done 40k on them and have'nt had a problem to date.
Cheers Spratty