Beemer
G'day Everyone,
Has anyone been to
King River area and
Cobbler Plateau. Are you able to get a camper trailer into the Cobbler area via King Rig River.
Beemer
Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 15:34
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 15:34
Beemer,
There are a couple of river crossings of the King which can be tight and have some big rocks in them. Also if you go up 'the staircase' it could be challenging. You can always go via Whitfield and Rose River rd which takes you there as
well. Not sure how the tracks will be come Cup W/E as the tracks are still closed. I will be up that way over cup W/E and can't wait.
What size camper trailer? If it's the smaller 7x4 based type I think you should be fine.
Rob
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 16:19
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 16:19
Hi Rob
Sounds like what I remember from after the fires this year - couple of extra bridges were burnt out but temporay crossings were not to bad.
Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 17:27
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 17:27
Beemer it's possible right now to get to Lake Cobler via the Upper Rose river on a main logging road. Larger campers like Jaco Outbacks can be taken in via this route. From Cup weekend the tracks accross the Plateau,
King Hut, Circuit road will be open. The Staircase &
Cobbler Plateau in particular will require a high clearance vehicle, low range & a fair dinkum offroad camper to avoid damage. It's not that difficult just large rocks & washaways. As an alternative it's easier to cut accross from
King hut on the Little Cobbler track then up the main road. The Speculation track is rough & rocky but possible with a camper as
well.
Cheers Craig...................
Follow Up By: Beemer - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 18:13
Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 18:13
Thanks eveyone for the replys,
Really looking forward to spending sometime fishing the
King River
Reply By: Mamba No 1 - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:36
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:36
I reckon I could get my commodore to the
cobbler plateau, so a camper trailer shouldnt be a worry, take the left hand track up around the back, dont go via the staircase, and you'll be fine
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:40
Monday, Oct 15, 2007 at 20:40
Ditto on most of the other replies, but
Lake Cobbler is a wonderful spot.
One other thing - the track conditions change a lot... especially after long weekends ;-)
Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 12:15
Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 12:15
Dose the PH of the lake drop after a good weekend??
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 12:38
Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 12:38
I could give a Cobblers... as I don't swim in the lake, or drink the
water (assuming you mean pH).