cdma upgrade to next G

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 20:14
ThreadID: 50616 Views:3396 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
hi all,went to hardly normal to see about upgrading to next G,I don't use the phone much so decided to stay on $20 plan which means i have to have a samsung(current nokia),has anyone had any experience with these,still get same deal with GPS thanks.

Reply By: mjdolan - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 21:27

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 21:27
Hi Ann, have got the Samsung SGH701 and have been using it since April this year. Bought it because I needed a phone that would work in the UK in May '07 and the Nokia's which I've always had didn't have a suitable phone available. I'm now waiting for Nokia to bring out their new models, who knows when that will be! Telsra certainly don't.
I think the Samsung coverage is ok, although I haven't been north or west from Adelaide with it to properly try it out, so not sure. At the cost of having two phones on a contract I'm going to get a new Nokia as soon as something good becomes available.

Michael
AnswerID: 266906

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 22:15

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 22:15
have a samsung 701...good phone and easy to use BUT...there are better models for mobile reception when out of town a little way.....(701 doesnt have external aerial jack)

early in the next G launch Telstra didnt admit or recognise that some handsets were not as good as others ...the Lg is definately better than 701 side by side in fringe area, a mate has one and we compared signal strength often ...

I believe that if you check Telstra website there are some models that are now identified as better performers further away from the tower than others...memory is they have a blue tick or something but I might be wrong on that
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 266917

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:40

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:40
Rang Telstra - the 4 they reckon are best in their range for fringe areas (ho ho - can they be trusted?) are the LG TU550. Samsung A412, Nokia 6120 and Motorola V3XX - the Samsung is the only one they do on a $20 plan. Trade from CDMA now and we get a $100 rebate from our account (in 3 bill's time - might be 6 months !)..... bet we have to ring and remind them to pay up !
FollowupID: 529773

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 22:40

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 22:40
Have a Samsung A701 which was doing fine - even pretty good country reception, but it died due to cause unknown. They have had it for 10 weeks and when I dropped in last week said that the fault had been assessed, but spare parts were not available - ughg.

I got given a Motorola BZ60 whilst it was in for repair as a loaner... it will be an interesting discussion when I take that back with a front cracked screen - again, I don't know how it happened.

I don't think I'd recommend either of those, but I strongly recommend NextG.
AnswerID: 266919

Reply By: Kinggeorge - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 23:54

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2007 at 23:54
Hi Ann 40,
Not sure if this helps, I had a CDMA phone (Nokia) all said upgrade to the "G" generation, I did!, no difference in reception, in fact not as good. That's after a substantial cash outlay, plus heaps of problems with the new "state of the art" LG phone.
My advise, keep your CDMA till the last, don't let any phone company (including a salesman) tell you that it's gonna be betta.
AnswerID: 266928

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 09:17

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 09:17
Dead King
Now that is a very odd statement
"no difference in reception, in fact not as good. "
Another damn phone expert

FollowupID: 529288

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:47

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:47
King George

I think that depends where you are. In the Katherine Region the Next G receptions is a vast improvement over CDMA.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 529384

Follow Up By: Kinggeorge - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:01

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:01
Some interesting comments related to mine, I should have qualified my remark.
Recently at 40 mile beach (south of Karratha), where, last year I had reception on my CDMA phone, with the new "G" generation phone - NO RECEPTION during the 4 days we were there.
Further down south at BUSH BAY, (south of Carnarvon) again I failed the get reception, only by going to the top of a dune, did I have success, whereas last year with my old CDMA phone, I had good reception from our camp-site.
My conclusion was that the next "G" generation phones were not as good as the old CDMA, there again I could be wrong.
What I'm saying is, before you commit yourself to a $300 + outlay, be sure it's the right thing.
FollowupID: 529389

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:04

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:04
King George

I travel throughout the Katherine Region.

I previously had a CDMA and in many communities had no reception.

In those places I now get reception. One example is Wugularr.

I did not commit myself to any financial outlay. Telstra swapped my old phone for a new one for no cost.

One thing you have to consider is that the Next G network is still being rolled out. Apparently in a lot of places it will not be operating on its full capacity until CDMA is shut down.

I believe that you will find the NextG network to be an improvement once CDMA is phased out.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 529414