3 Litre Nissan Patrol "Bill Gates" Problems

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 09:49
ThreadID: 50627 Views:7232 Replies:10 FollowUps:25
Having spent the last 4 months on the road, we came across a lot of folk at various camp sites who have had numerous horror stories about their 3 litre turbo diesel Patrols. One in particular I thought might be useful for members to know :-
This bloke was enroute to Normanton when his Patrol lost all power and the "water in fuel" light came on. He stopped and drained the water out of the fuel filter and managed to limp into the Bourke & Wills Road House but the mechanic (?) there could not help him. He rang the nearest Nissan Dealer in Mt Isa who said "don't drive it, you'll do more damage, I'll send a tray back tow truck to fetch you". The guy had to leave his camper trailer at Bourke & Wills and accompanied his vehicle back to Mt Isa. (over 300 km). The Nissan folk fixed the problem and presented him with a bill for $1,800 !
As he was leaving the Nissan dealers, a mechanic approached him in the car park and said he had been working on the vehicle and that all they did was check the fuel water filter, plug in the computer / analyser and reset the fault on the vehicle computer to restore full power. He then said "mate, if it happens again, drain out the water, remove the battery terminal then replace it - this resets the power for you". Suffice to say, my campfire friend was not too happy but a lot wiser !
As an aside, our vehicle is a 2003 GU 4.2 litre Turbo Intercooled Diesel Nissan Patrol and has done 95,000 hard Km's and has never missed a beat or let us down. It still has the mechanical fuel pump which I think is a comfort to me as I don't like traveling with Bill Gates in the bush !

Reply By: Andrew (Bris) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:14

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:14
Wow!

Another friend of a friends neighbours mates horror story.

Are you suggesting Nissan service is a bit over-priced?
AnswerID: 266957

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:22

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:22
Thats a horror story, interesting on the battery reset technique. On my new TD Hilux there are instructions on the visor for cleaning the fuel filter in the advent of water contaminating the fuel, if you had a stack of water youd be in some trouble, but otherwise you bleed out the water from the filter and follow the instructions. Much of his $1800 bill would have been the towing expenses , I expect 7-8 Hours worth of driving to pick up the vehicle and take it to the dealership, plus another hour or 2 at the dealership, so without parts that equates to $180/Hr at 10 hours which is too much IMHO.!

I'm no mechanic but I think when you are in whoop whoop as much DIY capability goes a long way.
AnswerID: 266959

Reply By: keith & louise - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:32

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:32
i have done over 100,000 km in my 3ltr with a dpchip and 3in exhaust
i tow a tvan and predict i have done oner 35,000 km in 4wd. my car has never missed a beat, and after driving the 4.2ltr realized just how gutless they are. the 3ltr has been a great engine with heaps of power and great fuel economy.

we have all heard the story of my friend said, his sisters, dogs friend knew someone who's uncle has a frend with a 3 ltr that broke.

if anybody can tell me that THEY have had a problem with this engine
i will listen to them, but otherwise it is all just story's probably told by Toyota drivers.
AnswerID: 266960

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:45

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 10:45
Maybe you should do an archive search on here for 3.0 litre Nissan.
Then call all those that have posted with their issues liars.

FollowupID: 529308

Follow Up By: Tyreman - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 11:02

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 11:02
I am a nissan lover myself and have not only heard the stories but have seen it for myself at the deisel mechanic next door to my old work shop my brother also has a 3 litre and has also had a good run out of it so if you have had a good run out of yours also then good luck to you i say but as john says do an archive search then call people liars and see what they have to say.

cheers shane
FollowupID: 529310

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 11:11

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 11:11
Cut and paste the following in the site search box with only forum checked.
blown near 3.0 and nissan

Believe whatever you like.
FollowupID: 529312

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 11:46

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 11:46
Yes... 3.0... no problem, none anywhere, none what so ever.
http://www.lonards-automotives.com.au/patrolindex.htm is nothing to do with grenades..

it will go away.. it never happened.. it will go away... it wont ever happen...
FollowupID: 529316

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 13:51

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 13:51
Truckie,

Is that a pic of Mr Nissan :))

Kev

FollowupID: 529332

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:05

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:05
Probably Capt NissaN
FollowupID: 529336

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:29

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:29
FollowupID: 529377

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:30

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:30
FollowupID: 529379

Follow Up By: datto311 - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:58

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:58
do the search as they suggest and there are only 5 or 10 genuine the rest are hearsay
FollowupID: 529404

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:09

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:09
Or search the patrol forums to read about dozens of others. Or ask your dealer how many they have had in their workshops. My local has had 6 this year. OOps this is only hearsay.
FollowupID: 529407

Follow Up By: datto311 - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:30

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:30
OK I'll take the bait
How old are they - what year model, how many K's, what's the history of them, are they ex-police, etc etc

1 failure is 1 too many.

Nissan should have done more, but NOT every 3l Patrol is about to explode.
FollowupID: 529411

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:00

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:00
> but NOT every 3l Patrol is about to explode.

but who wants to find out in the middle of the simpson? Specially with the "support" they would recieve...
FollowupID: 529432

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:50

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:50
Sorry can't help myself.

You can lead a fool to Toyota.
But they will always buy a 3lt Nissan.LOL

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 529481

Reply By: pojo - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:38

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:38
If he dropped his pants i could park my bike and some good could be made out off the pose
AnswerID: 266989

Reply By: Old Mal - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:41

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:41
Think I've touched a raw nerve with some 3.0 litre GU Nissan Patrol owners !
AnswerID: 266991

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:43

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:43
which was the reason for the post in the first place.
FollowupID: 529341

Follow Up By: Old Mal - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:49

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:49
Heh, heh, heh, heh, heh !
FollowupID: 529342

Reply By: madcow - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:56

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 14:56
I'm surprised he did not go back in and confront them about it? i know i would have and would have asked for a detailed description in writing of the work carried out! I heard 2 3.0's that a very reputable 4wd accessory manufacturer had both fail with just over 70,000kms on the clock. Both had a full replacement engine installed. This came from the "horses mouth" last night!
AnswerID: 266995

Reply By: Member - Alex V (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:53

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:53
The Normanton story is all very interesting but could happen to any vehicle with dirty or bottom of the tank fuel and does not relate specifically to the 3.0 lt Patrol. We bought a 3.0 lt Patrol in 2001 and had no problems until 2005, even after towing a caravan for 24,000 km from Perth until reaching Beechworth, where the engine expired. Courtesy of RACWA, we were transported by flatbed truck to Mornington where the Nissan dealer eventually replaced the engine with a 'new engine' (the burnt and cracked head was not caused by the engine expiry in their view) and therefore we had to pay that part of the bill, the total cost to us being $4000. Although upset that the engine only lasted 84,000 km and not 300,000-400,000 as expected, we were reasonably satisfied that Nissan picked up most of the cost when out of warranty. Assurance was given that the new engine no longer had the problems of the original and would love to have comments from anyone who has had engines replaced on models after 2002.
AnswerID: 267031

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:31

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 18:31
No that can't be right???
Are you suggesting that you actually owned a 3.0 litre Nissan that self destructed??
According to Old Mal you don't exist!!

FollowupID: 529396

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:24

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:24
Sorry that should read
According to Keith and Louise you don't exist!!

Apologies to Old Mal.

FollowupID: 529410

Follow Up By: keith & louise - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:07

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:07
check all the archives and you will find that there is no mention of any issues such as this in any mode except fot the 2000/01 engines, and these were recalled for an oil feed problem to the last 2 pistons. of you are driving an engine of this vintage and have not had the recall done then you are asking fort trouble.
if anybody can tell me of a similar problem with the newer engine than the series 1. i would like to hear it.
FollowupID: 529415

Follow Up By: keith & louise - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:09

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:09
just more Toyota drivers wishing they could go as far as a patrol

Keith
FollowupID: 529416

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:57

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:57
> if anybody can tell me of a similar problem with the newer engine than the series 1. i would like to hear it.

Bloke in my club is stuck in Qld at moment with a blown 9mth old GU grenade...

Dont be so blind as to believe marketing that "it was fixed in the series 1/2/3/4/5/6/7/8/9...

Andrew has a list of dozens of them rooted in all series.
FollowupID: 529430

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:16

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:16
Now Keith you asked for a first hand response from someone who has had a 3.0 litre self destruct and here you have the post from Alex.
Now you want to shift the goal posts and insist it does not happen to any other than the Series 1.
So which is it?
It does not happen to any 3.0 litre Nissan?
Or it only happens to Series 1?
And when someone first hand posts that it was their Series 2 will you insist it does not happen to Series 3?

Oh!! and I bet there are a lot of 3.0 litre Nissan owners who wish their car went as far as some Toyota's.

FollowupID: 529443

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:10

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:10
These are engine blowups ONLY from our fellow Explore Oz posters If you would like I could list the other 47 from other forums as well.
Regards Andrew.

Explore Oz Forum.

Daggs.
Blown_zd30-------------------------- 244K
Roly.
AJB------------------------------------196K
Pud & Barb--------------------------165K
Bulla. (daughters car)
Yakodi--------------------------------130K
Plugger.
JR -------------------------------------130K
Mike.
B & M. -------------------------------126K
Emackj--------------------------------157K
Fourstall2000-------------------------118K
Donald A-------------------------------50K 2004 STL
Old Johno---------------------------------------2000
Ron 2006-------------------------------152K
BushMark-----------------------------109K---2001
Ted--------------------------------------170K---2000
Piggy------------------------------------106K---2001
Rob------------------------------------------------2001
Trevmari-------------------------------141K---2000
Muckrunner-------------------------------------2000
Ppk--------------------------------------160K---2000
Rapid-------------------------------------60K---2004
BittenbyZD30-----------------------------------2000
Alex V------------------------------------84K---2001
Jo64-----------------------------------------------2000
FollowupID: 529470

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:56

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:56
Recalled.. and fixed.. cut a bit off the dipstick to allow more oil in it.. LMAO

Ya see what I meant about Pole smokers John.. this place has really turned to bleep .
FollowupID: 529483

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 00:01

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 00:01
Well it was a highly technical cutting of the dip stick you know??

I can think of a few dip sticks around here that need cutting also. :-)

FollowupID: 529486

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:35

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:35
I had a front wheel bearing collapse in Cloncurry after many months on the road ( this wasn't a tag-along-I was in Mt Isa doing some training). I had replaced the left front the day prior and found the retainer cross threaded so was reluctant to deal with the right until I got home. I drove to the Curry and the left collapsed. I pulled the wheel off and found it quite a mess. So being RACQ ultra members I got them to take me to the Isa where the Nissn dealer's workshop forman who new nothing of my problem and had just walked in t the service counter hands on hips told me I wouldn;t get my car ficed for more than a week and spoke to me in terms I found quite offensive and rude.

I took my keys and repaired the vehice in front of the workshop. 4 hours with torch and pin punch and a thread file and I was on my way. Won't have a thing to do with them again.
AnswerID: 267053

Reply By: Jo64 - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:14

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 21:14
I was on owner of a 3l 2000 Patrol but after the engine blew up on me in December last year I am not anymore. I do in fact exist.

I must be one of the unluckiest people because we not only did I have the piston failure but went throught the trauma of the first posts problems (our first trip with our partrol back in 2003).

Luckily for us we were in the southwest of WA so limped between towns trying to get the problem fixed. In the first town the replaced the fuel filter, but on the first major hill the light came back on. When we got to Albany the Nissan dealer couldn't find a problem but stuck the computer on it for us and reset everything.

I do still love Patrols and now have a petrol 4.8l. I do worry about friends with the 2000, 2001 patrol though.
AnswerID: 267079

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:16

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:16
How about something different??

We drove through Nullagine (Pilbara) a few months back. A 3litre Nissan sat in the servo with a pool of oil under it. Its elderly owner and his wife were a bit distressed by this. They were on holiday from Tassie. He'd driven over a hump on some roadworks just out of town, hit a rock and holed the sump. No mechanic in town, so he was seeing what his roadside assist could do. I'm guessing it cost him a few $$.

Reason I bring it up is that I haven't heard of a rigid front end 4wd holing a sump. Must be pretty hard thing to do. Maybe the 3 litre sump is too big now? :-)))))
AnswerID: 267220

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:11

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:11
Maybe he read the thread wrong and instead of cutting a bit off the dipstick, he lengthend it "Hole in the Sump"
FollowupID: 529829