Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 15:15
firestorm
Planning a trip with the fam down to Tassy next year. Was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on things/
places to see. Will be putting the pajero in the boat to cross over so we have our own transport.
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 15:47
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 15:47
Hi Firestorm
Tassie is just soooo beautiful. We spend 7 weeks there early last year. If you member message me (if you are a member) or let me have you email address, i can send you my travelogue/photos, which highlight some of the 'must see' spots.
Reply By: Andrew (Bris) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:49
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:49
Tassie's a fantastic place. Spent 5 weeks there a few years ago, and have gone back for a couple of weeks each of the last two years. Going again in December for a couple of weeks.
Can't get enough of the place.
My journals from our first trip are here.
Tassie Trip Report
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:51
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 17:51
Strewth Mate the list is endless..... but a few that stick in my mind... Visit Nabowla in the NE and see the house where my australian family tree started, You can't miss it it's the only proper house in Nabowla...
The cog railway from Qeenstown to Strachan is a must do, Go looking for a Thylacine, we went on a cruise on the Frankland river in the NW corner of Tassie and actually saw some Thylacine scat under a little shelter designed to keep it dry....
The gold
mine has a great display.
The
Don River Railway is worth a run,
Port Arthur is kind of erie, as is
Sarah Island and the
Gordon River.
At Strachan there is a sawmill that mills Huon Pine and has a scrap bin, needless to say I thew out all my clothes and packed my bag with Huon offcuts - much to the consternation and amusement of Airport Security...Sybil didn't like me wearing her knickers either.
The food is great, the locals friendy and the roads you will have mainly to yourself, just watch for unsigned fixed speed cameras, there is one at
Penguin I discovered 3 weeks after returning.
Reply By: aka - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:14
Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:14
A must is
HOBART on a saturday for the market
Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 10:25
Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 10:25
It all depends on what you'd like to see in Tassie.
If you want to get into some four wheel driving, check out remote beaches & spectacular
views then pick up a copy of this
book. Heaps of excellent detinations, campsites, challenging tracks with maps etc. The west coast in particular is brilliant especially around
Queenstown.
If short walks & taking in the countryside is more your scene then get a Parks pass which will give you access to the lot for a one off fee. (Far cheaper than being stung at each
Park)
If history is more to your liking then stick to the more populated areas. Straun,
Hobart,
The Nut & all the usual Convict & mining sites.
If you want some action
well just hop on the Dismal Swamp slide. At 40+kph it will get you going:-))
Fishing, the sunny east coast, "Do" town, Salamanca market, Cadbury Factory, gee I'm sounding like a Tourism commercial. Just allow 6 months and see it all.
Cheers Craig................