New ML Triton GLX-R Di-D - What a top 4WD!

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:12
ThreadID: 50645 Views:7140 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
As I posted a while ago (and copped a fair amount of flack for it) I was selling my Landcruiser and buying the new turbo diesel dual cab Triton.

Just a fantastic off roader. I've done it up for touring with just a few more bits to go on, ARB canopy, Tracklander roofrack and ARB Simpson II rooftop tent.

So far I've got the ARB Barwork, front and rear and Parkside side steps, OME 40mm lift with Cooper ST's, Warn XD9000 winch, Lightforce 240 Blitz spotties and a TJM snorkel.

I've found it to be a very capable 4WD, great on fuel and very comfortable.

I reckon Mitsubishi have done a great job with this new Triton, if you've been thinking of one, give it a shot.

Photos in my profile and here

http://www.newtriton.net/rides.php?id=2&back=1

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:16
Watch those ARB Canopies on Tritons - there's a couple I've seen in the desert one of which came off a new Triton on virginal run.
AnswerID: 267046

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:57

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:57
Holy crap, really?? I've had a few issues with ARB, having the canopy come off wouldn't surprise me really.

Cheers for the pointer though, I might look at getting it reinforced onto the tray.
FollowupID: 529524

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:57
I just can't decide on them looks ways, yours with the bits on it looks GREAT, stock I think they are a little girly (cute). But I am glad you are happy with your NEW truck.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 267059

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 19:57
Good looking vehicle Brett, hope all goes ok with the rest of it. My cousin has just put a deposit down on one. He's always been a hilux man but went the Mistsi this time. Exact same model you have only last I heard he wanted white althou his wife wanted black so not sure what colour they ended up with. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 267060

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:58

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:58
Nearly bought a black one but with the amount of scratches I gather on trips, it'd look pretty ordinary after a while!
FollowupID: 529525

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:08

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:08
Yep I told him the same thing reckon he is crazy if he buys black. The scratches will stand out like dogs ba@@s. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 529530

Reply By: sjp - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:06

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:06
been looking at one myself for quite a while,but i dont know if i can adjust to a duelcab after having a l/cruiser wagon,i dont think it has the same amount of space even with a canopy
AnswerID: 267061

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:01

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:01
Hey mate, I went from a 100 Series Landcruiser wagon to the Triton and I'm more than impressed. Even the wife likes it....took her a while but she's there now.

You do loose the space in the back compared to when you drop the rear seats down in the Cruiser but I reckon it's worth it, fuel consumption is so much better, between 9.5 and 11 per 100kms.

Take them for a good test run and see how she pans out.
FollowupID: 529526

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:01

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:01
Hey mate, I went from a 100 Series Landcruiser wagon to the Triton and I'm more than impressed. Even the wife likes it....took her a while but she's there now.

You do loose the space in the back compared to when you drop the rear seats down in the Cruiser but I reckon it's worth it, fuel consumption is so much better, between 9.5 and 11 per 100kms.

Take them for a good test run and see how she pans out.
FollowupID: 529527

Reply By: porl - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:33

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 20:33
When I worked out the ride on mower I wanted to buy fitted in the tray of the new triton twin cab, with about 10mm to spare, so nice and snug, I knew I needed one so found a raffle which was drawn on my birthday, bought half a dozen tickets though thought I'd only need one. Funny enough, I didn't win. Bugger. haven't found anyone that wants to swap my prado for one yet.
AnswerID: 267066

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:09

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:09
I swaaped my patrol for one about 14 months ago.

Definitely the best of the twin cabs all round. Great tow vehicle for my Van, economical, power to spare, handles anything I've thrown at it so far.

I like to keep my vehicles for a long time so hope the longevity matches the rest of it.

AnswerID: 267129

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:09

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:09
Nice work, should come and check out www.newtriton.net Some of the guys there have done some great things to their Tritons!
FollowupID: 529531

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:20

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:20
Love the number plate.
AnswerID: 267142

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:24

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:24
If only the licensing center would actually let me have it!!
FollowupID: 529532

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:43

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 09:43
Brett did you get the optional electric opperated limited slip diff? Very interested to hear how they go both on & offroad.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 267148

Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 10:17

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 10:17
No I just got the standard LSD. I was told that there was no diff locker Tritons in the country until Feb 08.

All of them had already been pre ordered but I can say thatt he guys on newtriton.net who do have them are really really happy with the diff locker.

Only issue is that they can't have an aftermarket long range fuel tank installed with the optional diff locker.

I've found the LSD is ok on my Triton but give me a locker anyday!
FollowupID: 529542

Reply By: Faulic_McVitte - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:47

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:47
the 3.2L Triton is the best 1T ute on the market. updated from Hilux current model 3L which was so underpowered and under braked compared to Triton. LOVE the new Triton 3.2L and is king towing.
AnswerID: 267236

Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 14:45

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 14:45
Yep!
AnswerID: 267809