Good camping place

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 22:59
ThreadID: 50653 Views:2745 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
Probably going away for about 10 days around Christmas spending a few days with Nath's family in Toowoomba then head sout again. So is there any good camping plaes near water - beach or river that wont be too booked out that we'll have to book in advance.....or if we get stuck any good bush camping places.

We're thinking around Coffs either side (nth or sth), Nathan camped at a place once called Koala Park...is it still there???

Any ideas would be good.....we usually go New england Hwy but too hot that time of year if you dont have to do it !

kiwi

ps....remember Zev....1AM ! ! LOL

Reply By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:03

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2007 at 23:03
By the way....2006 st-r navara turbo diesel.....is it a d22 or a d40 ????

Kiwi
AnswerID: 267101

Reply By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:21

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:21
Kiwi,

Please don't stop around Coffs Harbour as that's where I'll be LOL

There is a couple of Caravan/ Camping grounds in Woolgoolga that back onto the beach but you would have to book early.
My Outlaws live there and are about 200m from the beach and about 1km from the town centre. Great pace to relax.

Cheers Zev

AnswerID: 267117

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:27

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:27
I forgat to add, since I've been up all night waiting for you to turn up.

The housework is still not done :((

Cheers Zev

FollowupID: 529497

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 07:15

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 07:15
Laura,
You could try the camping ground at Trial Bay (South West Rocks)it has safe beaches and plenty to.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 529502

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:12

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:12
I got to ya house and figured you needed something to do today apart from be on exploroz and do uni - i was being thoughtful ....really!!! LOL LOL LOL LOL

Kiwi
FollowupID: 529512

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:34

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:34
Uni is dead and buried for the year finished it on Monday LOL

It's alright though, the hired house cleaner is here now.

FollowupID: 529516

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:03

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:03
I looked at my calendar for uni next yr and i dont get any breaks unless i guess assignments in real early.... so you pay for hired house cleaner with some love'n hey ! ! ! !

Kiwi....have a good one zev!!
FollowupID: 529600

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:13

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:13
Kiwi

All paid for by the good old government LOL

Love'n is a thing of the past still ATM the mind is willing but the back isn't able ;))

Cheers Zev

FollowupID: 529604

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:25

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:25
D22 is my model ,,,,

D40 is your model ! ( maybe )

AnswerID: 267119

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:33

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 06:33
Laura ,,,
Laura

ST-R is my model, ( the D22 ) ,,,, the ST-X is new shape D40
In 2006 they at Nissan were selling both models,,D22 & D40, and I heard they were doing good deals on the the D22, to get rid of them.

The basic difference is as described above, with the bigger body, (looks like a cut down Pathfinder)
The D22 has the 3.0 TD ,,,,

The D40 has the 2.5 TD with more power, they have squeezed a lot of grunt out of such a little engine.

Hope I have not buggered up the answer too much ?

ps,,, hate it when you make me think ( hehehe
FollowupID: 529498

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:10

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 08:10
ours is ST-R.....its a 3.0 TD...so its a D22??? yeah???

that bullbar we picked up for $400 fits a D22 according to the label......its a tat rusty..bloke said no dings.....slightly dinged up underneath.....going to paint it hammertone.....will look good once cleaned up....if it doesnt fit we'll sell it !!

no need to think any more so have a day off!!

Laura
FollowupID: 529511

Reply By: muddyboy - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 10:10

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 10:10
good luck in finding a place on the coast during xmas holidays people usually book for the next year as their driving out or places take bookings at the start of march you should get a place fairly easy along the coast in the last 3 weeks of school holidays try corindi beach camp reserve north of wooloogla just before red rock you wont get into red rock reserve but its close by also not to far to coffs its a nice spot a reseve not alot of facilites but a nice spot all the same
AnswerID: 267151

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:23

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:23
G'day Kiwi
"we usually go New england Hwy but too hot that time of year if you dont have to do it"
Can't agree with that statement. We usually spend our Christmas holidays up in the New England region because it is heaps cooler than the coastal areas.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 267175

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:32

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:32
Moose,

Good to see that you have caught on to what I've started calling "Kiwi" LOL
Seeing as she is a self confessed sheep diver.

There is nothing wrong with the New England as it is the "Home of Country Music" in January and the weather only promotes a healthy rehydration scheme which is highly supported by the local licensed premises ;))

FollowupID: 529566

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:37

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:37
Kev
Mate I have no idea what the Kiwi things is about - I just used the name that appeared at the bottom of the original post.
PS Why "Qld Kev" for you when your profile says that you're in NSW??
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 529568

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:40

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 13:40
Moose,

I'm about to depart NSW very soon for the greener pastures of home (QLD).

As for Kiwi she has a thing for names LOL

FollowupID: 529569

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:50

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:50
Moose - gotta call Kev Zev.....he's the one with the thing for names!!! LOL

So you reckon Warrunbungles be alright then - not too hot...? Maybe I remember it being hot cos its been a good 48 - 50 on the road between Coonie and Dubbo..and we're usually going out there in february.....Wanna go somewhere good for my birthday/n.y.eve......

Tha kiwi thing started when i said that we could always go diving for sheep...didnt think anything of it and then...yada yada yada.....im not A kiwi and i never intend to be a kiwi but has life has it....im now kiwi....

Would love to live out there....but stuck here instead....love me Gympy muster....puts tammworth to shame ! ! ! ! (2nd best Deni ute muster....ahh the memories!!)

Kiwi / Laura
FollowupID: 529579

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:17

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:17
G'day Laura/Kiwi
Warrumbungles and Dubbo are not exactly on the New England Highway, nor even in the New England region.
The New England Highway runs up through Armidale, Glen Innes, Tenterfield etc. That's where it cooler.
Me thinks you have your highways mixed up?
Will probably be bloody hot out Dubbo way at Christmas.
Plenty of nice spots in the real New England area.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 529581

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:56

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:56
is too moose...sorry my mistake.....

anyway.....might even think of doing wollomi nationa park....born and bred in lithgow so might go back for a visit and camp...

Laura
FollowupID: 529598

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:54

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:54
Not wanting to give you a dumb answer so I will start with a question (if that makes any sense)

Do you want a camping area off the beaten track somewhere? OR are you looking for a van park where you can go camping (obviously for a fee)

We have stayed at a beautiful van park on coast near Taree where you can 4WD on beach, boating, fishing etc. Very quiet only 1 shop that sells everything but shuts early about 7pm each night.

If you want the details let me know and I will dig them out. We used to go there with my 2 brothers and their families from Toowoomba but they now want to try the Nambucca thing. I will miss the old spot - beautiful and quiet........... ps- very good chance they will have something left depending on what you are after eg tent/van spot or cabin
AnswerID: 267197

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:00

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:00
Tha'd be great thanks Pradoz- we'll add it to the list of places......

We love the bush camp - the less the better but are happy if we do the beach thing for a change...

Laura
FollowupID: 529599

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:39
Found a great camping spot for you and the Clan,,,, Laura. !!!!!

Turn right at the server in Nowra, go south for 820 km, get to a town called Wonthaggi, and look for " Bucky's place " ,,,
We will be here waiting for you all.
No probs about camping spots, have heaps here,,,

Heheheheheheehhehehehe

AnswerID: 267246

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 09:12

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 09:12
thats right Ive heard of Bucky's Place...heard its a bit of a treat...its on the list for feb.....if you havent sold your house or Lyn!!!!!

Laura
FollowupID: 529695