Tyres - Ok those not interested need not read

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:38
ThreadID: 50672 Views:3208 Replies:12 FollowUps:19
Will have to replace the Coopers on the Jack and I am not actually at all impressed with them, maybe I let the sales schpeil get to me.
Ok they are 245 70R16 and at my "local" tyre shoppe they have on special these size tyres in "triangle" brand ( Dunlop???) in a light truck configuration for $99 each. Ok this sounds too good to be true even if I only get 30,000km out of them I would still be streets ahead, ie $100/30,000km as oposed to $250/60,000km with Coopers. I would have more rubber on the road and newer tyres if I change at every 30,000 km too.
Can we discuss this ( acrimoniously if needed) Please?

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:57

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:57
where do you take them Basil?

If the Jack never leaves the tarmac well and good, but then again...

Which Cooper product do you have? Pale, Sparkling Red or Brown?

What is it about your tyres that hasn't worked for you in the past? Mileage? Chipping? High speed performance? Sand?

Help us out, if you want some help.
AnswerID: 267216

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:21

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:21
Mate...you only get what you pay for....beware
AnswerID: 267222

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:50

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:50
I paid for Coopers, now I am aware that they are crap!
FollowupID: 529626

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:27

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:27
LOL Coopers are the exception to the rule.

FollowupID: 529632

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:47

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:47
Yep re the above - you haven't said enough ! Where do you go ? Are you happy to pay more for reliability or happy with a gamble at lower cost ? Are you conservative in your driving habits or maybe 'let loose' at times ? $99 sounds like you are buying mower parts - not for cars - are these tyres made in Khazakstan ?
AnswerID: 267228

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 11:56

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 11:56
actually "Tyre Factory No 27 PRC"
FollowupID: 529713

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 12:02

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 12:02
Factory no 27 PRC ?? peoples republic china , u wan plawn clacka wit dat ??
FollowupID: 529714

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:48

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:48
Yep re the above - you haven't said enough ! Where do you go ? Are you happy to pay more for reliability or happy with a gamble at lower cost ? Are you conservative in your driving habits or maybe 'let loose' at times ? $99 sounds like you are buying mower parts - not for cars - are these tyres made in Khazakstan ? Last time I saw those tyres, there was a warning not to exceed 24 psi ! (ok - I made that bit up :-o)
AnswerID: 267229

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:33

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:33
These new ones may be cheap but will they help you in the wet, in an emergency stop? Will the sidewall collapse or puncture easily? Go talk to a few professional drivers from truckies, prof 4wd drivers, racing drivers etc etc. I think they will all say the same thing. You only get what you pay for. I would not put them on my car or 4wd even if you gave them to me simply based on the fact they are so cheap (in price, quality, reputation, service and back up, warranty etc etc) BUT then again I have Coopers and I have had nothing but pleasure and security from them. Thats even with a warranty claim through Coopers for a faulty tyre that caused me a near serious accident. But that could have happened on any tyre as a fault and I don't think I would have got the prompt back up service as I did from Coopers.

There is 2 problems with your Coopers tyres as I see it.

1 - Coopers tyres are like politics and cars. You either vote labour or liberal; like holden or ford. No one will change your mind unless you want it changed. And if someone tells you the Coopers are hopeless, I wonder if they have ever owned a set - the right set.

2 - Have you got the right set of Coopers for your vehicle and for the driving you do, on the surfaces you drive, in the weather conditions you drive in, for the style of driving you do etc etc. Chances are if you are having a bad experience with them you haven't. I would strongly recommend that if the dealer you bought them off in your opinion isn't a horses a#$e, go to a better one. Find the right dealer who will match the tyre to you and your car etc.

They haven't been in business this long selling crap. I think we would easily find another major tyre brand where we could be having the same conversation. It all depends on all of the above (and more). If the Coopers aren't for you, buy something else, but buy a reputable well know brand. Something that you know shouldn't kill you or your family and friends. Good Luck...
AnswerID: 267232

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:41

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 19:41
One of the main rules of marketing - advertising sells ! As for proffesional drivers - they usually promote what there sponsor gives them for free or even pays them to use. This goes for any product good or bad. I would take more notice of people on forums provided they supply ALL the facts then I would the fancy stickers all over a 'proffesional' drivers vehicle or a full page add in a 4x4 mag.
FollowupID: 529635

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:14

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:14
I had no pre-conceived ideas about tyres, Coopers were recommended to me & to be quite honest, when I had them first fitted, I was as flash as a rat with a gold tooth!

I worked closely with the Cooper reseller to select, Cooper Discoverer ST Light Truck construction, based on my current & projected driving.

Sorry, but I am afraid that they have, worse still, they tell lies!
FollowupID: 529640

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:15

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:15
Coopers, lets think. I replaced the original, Bridgestones I think at 60,000 with Cooper AT. I replaced these at 130,000 but still have 2 of those running around on the VAn and the other 2 on the spare rims which come on trips with me in case of tyre failure. Then I replaced the 2nd set of AT's at 215000, and 2 of those are in the shed ready for the van when the 1st set wear out, with ST and although a bit noisier, actually track better. They have only done about 10,000. I have had one puncture with the AT's (nail through the tyre) so I have had a pretty good run. I would probably getter better kilometreage if I rotated them more often! Keep the air pressure right, learn about tyre placement and think about when to replace them.
It is better to look at a tyre before a long trip and decide to replace them before the trip than when you get back. Thats why my shed looks like a tyre yard!
I have looked at other brands and they are all good and about the same price so why would I change if I have had a good run.
AnswerID: 267240

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:48

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 20:48
Bridgestone 694 oz made 265/75/16s, 13 sets, $220 per set, average 60000 km per set, 70% dirt corrugated road per set, 230km per day 6 1/2 months of the year, no blow outs and 2 punchers, 42 psi in the rear and 40 psi in the front.

Work it out.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 529643

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:08

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:08
how many tyres per set Steve? And $220 per set?
FollowupID: 529645

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:13
Yeah got me.

$220 per tyre, 4 tyres per set, as when I take them of they are still good spares.

Bonz is my witness.

This was actually supposed to be a new post not a follow up as well.

Hey did you rind Bill at OAMPS? how did you go.

Cheers steve.
FollowupID: 529647

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:21

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:21
Steve,

It is nice to see your stats from your regular and consistent use.

You have impeccable timing. I have not called Bill yet - was filling out the questionnaire for the renewal today and when I am back on Tuesday will be calling him with our business to quote on.

I am about to replace a set of 6 that has done 108ks at the moment - two more trips so will be 110 by then, but they are Cooper STTs and cost a lot more than $200 but have had some harder work than yours too - two punctures too ;-)

Is your "2 punctures" 2 punctures per day or 2 punctures in 13 sets?
FollowupID: 529649

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:38

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:38
2 punchers in 13 sets, one was a 6 inch nail , I actually thought it was a slow leak for about 2 weeks before I was able to get it fixed.

Have you rotated that set of 6 to obtain 110000 km, the reason I ask is if I did that I could probable achieve a similar result.

Anyway good luck with bill you won't be disappointed.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 529655

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:44

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:44
Yep. Sure thing - rotated about 10 times.

And I also change tyre pressures frequently - but then no two days are alike ;-)

Andrew who enjoys the variation.
FollowupID: 529657

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 01:57

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 01:57
Steve you had me convinced they were good piece of Kit until you informed us

"Bonz is my witness. " LOL
FollowupID: 529674

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:02

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:02
Triangle tyres I think are made in India?
Maybe China?
Did look at a pair a year or so ago, but didn't getany, got some Simex instead ($20.00 a tyre more at $150.00 ea for 235/85 16 10 ply) since as every one on here says, watch out, be careful, they can't be any good.
Friend bought 4 for his pajero, mainly used around SE Qld, but since moved to Tasmania. Got at least 50,000k from them, quite happy with them. Gone for another set.
So what will you be using the tyres for?

Some people swear by Hercules too.

Know what you mean about Coopers, been through 2 sets of ATs. Under 50,000k a set, had the first set replaced under the milage warranty pro-rata. Cut my losses on the 2nd set and wentfor a different brand. Chipped pretty well on development roads too.
Havn't gone back to them. Maybe they are better now?

Have 10 rims for 3 axles now (CT as well), so run the cheap and low tyres around town and locally, and the better tyres on trips.
AnswerID: 267249

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 10:19

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 10:19
chinese pretty sure
they make a cheap rag tyre but dont think i would bother for an on/off road all rounder
FollowupID: 529896

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 00:00

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 00:00
I find the whole discussion about Coopers to be very intersting and sometimes frustrating. I have rotated my Coopers with the original Dunlops (Coopers in the bush and Dunlops in the City) and while I am not sure of the exact kms done on each set I figure about 80k to 90k on the Coopers and I estimate about 10k to 15k left

I have been to many places - CSR - Holland Track - Simpson - GRR - Cape York etc - sure some chipping - argued with Coopers Agent and managed to have one replaced free - I have had one puncture - last trip on GRR stripped the tread off one at about 100k not far from Derby while towing a camper
Most times I have rotated frequently - maintained air pressure according to conditions
Am I happy with Coopers? Yes
Am I happy with the agent I purchased them from? No
Would I buy again? Not sure
AnswerID: 267289

Reply By: Blaze - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 02:07

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 02:07
Fawlty, I would have to agree with your comment on the Doopers, I cant comment on the Dunlops you mentioned, seems a bit on the cheap side for me but then again I was doing a trip away and had just purchased the Mitsi with Mags. I didn't want to use mags in the outback so had a set if sunnys in the shed and I went to the local Beauy's which is run by a mate. I said because of finances I wanted a cheap set of AT style tyres to use for the trip away. He said to me to try some SAVA's that they had just got in.... $155 each.

I expected them to grip well because of the pattern, what I didn't expect was the puncture proofing they displayed and the fact that after 40,000 k's I have now fitted my favourite tyres Wrangler MTR's but the Sava's are still in good nick and have been put on the camper. So I'm the last to tell you that the Dunlops may not be worth there money.....
AnswerID: 267294

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:23

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:23
Sava ah yes
think i got 2,000km out of them both trashed on the GRR
FollowupID: 530172

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:34

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:34
Davoe..

We did the Tanami, GRR, and then across to Roper and down to Lawn Hill... No punctures in 3 vehicles, the other 2 were running Wranglers MTR's. Sometimes it depends on the speed, the pressure, or just bad luck. Mate that was with us did 3 Doopers in on the Cordillo Downs RD the year before.
FollowupID: 530174

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 02:08

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 02:08
For cruising around town and down the shops then the cheaper tyres may be ok. But as mentioned above how well would they handle or stop in an emergency?

What if a child stepped in front of your big heavy fourby and you had to brake and turn quickly in the wet?

Going bush then they're unlikely to be touhg enough.

Bridgestone desert duellers were on my fourby when i bought it, got 2 punctures on first trip off bitumen! Inside the carcass were repairs of at least 3 punctures for each tyre!

Whereas i prefer the cooper ST i won't get them again as they still aren't tough enough once you enage low range or get into tough stuff.

Have you looked at a decent quality goodyear or bridgestone? You don't have to go for coopers again.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 267295

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 08:05

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 08:05
If some one is that worried about cruising around town in a 4by and hitting a child or driving in the wet and loosing control, by not taking reasonable precautions, maybe they are driving the wrong car!
Something smaller and lighter with 4 pot discs and R spec tyres is what they need.
Or at least an unmodified 4by with HT tyres, the best pads in the discs you can get, and drive 10km/hr slower.

Or is driving a compromise, and we all compromise in different ways?

Even owning a 4by is showing a compromise to driving, bush versus town use of a sedan.
And a 4 door sedan being driven by one person is a compromise to a small sports car for handling and braking.
And a sports car is an environmental compromise to riding a motor bike or scooter for comfort.
And ..... a motor bike is a lazy mans compromise to a bicycle. :o)
So maybe we should all just walk and use public transport.

So how much more are coopers/dunlops/goodyears etc worth than cheaper tyre at $50.00 to $100.00 less? We can only go on our own experiences. Suck it and see.

FollowupID: 529685

Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:30

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:30
And if you have had that much troublethen I would put money on incorrect tyre pressures for the Terrain
FollowupID: 529835

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 12:10

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 12:10
My main complaint about the Cooper discoverer's is their performance in the wet. Have been in some decidely unnerving situations loosing traction in the wet towing the Gin Palace. So I guess I'm saying that the Coopers in an emegency stop may not perform as one may expect, especially if it is wet....
I rarely go far off road, maybe some gravel roads usually just use the Jack to tow with and I'm a WOOF so I drive at or around the speed limit, don't do much street racing with the 3ltr T/ Diesel....
These are chinese - just check your tyres and see where they are made, you may be surprised.
Now the Gin Palace fully loaded weighs in at around the 2400kg mark has tyres that have done the same KM as the Coopers roughly and has elcheapo LT tyres that are not half worn....
The LT tyresrun a much higher pressure (60psi) and have an 8 ply construction....
Do I assume that the Jury is still out and I have to buy a set and report back???
AnswerID: 267343

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:31

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 09:31
As another discerning 4by pedaller, (translation..fellow Jack owner)
I too have pondered the tyre thing. Not a Coopers fan..one bad
experience is enough. Have long & pleasant association with
Firestone Firehawk RMT , mid priced A/t type, but on Hillux, not
Jack. Unsure if available in 245/70. Jack & tyre thing is limited to
one outback sojourn towing C/t. Went with all rims interchangeable..standard Jack clothed in an assortment of half worn out highway treads of various brands. Plan?.. Replace as required. Destroyed one rear with ancient stone axe on Ood
track, straight through centre of tread. Solution..two new BFG
A/T in Alice. Cheap..well no, but no futher drama for 10k, & appear to be good on grip. Proof.. two deliberate crash stops on
Tanami with unbraked trailer..impressed. Two Silverstones (??)
did the whole 13K without incident on the front. Pressure..
40lb all round, 30 on trailer. No other tyre issues ensued. I am
not a fan of reducing pressure on dirt, in fact have reduced sidewall disasters to nearly zero on sprayrig hilux by going to 50lb
plus. Future..wear out rest of H/t on front with BFG on rear. 90%
of problems seem to be on rear anyway, load related I guess
particularly towing. Sorry for the waffle, got carried away, not a
usual thing for Jack owners at all. is it? cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 529894

Reply By: Old Mal - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 10:59

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 10:59
I have BF Goodrich All Terrain T/A's fitted my GU Patrol ute - went for the slightly bigger LT 285/75 RT 16's on advice from our local dealer due to load carrying considerations as we have a Supreme Sunray slide on camper on board. We have now done two major trips (19,000 km and 14,000 km) in harsh bush country - last year we did Perth to Birdsville via Great Central Rd, Birdsville track and home via Strezlecki track then this year we did Perth to Perth across the top - did most of the Savannah Way and lots of black top as well. These tyres have now done approx 50,000 km and I reckon I'll get another 25 - 30,000km out of them. Have not had a flat or puncture yet and would not consider anything else for serious offroad stuff. Not cheap but as they say "you get what you pay for". These are made in USA and they have the best consumer protection laws going.

Old Mal
AnswerID: 267781