DIY Motorhome ?
Submitted: Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:46
Member - Lionel A (WA)
Hi all, on my way home this arvo I ended up following a rural school bus, and no, Im not an ol' perv lol.
The vehicle had no visible brand name that I could see, however, seemed to be a bit larger than the toyota coaster type of bus.
I watched the
suspension and ride characteristic as it cruised along and the ol' cogs started whirling away in the noggin.
If I were to purloin one of these buses, completely gut the interior and refit it as a motorhome, would it need to undergo any checks or inspections by transport authorities ? And would a standard HR license be ok to operate it?
Im in WA.
Many thanks........Lionel.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:50
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 19:50
you can drive a bus with an HR as long as you dont have paying passengers in it (I think)
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:10
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:10
Davoe
I say old Chap ......How would you know they were not paying passengers when the vehicle has a double bed in it ......NO hang on , I'll re-phrase that ...
How would you know he was not paying the passengers when the vehicle has a double bed in it !!!!! yeh that's it .
Doug
Follow Up By: JimDi - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:32
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:32
Doug,
At the risk of hijacking this thread. Phew!!! I am glad you cleared that comment up.
Jim
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:22
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 22:22
Jim
Read it again........carefully .....allow it to sink in ......a bit deeper
Dirty Doug
Follow Up By: JimDi - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 11:10
Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 11:10
Doug,
I understood your comments and appreciated the humour in same. Sometimes short replies maybe misunderstood. My comments were an attempt to show my appreciation of your humour.
Jim
Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:17
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:17
The licence required will depend on the GVM and seating of the bus.
Here in NSW you can drive a minibus that has up to 12 seats and 4.5t GVM on a car licence.
An LR licence allows up to 8 tonne GVM, an MR allows more than 8 tonne GVM and a maximum of two axles.
After that there is an HR, HC and MC.
for all the guff have a look at www.rta.nsw.gov.au/licensing/licence_classes.html
bearing in mind that we are now all the same across Oz under National Road Rules ;-)))
Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 00:46
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 00:46
ye if it's got three or more axles youd need HR. Wouldn't need anything more unless its articulated or you tow a trailer over 9t GVM. As Pete has said - it's nationwide.
Reply By: wdric - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:27
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:27
You may actually be better off having it re engineered to be a motor home EG: have an rta certified engineer insect the new motor home conversion with a bed in it.
Your rego and insurance will then be a lot cheaper cause you ain't got all those people in it.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:29
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:29
definitly I have had 2 commeccial vehicles and as campers you only pay wheather it is a 4 or 6 cyl not commercial rates
Reply By: Steve from Albany - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:28
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 20:28
Hi Lionel,
I drive a school bus. Like some one else said you need a HR license to drive one (In WA at least). You only need an endorsment on your HR license if you are carring fare paying passengers. The HR license will also allow you to tow a trailer up to 8 tonne.
Steve.
Follow Up By: Bri - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:29
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 21:29
Hi Lionel
I like the bit about paying passages and Double bed??????
However ...I was told once that once the vehicle was classed as a motor home you can drive on a normal (car )licence
I am in WA
Bri
Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 00:52
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 00:52
Bri
heavy vehicle licences aren't related to the number of passengers (
well at least HR doesn't mention any passenger restrictions) but the GVM/number of axles on the vehicle. Whether or not its a motorhome would not affect licencing requirements as far as i understand - a tri-axle bus would require HR.
Big Red
Reply By: Member - Terry F (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:00
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:00
Lionel
If you make the bus into a motor home presumeably you will install gas equipment, at least for cooking.
Have it done by a licensed gas fitter as it will be required to meet the Aust Standards 5601 Caravan and Marine Craft section.
That will cover installation of gas pipes, ventilation requirments and cylinder installation
Have fun
Tezz
Reply By: Member - Peter H (WA) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:24
Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 23:24
Hi Lionel
In Wa if the gvm is less than 8 tonne then all you need is an LR license. I have a lwb coaster that is 5.25t and I have an LR. If you take it over the pits, change it to a motorized caravan and the rego drops by heaps.
As there are no standards in WA as to what constitutes a motorized caravan, you may only needs some basics to get it passed.
When I took
mine over the poor bugger made that many phone calls trying to find out what constitutes a motorized caravan. In the end Dept of Planning and
Infrastructure told him that if it was obvious that is was being done up as a motor home then all was ok. All I had in there at the time was the skeletons of the cupboards and a bed.