Vic Pyrenees Nov 07 Trip – Second Recce

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 22:51
ThreadID: 50736 Views:3517 Replies:10 FollowUps:46
Evening all

It was lovely spring morning in Melbourne today. Departed home 5.45am and headed for the Pyrenees to meet some other Ex-Oz members to conduct a further recce of the area for the up and coming Vic Ex-Oz trip in November 07.

Nice and cool, clear skies, no wind and 7 hot air balloons just taken off over the Bolte Bridge alongside of the CBD as I passed and swung around same.

Arrived at Elmhurst at 8.00am and rendezvoused with the other recce members.

Hot damn it was a nice day and just got better or much worse from whoever’s point of view you look at it I suppose.

This is how it ended:

Oh! What a feeling:

I’m saying nothing else other than I recovered that mother off the top of a mountain to Elmhurst, where the subject 3.0l Nissan was swapped to another Ex-Oz member ‘s 4.2l Nissan, and subsequently recovered to its place of residence in Terang. (Oooops! Shouldn’t have said that)

PS

Always knew (hoped) I would get that sucker hanging off the back of the Troopy before it became ‘my turn’.

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 22:55

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 22:55
The icing on the cake so to speak would have been to have had that 'pesky flag' sitting on top of the 'towee'.

It was all set to travel, however ended up being 'THE' item that gets forgotten.

Damn! x 1000
AnswerID: 267602

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 23:39

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 23:39
Well a post like this would I believe at least needs an explaination, as to why said Neeesan needed the rescue. So come on spill the beans....
FollowupID: 529985

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 05:49

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 05:49
One word - BONZ

hahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 529986

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 07:59

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 07:59
three words

Idler Pulley Bearing

And boy .... Lucy couldnt wait to unhook and head home with his ill-gotten photos hahahaha

Great day though, cant wait for the weekend gathering

FollowupID: 529990

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 13:59

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 13:59
Gramps, I don't think anyone needed to be told who it was.. hehehe

A 2 year old could have worked through Lucy's hidden hints LOL

But on behalf of all Croweaters thank you for putting up the 4 letter word.
FollowupID: 530026

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 14:04

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 14:04
Blaze,

Just making sure my reply was not included in the 'verbose' variety that so many on this forum are so fond of LOL

FollowupID: 530028

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 14:06

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 14:06
Bastards!

Note lack of verbosity~!

hahahaha all in good fun

FollowupID: 530029

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:52

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:52
Bonz

The only thing you should be quoting re the figure three (3) sunshine, is trhe three (3) attempts it took you in that miserable excuse of a 'missan-nissan' to get up that leeeetle hill on the second track that we did.

Just because it was so steep, deep rutted and boulder strewn, that the dash mat in the Troopy slid off into my passenger/nav's lap (12yr old male) causing him to go mute until we reached the top, is no excuse for 'nissan'

(ROFLMAO)

You should have been there Roachie

FollowupID: 530061

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:27

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:27
Your time wlll come Mr Dual diff locks and NEW STT's

FollowupID: 530106

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:18

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:18
Bonz

Will you please Shoosh! re the new STT's

It's a short name version for a particular brand of tyre that when mentioned on this forum has the same effect as a full moon.

Yep! those affected by the tyre brand 'which must not be named' start 'howling' and the 'tyre moon god'.

After yesterday's antics I really do think they may be 'on to something' like the guy giving the presntation inthe Qantas add on TV.

Those 'cannot be named tyres' did get scuff marks all over the side walls from rocks, sticks, stakes and other tyre destroying material that we subjected them to, not to mention those mud holes, water and grassy areas that allegedly kill these tyres.

BUT not one 'chip' , cut, puncture or torn trad block.

Your 'sister ST's' performed the same just amazing.

Can't say the same though for those Mickey Thomson's on that other dudes nissan.

Remember, whatever you do, don't mention that brand of tyres again on the forum.

FollowupID: 530123

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 10:22

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 10:22
Ok lucy, I think there may be something in the tyre pressure theory but the damage was to only 1 tyre. That said it was a really tough track, Ever done the slate quarry track? I got up (yes up, not down) without winching somehow.
I have suggested that track to another member to trial their comp truck.
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 530166

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 01:53

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 01:53
I so cannot wait till i can join u guys as the Nissan recovery vehicle :)
AnswerID: 267611

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:20

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:20
I have been desperately trying to ignore your answering post , but have just given in.

Where do I get me one, no make that two, damn! I'll take three - of those Jim Beam chics
FollowupID: 530124

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:27

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:27
Ooops!

Forgot to mention that the only reason I manged to get that Missin-nissan behind the Troopy was because the other 4.2l Nissan in the soiree, was 'missin' as usual on the other side of the Pyrenees looking for a water bag, ration pack, map and a compass.

Bonz couldn't 'get off' the Toyota lifeline quick enough, in case any other embarrassing 'happenings' took place.

You just should have been there (LOL)
FollowupID: 530127

Reply By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 06:22

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 06:22
Lucky,

So I take it that it was a reverse of the last Recce where the Missan did the recovering ;))

AnswerID: 267615

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 11:40

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 11:40
Que'

You really shouldn't be drinking red wine this early in the day, and by the way, does your mother know you have such a drinking problem.

I think I may visit the 'twin cab' again and leave another 'message' (LOL)

FollowupID: 530003

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:20

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:20
What to take more pics of the repair work on the Bonzmobile :))

Is that why it is taking Al so long to convert it, your there being a hinderance LOL

FollowupID: 530011

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:26

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 15:26
Lucy.........you are sooooooo cruel....love it,

-and very nice pictures if I may say so..lol

Michael
AnswerID: 267655

Reply By: Moggs - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:20

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:20
Oh Bonz, why couldn't you have insisted on John in the 4.2 Patrol to do the recovery!
AnswerID: 267664

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:11

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:11
Moggs, John was having a delightful day as a passenger, closing gates and the like. Just an early start and late finish to leave the Terang station in the Bonztrain
FollowupID: 530053

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:43

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:43
Moggs

John was in the 3.0l 'missin-nissan' wreaking havoc with his 'all things electronic mapping' - (total disaster actually) while was doing his best to kill the pootrol, which he did.

You should have seen the drive belt, let alone the pulley assembley.

John Jr. had left the scene after winning the 'usual suspewct' award for 'muck ups'

Yes! trendsetters, John Jr. brings his family ( incl two very young impressionable children) and his mother-in-law with him.

Firstly he forgets to have a shave before leaving home and then arrives with no life sustaining items like - water, drinks and/or food of any kind.

So he had gone off looking for same and whilst doing so promptly got himeself and the family lost in some 'hillybilly' area of the Pyrenees, requiring cross country driving to escape from the 'banjo players'

The only way to explain this fiasco ia - 'like father, like son'

The father has been carrying the 'king of the muck up' award for the past two weeks after wrnching it from Roachie in a spectacular incident 2 weeks ago.

However more on that in a new thread.

That is why the Troopy got the chance to hang that 'missan-nissan' off of its TOW POINT.

FollowupID: 530059

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 00:42

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 00:42
John,

After hearing that Bonz had 3 attempts at a hill with a little jump up on it. I am hoping this isn't the hill you did with Uncle Des on our clubs trip to the Pyrenees.

In my memory serves me right only an old model YOTA LUX had any trouble on this little hill. LOL
FollowupID: 530135

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 08:22

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 08:22
No mate, that was Fraser Track. Thats a given as it is a scenic track and has good variety. It heads towards Avoca too so is one of the tracks heading to whatever that way.

Like so many of these things, it is a matter of knowing where your wheels are, and you had to take on the ledges rather than take on the rock slope. We had the diff too close to the ground.

Nick R did the Turpin Track over the weekend which I did the first time I went to The Pyrenees with Member Glenn who is one of the leaders. He said that was tougher than any he did at Warraweena.

He then did The Slate Quarry. That is a special request only one, few will do it. High clearance required and soft tyres. He lost a couple of blocks of lugs and I think that may have been too high a pressure allowing the slip not grip.
FollowupID: 530152

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:55

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:55
goodday fellas
are yuo sure "lucy"didnt loosen said pulley so that he could try to get embarrassing piccies of a nissan as payback for the last trip when it was droopy down and out??????????
lmao

AnswerID: 267670

Reply By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:57

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:57
Hey Lucky,

I just realised, What's with the 1st two photos were you that keen to post that you doubled up ;))

BTW I can't stand Red, Bundy is better ha ha

Kev

AnswerID: 267671

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:14

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:14
Gee, thats a bit too sweet for my palate. Lucy liked the look of his Droopy and extension strap.
FollowupID: 530055

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:19

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:19
John,

I'm willing to be converted with a winery's tour LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530056

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:30

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:30
You Sir! are a serial pest.

Trust you to figure out the pic double up. This is what it should have been:

Also my lips are sealed on the 'cut & shut' (LOL)

26-30 Wineries in the Pyrenees.
FollowupID: 530057

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:34

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:34
The serial pest I thought was already living in QLD I'm just his back up LOL

And

The Boss cruiser cutter has already said you haven't shown up today LOL

FollowupID: 530058

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:55

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:55
Grand sons birthday to day and I am still getting over yesterday. (LOL)
FollowupID: 530062

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 18:24

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 18:24
Excuses.....Excuses LOL

FollowupID: 530065

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:28

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:28
And another thing,

Did you not complain a few short weeks ago about people not resizing their pics to fit the screen correctly??

As a fellow member would say "Please Explain" LMAO

Kev

FollowupID: 530092

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:32

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:32
The Back Seat Passenger mantioned that the trip home behind the Migty 4.2 Patrol was MUCH SMOOTHER than the terror behind the Droopy and No more stones chips either.... Oh well into the shop tomorrow. Cest la vie

FollowupID: 530108

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:21

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:21
Kev,

you should have the opportunity to get to a winery on each day if you wish. Chris G, our local team member has been talking to a vintner about whether there could be an EO visitors special. Nothing has been decided, but I hope that the Exploroz family will enjoy their weekend of fellowship. People are arriving from Thursday.

I say that because that I am just the person responsible as listed as the organiser. The others Bonz, Glenn, and Lucky and then Chris, our man on the ground in the Pyrenees are all thinking about what we can organise.

You can see from the trips being done, the team effort to know the tracks. That being said, they are extensive and vary hugely. We know which are more challenging. Nick R did some tracks he said were more challenging than the ones at Warraweena. I know that one certainly is confronting but you would only go there by special request. There was one hill that Bonz had three goes at getting the line to succeed at one barrier. You just take things easliy and have low pressures in tyres to get the grip.
FollowupID: 530125

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:38

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:38
Kev

Just for that I am going to p e e all over that creation of yours on my next visit.

Now Mr smarty pants if you look closely and compare pic complained of with the first ones posted you will see that it is exacty the same size.

Just so that you know why it looks different - when inserted in a followup it is alligned with the follow up margins, not the original thread margins like the 5 above.

Thats what my 6yr old grandson reckons.

Note:

John(R) is as stated above by his good self, indeed the organiser of this impending Pyrenee soiree, and as such he has told me that as you are a special visitor from 'somewhere' , who iswell known to him, he is organising for you to visit all the wineries you can, select whatever wines you like, and book the tab up to himself.

Now if that isn't the best show of Southern Hospitality I don't know what is.

FollowupID: 530129

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:44

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:44
Kev, just as Lucky says above, I would pay if I drove a Droopy, but my credit with Toyota is worse than my credit or credibilty with Nissan.

I have what they call a Lucky card. It has not much credit either, or credibility. Its not like Amex, Visa or MC. More like a joker, only seldom found as it evades most shuffles.
FollowupID: 530130

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:47

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:47
Bonz

Your back seat passenger never said any such thing unless you applied some sort of 'cruel & unusual' punishment to her.

She would have been too busy 'severing' herself from the pillow she buried herself in whilst you were attempting (3 attempts) to get that 'blue healer' of yours up and over the mini rock wall.

I do seriously think though, that if you had turned the air-con off, removed the beer filled Engel as well as the front seat passenger, you would have done it with ease. (LOL)

And leave that 'backseat passenger' alone as how else am I to find out 'stuff' about you. (ROFLMAO)

FollowupID: 530132

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 06:09

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 06:09
Lucky,

My point was it exceeded the width of the follow up margins which I am sure even you could see without the need of glasses. As I am sure you replied with the assistance of Beer Goggles LOL

As mentioned earlier I not a wine drinker but would like to visit maybe 1 or 2.
As for which track I intend to do I'll make a decision when I get there, it's not the vehicle I'm worried about but my back (the trip down will be the test I think as I have not been in a vehicle for more than 1 hour at this stage) :))

FollowupID: 530141

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 08:30

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 08:30
Kev, I hope the seats in your vehicle will keep you positioned well then and the back will manage. I guess we could put some straps over you in the back of the ute to get you down. Western Victoria doesn't have a helicopter ambulance yet courtesy of Bracks/Brumby governments it seems more than an hour away.
FollowupID: 530154

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 09:07

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 09:07
LOL,

I am pretty certain that I'll survive, I'll just have to be very careful.
Te back brace will be worn let me assure you, I just wish DVA would let me get the new drivers seat that I need. But I may only get it when Al finishes the cruiser :(

Another thing Lucky,

If you p e e on the creation you had better come to Pyrenees in the Bluebird as the resale value will plummet LOL
SWMBO is a fish eating Vegetarian and prawns are on her menu ha ha

FollowupID: 530159

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:46

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:46
Looks like a Lucky set-up to me. Nissan's NEVER break down!!!!
AnswerID: 267683

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:58

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 17:58
You Pajero! you. (Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!)

You just had to be there and should have been)

There is nothing on that rig of yours that is still OEM.

Everything has either been mod-ed or else replaced with decent stuff.

FollowupID: 530063

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 18:15

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 18:15
I re-designed the passenger's side front door today....Bloody emu in the wrong place at the wrong time!!!! Chit (green in colour!!!) all over the side step too. Friday night I smacked a bloody roo too, but no damage to the rig.

However, Muddy Doh has had an absolute SHOCKER!!!! He too managed to smack a skippy on Friday night, but he just had to go one better than me (of course!!!). His effort resulted in a totalled windscreen and a scratched bonnet......he tried to take young skip for a free ride!!!!! hahahaha

Then he got lost and on saturday morning he managed to @rse-up Luke's kettle in the fire; lost valuable hot water and didn't do the fire any good.......that boy is just sooooo in love, he doesn't know what he's doing most of the time.......;-)))
FollowupID: 530064

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:18

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:18
Thankyou Mr ROACH!

Yes - was a terrific weekend apart from the windscreen massage. Made it home OK! Should be all bright and shiny tomorrow after a little but of TLC at the Windscreen O'Briens place.

Do a lot of dame to the Emu??? I am not that concerned with the Nissan.....

Thanks for a good weekend out there.

Muddy
FollowupID: 530071

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:26

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:26
Muddy,

I don't reckon that b@stard emu will be bothering anybody else on that road for a while!!!! Mongrel just materialised outa nowhere!! Gave SWMBO a hell of a fright (me too actually)....

Oh well, I have a client who is a panel beater, so he'll be on my list of customer calls this coming week...(slab in the back as payment!!!).
FollowupID: 530075

Follow Up By: Mamba No 1 - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:23

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:23
It seems to me that Lucy should be sitting back in the drivers seat holding on while he is towed out of that bog on the track by that Nissan. Your IT dexterity is only matched by your grasp of what seem to be facts.
FollowupID: 530089

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:15

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:15
Mamba No 1

You have just made number one spot on Willem's 'red back spider' list.
FollowupID: 530171

Follow Up By: Mamba No 1 - Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Oct 30, 2007 at 21:33
hahahaha Lucy, it is indeed an honour to be on that list
FollowupID: 532080

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:59

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 20:59
Great, looks like a lot of fun but what's with the recce business. The way I see it is bush...tracks...drive...what more is there or is that recee word just an excuse for another trip..:)
AnswerID: 267716

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:09

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:09
Lucky,

Wants to know which tracks he wont get stuck on LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530101

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:16

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:16
Someone must be worried and I know it wouldn't be Bonz or Johnr.
I have a feeling I might show up for this weekend, I know a few special tracks in the area..hehe
FollowupID: 530102

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:26
Be good to see u Ray, Lucy DID comment that it was his new Cooper STT's and dual diff locks that dragged him up that hill me was moaning that I took three grabs at..... Must be outta practise

FollowupID: 530104

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:40

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 21:40
what! he felt a need to use dual diffs locks in the Pyrenees...shock horror, oh well I may have to chuck mine in too :)
Should be good
FollowupID: 530110

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:27

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 23:27
Ahh Mrr Red Frog, we know the pond by the Slate Quarry Track. You going to reside there?

Be good to catch up Ray. Nick tried ripping lugs off tyres there yesterday. I am sure his MIL enjoyed the bouncing around, she was an offroad virgin until yesterday ;-) Daugher didn't like the look of it much
FollowupID: 530126

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 00:19

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 00:19
Dear Red Frog (aka Dead Dog)

I just dare you to show up, no one has seen you for ages and it would be good to catch up.

And I would luv you to show me some new tracks up there.

My Navigator/engineer yesterday was Bonz's 12yr nephew who once he got his breath back and changed his jocks was screaming out to Bonz to find us something 'steeper'.

FollowupID: 530133

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 00:22

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 00:22
Also Red Frog

Will please keep you thoughts as to why Recce's HAVE to be done to yourself, as SWMBO surfs onto this forum every now and again.

Might just have to do a final 'recce' next Saturday. (LOL)

AnswerID: 267743