Give a helping hand, Not so! with some selfish people.!
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:18
Member - Axle
Was travelling thru a area today where there was extensive roads works being carried out , every one was in single file, only one lane open, then all of a sudden everything stopped. A Toyota hiace van must of suffered some mechanical failure, ( yes they do break down) and started to cause some chaos. I was about six cars back and could not beleive my eyes when the next four cars jumped up on to the footpath and drove around him!!, no offer of assistance given. Between myself and the guy in front of me we managed to push him out of the way, AND THEN THIS IDIOT tried to go around us while this was going on.
I'ts a changing sociiety out there.
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:20
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 19:20
Yeah - some people can't wait 5 minutes.
Seen it all too often.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 22:17
Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 22:17
Another good one is when you see someone broken down somewhere and there is an idiot behind him in his car blasting the horn at him ...that really gets up my goat ...had it happen to me once in
Whyalla , i gets out of my car walks to the car behind blasting her horn and says cant you f***in see im stuck ?? dont you think if my car was going i would be f ing moving?? next day at work my mate says i hear you broke down yesterday ...yeah how did you know?? oh the woman behind that you gave a good serving to was my m/inlaw my missus was sitting in the back....at this point im saying hey sorry mate apologise to your missus for me ...he says no way she loved it ...lol...about time someone put her mum in her place ............Cheers........Dave
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 11:24
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 11:24
Yeah I had a similar experience! My girlfriend was driving home from work in heavy traffic in her Diahatsu Charade and had only been driving for a week when a lady in a Defender failed to give way and ran into the side of her - no worries, accidents happen. This occurred only a few hundred metres from my work so she called me (as she was pretty shaken and not sure what to do) so I wandered over to help her out. I got there a couple of minutes later to see this old bas tard behind my gf's vehicle sitting on his horn telling her to get the F out of the way.
Now a Defender with steel bar Vs Charade? She wasn't going anywhere fast. Add to this the fact that not a single person had offered either woman assistance - simply couldn't believe it! Funny tho, the old bloke shut up when he saw me turn up. I performed some basic panel beating and I managed to get the car off the road but I still cannot comprehend what people are thinking when you see an accident in front of you - two obviously shaken females and everyone just drives by or sits on their horn swearing?!?!
Makes you wonder eh?
Scoey!
Reply By: flappa - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:40
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:40
Had a similar one recently.
An elderly lady stopped at a stop
sign , and her rather ageing vehicle stalled and refused to start.
I was about 3 car back and the two in front were on the horns.
She didn't move so I went to check. She couldn't get the car started and had freaked out with the horns.
After a few choice words with the idiots still on the horns , I got her out of the car and to safety , and managed to get the car started and out of the road. We then rang her grandson to come and help out.
Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 14:28
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 14:28
Another one from Whyallla (Anyone who has used a roundabout here knows how bad the driving is)
But a guy in an older flacon on gas was broken down in the left lane to my right, cars going around him and abusing him like he has stopped to block the lane just to ruin their day!
I went around the roundabout (He was to my right) then came up and parked in front of him (Dual lane roundabout) whilst attaching a tow rope people are yelling abuse at us because now we are blocking one lane of traffic "in" the round about on top of the lane he was blocking. There was little traffic at the time and a single lane roundabout would have handled the traffic very easily but not one person offered to help. He was a little older and getting quite shaken. It took all of about 2-3 mins for us to hook it up and tow him around the corner where we could take a look (already had my suspicion about the problem).
Top up the radiator and away he went (converter was freezing)
Some people seem to think people drive older cars for the fun of it, and it isn't always older cars that break down
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 22:41
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 22:41
Gday Cookie I lived there back in 82 and the driving there was bad enough then , so can just imagine what it would be like now
Cheers.......Dave
Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:04
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:04
Fore those that know
Adelaide there is the Decentaville (sp??) Tce roundabout on the eastern side of the city 5 multi lanes (1 is a single lane I think) roads all meet up at it. I used to travel through it in peak hour traffic morning and night when we lived in the Hills and never had an issue using it, I would rather tackle that everyday than the two lane roundabouts here!
Indicators mean nothing, even if they use them, both lanes are fair game regardless of where you are exiting and feel free to use both lanes of the roundabout as you like whilst negotiating the roundabout. Anyone travelling through or coming up for the snapper competition at
easter the best method is not to enter the roundabout with anyone else alongside you!
Trust me if you are in the right lane and they are in the left entering, they may very
well cut you off and be turning right