7" lift for the GU
Submitted: Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:09
Wayne-o (Pilbara WA)
Thinking of ordering the Snake Racing 7" lift for the GU.
Does anyone have a lift this big??
It comes with all the fruit, but concerned my 285/75/R16 tyres will look too small, but i dont wanna go much bigger...
hmmm.
Wayne-o
Reply By: Voxson - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:26
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:26
I have 285/75/16 on
mine and it is bordering on small with a 5 inch lift.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:35
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 16:35
yeah,
do you have a side view pik of ya truck mate, i can have a sqizzy at just to see what the 5" looks like.
There is only $200 difference between the two, thats why i was think of the 7".
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Voxson - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:40
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:40
Gday.
I have loaded a sort of side on shot.
I cant actually find one.
Sorry.
My car had a load of stuff in it also.
If you want i can take a photo through the week, but i am sure heaps of 5 and 6 inch photos will start flowing through.
But if not i would be glad to.
Send a MM with your email if you want one.
I will send a large shot.
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:54
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:54
How do you blokes get away with such big lifts? in QLD the legal hight is 50mm I would love to go bigger but legally you can't and if my car is in a accident or something I will be screwed
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 20:35
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 20:35
Troll,
Its all in the measurement. As I said to my wife, "Honestly dear, that IS seven inches".
Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 20:57
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 20:57
good luck with your 7Inch life and off camber hills ..... or is the lift just to look cool for the road??
seen a few Patrols with large lifts -- all the gear on it .. and the car ( and undercarriage) is as spotless as the day it left the showroom floor ..... All those mods must be needed to negotiate the woolworths car
park ???
Friend has a 4 inch lift in his LUX --- his car fell over on an easy off camber
hill that my nissan got through without a problem.... Higher car = more change of roll over if you do actually use it for real 4x4
Boc
P.s how stupid does the new Hilux look with low profile
wheels .... seen at least 2 today .... would be like putting 33 inch MTR on a Lambo.....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 23:55
Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 23:55
it could only be for looks. Most serious people keep their cars as low as possible these days for low COG, handling and a dozen other reasons.
You can fit Q78's swampers with a sagged 3inch lift on a GU.
285's would look smaller than roller skate
wheels with a 5inch let alone 7inch..
then theres engineering, insurance, and you cant fit in any carparks.
but would look COOL at the pub
carpark.
YMMV
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:41
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:41
Truckster,
I'm interested by your remarks.
"most serious people keep their cars as low as possible"
possibly true, although i have never seen a tough truck or comp truck with less than 5-7" of lift.
Are they not serious??
just a thought.
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:51
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:51
"... although i have never seen a tough truck or comp truck with less than 5-7" of lift."
you go to the wrong competitions.
Most go 2in body, and 4in susp... then if need be, guard chop for clearance.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:51
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:51
body lift is illegal, and definately not a good idea with airbags.
so if i fit a 5" of 7" they will sag to 4 & 6 respectively, so not much difference.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:25
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:25
Body lifts are not illegal, they require engineering.
And can be done with Airbags, as you read Johnno did one with his TD6.
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:58
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:58
Hi Wayne , I wont bag you like the others for suggesting such a big lift .
I like the fact that you asked the question for feed back before spending any money.
I think the lift your looking at is probably more like a true 6" lift .
There are quite a few things to consider when doing this to your vehicle. Here is a list
1 / caster angles ... Caster plates only probably a 4 to 5 deg rec.
2 / Brake lines ..... 6"longer .... could cause spongy pedal.
3 / spay bar spacers .....or you will destroy the front tail shaft
4 / adjustable rear arms... to help with tailshaft angles
5 /transfer case spacers... as above
6/ wheel spacers to help with cog usually 1/4" out for every inch up
If you go a large lift and don't go bigger tyres , it's like a bit of a waist, as your diffs have the same clearance , I would be more inclined to do a 4 " lift and fit 35,s . This is a much better combo
regards Eric
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:45
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:45
Fair call.
Superflex dropped radius ams, front and rear Mega Lift Coils, heavy duty upper and lower rear trailing arms 4 x Tough Dog big
bore 9 stage adjustable shocks, front and rear adjustable panhard bars, stainless braided brake lines, proportioning valve bracket, diff breather hoses, rear sway bar disconnects and a return to centre steering dampner.
All included in package.
But i am thinking the 5" might be the way to go.
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:55
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:55
2 things -
1) what tires do you intend to run?
2) why do you require so much lift? Why do you think so many large lift kits are forsale on OL all the time?
handy tip - You should go out 1inch per inch you go up.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:50
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:50
I will maintain my 285/75/R16's, with possibility to get 35's for offroad only.
Required lift due to the massive rocks here in
karratha, noth WA.
not much of anything else....just rocks.....and they do a lot of damage.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:07
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:07
so your telling this bloke to run 3" spacers brucy . Sorry mate , but one of the most obsurd thing I have heard in ages
why does he want such a big lift ?? because he can lol
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:42
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:42
Sorry to displease you ekka... but he already runs enough lift to run the tires he wants and even wants to change to...
the only reason for the lift would be bling. and having had a lift of that size, handling is crap on road.
as you said, if he was serious about
clearing MASSIVE rocks, bigger tires would be the go, cause diffs dont change height with body/spring lifts.
YMMV
PS. go to work.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:50
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:50
you have a shrt memory, you forget the posts you had about your great GQ lift , yes you moved on . Now its Wayne's turn to have fun.
Rocks / Bling , who cares , its great to see so many diffrent tasts in cars etc.
I hate the ,his car was so nice underneath , shopping trolly for sure . ( now i know you didnt say this ).
UMMM hello . maby he just cleans his car real
well lol
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:26
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:26
yup, I LEARNT.. thats what Im saying.. no use him spending 2000+ on it to find its faeces then have to go out and buy all over again..
as said you can fit 36's with 3in lift. if he is serious, he would go bigger tires.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:26
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:26
I dont want bigger tyres as they slow the truck down, and reduce low range ability and eat away at your torque.
An if you pick your line correctly, your diff should stay out of harms way. And besides, the diffs can take a beating but my doors and sill panels can't.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:57
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:57
See Brucy , this is the simple concept that you dont seam to get lol . You did it and didn't like it , but you did it , and you had your days of a large erection when people said ,,,, how good does that look. Now your over it . Now it's Wayes turn to have a errection ,
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:22
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:22
Hows it going Wayne ,
Changing diff ratios would sort out the gearing problems of larger tyres .
There are a fair few available on eBay for quite good prices .
Hope this helps .
Glenn.
Reply By: Middle Jeff - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:25
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:25
Hi Wayno-o
I have the snake 5" lift on my 80 series and I made it work, it comes with the tuff dog shocks, you have to have the cab controller or they are a waste. I do a lot of touring as
well so I have air bags in the rear springs and if you go over 5" you will not be able to do that. I also had to push my rear axle back about 10mm to stop the rear springs from popping out under heavy load ( car would fall over, a little annoying ). The 80 now sits as flat as any I have seen, but it took a lot of fiddling.
Have fun
Craig