O/T And now I'm in prison.........

Submitted: Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:14
ThreadID: 50782 Views:2916 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Truly W.A. is BOOMING, had a bad accident 7 years ago ended up with 4 crushed/fractured vertebrae, cut a long story it's osteoporosis, no cure so out to pasture I went at 58 I resigned myself to my fate of early retirement then 3 months ago the Mrs saw an ad for ex tradies { I was a brickie} wanted to teach in prison so I applied got an interview , had a "pshyce "test and 3 months later would you believe it I got the job !!! who would have thought an old codger like me with a stuffed back would still be wanted if theres anyone out there thinking the same thing LOOK AT ME NOW !!! I've no idea where this will end up but for now I cant take the smile off my face, I 've got a great job and work with great guys and as long as the back holds out I'll stay right there,
at last a positive story for once aye ?
best wishes,

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:17
Dave,

Congratulations and well done. I hope it all goes very well for you.

AnswerID: 267834

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 08:48

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 08:48
Hi Dave

Hope your not teaching them how to remove bricks in walls?

Good Luck
Daza.
FollowupID: 530320

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:27
Dave,

Thats great to hear.

I am like you, 58 and "out to pasture" after 40 years of working life, but despite applying for about 50 jobs in the last 2 years, I havent been able to find a job.

I find it very disheartening when you apply for a job and you dont even get an acknowledgement of your application, let alone an interview (2 in 2 years). I have applied for nightfill at both Coles and Woolies and was told I am "not suitable", and dont even get me started on the "Sorry, you are over qualified" response to an application.

I even got the same response froman application to be a Cencus Collector, despite the fact that I had been in the ADF for 20 years with the highest security clearance I could get.

The town I live in seems to have this mentality that the older person is unemployable.

Hope the job all works out for you.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 267836

Follow Up By: wdric - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:57

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:57
You wouldn't happen to live in Newcastle would you.
FollowupID: 530229

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:01

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:01
No, Port Macquarie
FollowupID: 530230

Follow Up By: wigger - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 21:05
Cruiser', Have some idea of what you are going through because
after being in constant work I am finding it very difficult to get any employer to look at me (59) and nearly all don't even acknowledge your call or application. I have an HR licence so hope this will get me in somewhere but this probably will only happen if the employment market tightens up even further.
The biggest problem is a morale one and losing a sense of being a contributing part of society (plus the lack of contact with workmates).
I think the answer is to do something in the volunteer area (if you can get U B) and give up on the job pursuit thing for a while. Some places have a thing called the "mens shed" and this has been successful. Call me on 02 6672 5697 if you want to know more.
FollowupID: 530258

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 21:45
Sorry to hear that cruiser. Similar situation my knees are had it due to years of tiling. but do not give up I have been happily employed for the last 12 m,onths.
Contact me on hanrahanfamily@dodo.com.au and I will give you a tip on a job that speclizes in older chaps. Will be casual but gets you out and about. must have drivers lic.
FollowupID: 530280

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 22:47

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 22:47
'I even got the same response froman application to be a Cencus Collector'

I don't know what a Cencus collector is but it sounds very specialised.

Leroy
FollowupID: 530292

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 08:50

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 08:50
Leroy,

A Cencus Collector is the person who comes to your door every 5 years to give you a form that has to be filled out on a certain and asks all sorts of questions regarding your family so the government can find out how many people live in Australia and plan for the future etc etc.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 530321

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:17

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:17
Census ;-) I was taking the piss.

Leroy
FollowupID: 530324

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:30

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:30
Fair enough Leroy
FollowupID: 530326

Reply By: Rock Ape - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:28

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:28
Good Sh#t,

Look after yourself
AnswerID: 267837

Reply By: QLD Kev - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:37

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:37
I hope this isn't how you spend Christmas LOL

AnswerID: 267838

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:41

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:41
Good on yer Dave - I reckon that's pretty good.

AnswerID: 267840

Reply By: TD100 - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:58

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 18:58
Evening All,my old man recently sold his trucking business as it was getting to much for him(the hours that is 12am to anywhere from 10am to 3pm that day)now after a well earned break he wants to continue working to keep him self entertained and away from the old lady but now he is not driving anymore no one wants him(60 yrs old)every one used to say to him if you ever get rid of the business come and see me and i will give you a job,well where are these jobs now he is out of it?no one wants to give him one or they "cant"find him something.so much for "come and see me"when they see him in their office they turn the other way.if he was a bludger maybe fair enough but he gives me a run for my money and i'm only 37.good luck blokes.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 267846

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:06

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 19:06
well done dave insparation to the rest of us
AnswerID: 267847

Reply By: rags - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 20:25

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 20:25
The best part is that you will get paid and to go home each night!
Russell
AnswerID: 267859

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 23:24

Monday, Oct 22, 2007 at 23:24
Well done Dave, hope it all goes well for you.

Just a quick one for you, Could you ask a few of the inmates? how come celebrity's say they found God in there?

If so what did he do wrong?
AnswerID: 267895

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:29
hahaha, thanks for the replies guys ,your encouragement is great cruiser you've had a bum deal mate but I know how you feel, as I said I realy believed I had buckly's chance of ever getting back to work but they just cant fill the vacancies here and they think the monies crap at 50 K a year !!!
how times have changed, we all know you cant buy experience and us oldies have buckets of it, why some cant see that I've no idea, anyhow for those still waiting GOOD LUCK and hang on in there { or come to W.A. lol }
best wishes and thanks again,
AnswerID: 268046