Willem
Thats what I call my backyard....lol
I have made lots of new friends and new contacts via this
Forum over the years and many have dropped in for a cuppa or have stayed over in the house or camped out in the back yard. So far I have counted 35 families and some singles from all points of the country calling in, and this equates to more that 100 people since 2002. Some have called in again on their way past as our town lies almost on the
crossroads to everywhere.
It has been great meeting everyone and talking about all things 4x4 and sharing the odd beer or a Red. Even the site owners David and Michelle and littlies have stayed over. Our latest visitors, over the last weekend, were Member Bushfix and family. The 4 littlies were intriqued by the fountains in the back yard and played there for hours on end.
So if you are passing by, make contact(if we are home that is....lol) and drop in for a cuppa.
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 08:45
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 08:45
What a lovely invitation Willem. I certainly didn't realize that you had so many visitors.
Yes your town is not only on the way to most
places, but it's also in a very pretty spot.
Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:37
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:37
Will be coming through your way on Friday Willem, how do I find you?
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:35
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:35
I thought that with your expertise, you could find anyone. But if your not taking your wife, you would get lost anywhere.
Follow Up By: Garbutt - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:18
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:18
Don't be smart Les, I had found Willem on whitepages.com before you mm'd me. And that's without using work expertise! And as for SWMBO she would get lost between here and
berri sometimes I think. LOL. She says she doesn't need to know her way around because she's got me!
GB
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:25
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:25
Mr Garbutt, not sure about your SWMBO getting lost in
Berri, but after tonight I am sure Uncle Des gets lost on a computer...
He now has a camera setup on home computer, like he believes someone out there in cyber space actually wants to look at him LOL Like sure
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:31
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:31
Blaze, I only have a few problems with computers. I keep getting sold products with inbuilt programmes deliberately designed to give me the bum runs and what with PEBKAC and ID10T systems, I have no hope. LOL
GARBUTT, your in for it now, I'm sending your comments regarding SWMBO directly to her work computor tommorrow So there.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 22:22
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 22:22
Blaze, before he went away Mr Lexic told me how Eliane had done the training course and was now retraining him. I expect Elaine will have to show him how to send messages to Mrs Garbutt and she will defy him for the sister-hood.
Reply By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:37
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:37
With an open invitation like that you may need to get a Vacancy/No vacancy
sign put up out the front LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:10
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:10
Kev,
I have visited the transit lounge, only once unfortunately, but it is hard to imagine Willem ever putting up a NO Vacancy
sign. I reckon he'd close off the front street and
camp you in the middle of the road before he'd turn you away.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 06:41
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 06:41
Hi Duncs
Yes and even though we lived relatively close to one another at that time we missed a chance to catch up. Now you are living in the Big Smoke again!!
Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:20
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:20
Geee! Thanks Willie. We'll be around your way
Melbourne Cup weekend. What time should we turn up? ;-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:24
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:24
Any time my furry friend and don't forget to bring your gorgeous wife with you
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:30
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:30
Remember a couple of weeks back someone mentioned a 4x4 record gathering and wanted someone to suggest a good meeting place , you know..... a good spot for all States to come together ....Ummm Errr ... Oh hello Willem Ow ya goin' mate .
Doug
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 06:43
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 06:43
Hmmmm yes...might fill the town up...lol Bring 'em on we need some activity here in the sticks.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:00
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:00
Thanks for the offer old fella, might just have to take you up on that offer at some stage for the future.
Oh, by the way, the offer is reciprocal
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:28
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:28
Yes. as long as donuts are involved all will be sweet....lol
Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:33
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 12:33
Thanks Willem, what time do you usually have dinner :)
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:27
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:27
Hello Ray
Last time you got an invite you missed the place all together...must've been an old GPS, eh? :-D
Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:29
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:29
I think his Toytrk broke down.
Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:20
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:20
Well Willem, I can now rename the waypoint on my GPS, much better to put it in as EO Transit Lounge than putting it is as Willam, Judith and Jedda's back yard. :-)
Judith's and your hospitality and knowledge are part of the reason why I believe you have had and will continue to have people dropping in.
Maybe EO should give you free
membership from now on to help cover the cost of all the coffee's and biscuits....LOL
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:32
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:32
OOOPS
WILLEM, Judith and Jedda's back yard.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 06:47
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 06:47
Hahahaha
Whats a coupla biscuits and the odd coffee between friends.
(PS I am already a Member till 2010 due to some research and Track Files uploaded)
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 08:07
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 08:07
G'day Bro, I hope you don't start calling that Life
Membership.
Blaze, I must say the hospitality there is better than Qantas Club, I have never had the welcome there that Jedda gives, let alone the one from Judith and Willem.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:55
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:55
G'day mate,
back
home now. guess i have to start planning a secret garden for the kids, can't top that beasley fountain though.
went via
loch lilly then
pooncarie, willandra etc. will get some trip reports up when i recover from the slap in the face of returning the burbs.
regrettably, i forgot to say a cheerio to Jedda, pls pass on my apologies.
thanks again and hopefully we can show you some hospitality in the new year.
kind regards,
Jeremy.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:22
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:22
G'day Jeremy
Pleased to hear you made it
home safely. How did you go with the rego...lol
Yeah hope to catch up over the New year period.
Jeddah says Woof No worries!!!!
Cheers and G'day to Natasha and the littlies.