Grab handle on 75 Series Toyota

Submitted: Thursday, May 22, 2003 at 23:49
ThreadID: 5080 Views:1708 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Has anyone installed a grab handle on the passenger side windscreen pillar of a 75 Series Troopie?

If so what method of fastening did you use? The driver's side has captive nuts and I would like to do similar on the passeneger side.

Reply By: Dozer - Friday, May 23, 2003 at 07:20

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 07:20
Unless im mistaken, there will be threads there for the lhd version. I put a handle on the 80 series-went straight on, but the Sahara has them both sides here aswell, so have a feel and if you can feal the holes, they will have threads in them.
AnswerID: 20829

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, May 23, 2003 at 09:04

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 09:04
gday errol.
pretty sure dozer is right.
just feel under the head lining oposite drivers side in the same position.looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
AnswerID: 20837

Reply By: andy - Friday, May 23, 2003 at 10:24

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 10:24
What country are you in???

If you are in Australia as far as I know all 75 series vehicles have a handle as standard equipment on the left hand side. I have owned 5 75 series troopys and utes and they all had a grab handle on the left. None had one on the right side. The left hand side had built in threads and some of the right hand sides had threads with caps to fill the holes up but no handles. If you have a feel around (on the roof lining that is) you may find some hidden threads but I cannot work out why they are not there (unless you have a left hand drive vehicle). The threads are usually just above the door or up high on the pillar. Good luck.
AnswerID: 20844

Follow Up By: Errol - Friday, May 23, 2003 at 12:16

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 12:16
Thanks. All of what you say is true. There is a handle on the LHS above the door but I'm wanting to put one on the actual windscreen pillar about half way up like on the driver's side to aid getting in and out.
FollowupID: 13431

Reply By: crfan - Friday, May 23, 2003 at 13:45

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 13:45
Errol I got some captive nut things off a mate to put gas stuts on the bonnet of my std 80 series.
You drill a hole push them in then screw a long bolt in with two nuts on it
then wind one nut down and holt the bolt from turning and it squashes up a bit like a pop rivet on the in side leaves a nice factory looking thread in the hole.
Dont know where he got them from ,
P
AnswerID: 20858

Follow Up By: Janset - Friday, May 23, 2003 at 15:23

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 15:23
Hi there.

Ask your mate where he got them from and how much they were. This kind of capture bolt setup has no end of applications.

FollowupID: 13454

Reply By: Member - Tony- Friday, May 23, 2003 at 18:08

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 18:08
Errol
The critters you are looking for are called nut serts and are available from most industrial hardware suppliers. They come in a range of sizes and have a special tool to insert them but a bolt and two nuts will work ok. Try any of the 4WD accessory fitters they use them for fitting 3" sports bars etc. as they usually come in bags of 50.The Ghost
AnswerID: 20879

Reply By: Member - Tony- Friday, May 23, 2003 at 18:10

Friday, May 23, 2003 at 18:10
Sorry, forgot to include that I have fitted a handle on the pillar so the girlie can getaboard, been there along time now, secret is to keep the screws tightThe Ghost
AnswerID: 20880