members age

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:00
ThreadID: 50800 Views:3513 Replies:8 FollowUps:25
Any couples out there 65 plus that still enjoy long term bush camping and extended trek's.

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:15

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:15
William

The ExplorOz Forum users are a varied lot from young single blokes and shielas to young families. The majority I would guess would be around the mid 40's to late 50's mark. There are a number of Senior Citizens(I won't dob them in though) including myself, who frequent this place.

Trouble is many senior travellers find it rather hard to get their senior partners to accompany them across the endless corrugations and spinifex to a destination unknown. Those with younger partners and casual skirt don't seem to have that problem...lol

There are a number of members here beyond the 70 mark who still enjoy their bush camping and extended adventures.

AnswerID: 267922

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:29

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 09:29
Willem,

Where do I find some of this casual skirt LOL

FollowupID: 530325

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:24

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:24
Kev, the casino on the Gold Coast has a bit of a reputation for that sort of thing, especially around Indy time. But there again, so does the Kirra pub, and the bus shelter across the road from Woolies.
Hard not to hear such things when my son is 25 and single:))
FollowupID: 530333

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:07

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:07
Hey, I'm with Kev - all the "casual skirt" I know want $200/hour...
Unless of course you can offer their electroscoots a free charge
FollowupID: 530365

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:31

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:31
Mr Fawlty , would love for you to elaborate on how you know that a bit of "casual skirt" wants / is $200 per hr and does Sybil have knowledge of your "casual skirt " dalliance ??
FollowupID: 530421

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:36

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:36
No doubt he's read about such things :))
FollowupID: 530423

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:36

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:36
Hey Kev, you're a young fella, eh? You should be able to sniff out a piece of casual skirt anywhere.......

Don't ask me....my printout says 'Best before 1993'!!!!!....LOL
FollowupID: 530475

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:40

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:40
I might only be a young fella but my body has had a hard life.

I may have to get Fawlty to hook me up LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530477

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:55

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:55
Actually the net is a Pandoras Box (pardon the pun - which was intended) to me. During my perambulations through it certain information does seem to litterally "pop up"! This is why I know what a casual piece of skirt costs. And actually the stats are staggering, 90% of all women will accept in their lifetime reward for provision of services and 99.9% of all males will pay for a bit of "casual skirt". So that means that as I am in the .1% that does not pay the rest of you blokes must be paying or telling untruths....

Just yesterday when some cretin stole my hearing aids, in the little silver box, off the tableau at the "Coffee Club" (assuming it was a cell phone I spose) I remarked to Sybil how attractive the Waitress was and she remarked " Basil, why do you think she would be interested in you, you don't have money!!! You really have no idea do you, what would any woman want with a worn out old nearly incontinent Veteran with PTSD" and my classic rejoinder "You're still here dear"

I can't wait to get put into a retirement village, I have a single old mate in one and they are full of single women who have outwhined their husbands and are happy to be seduced by any men at all...

Axel I think that was a Dorothy Dixer, even Mr Rudd knows how much "casual skirt" costs.... A lot more than @ the "Club 55" in Vung Tau in 1969 by the sounds of it.
FollowupID: 530484

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:31

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:31
Camping in a tent certainly gets more difficult as you get older, all the stooping down and having to go outside during the night etc. Not to mention the medicatrion one has to take along just in case. Driving long distances can become something for younger people as the eyes gat that 40+ glaze over em.

But that doesn't mean you can't enjoy it as much as a 20yo.

The most rowdy group I ever met were pensioners at Mataranka who'd been into the cooking sherry...had they been younger I would of thought 'where are your parents?'

Willems right about having to leave SWMBO at home. I don't think mine ever got over the first time she got her hair full of red dust and couldn't have a shower, about 30 years ago :))
AnswerID: 267928

Follow Up By: furph - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:52

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 10:52
The missus and I still enjoy getting out there, and although we have a van still use the swag (double) when poking about in more remote locations.
We have recently been outback working (as we do each season) without a care in the world.
Wife had both knees replaced 2 yrs. ago (both done together) and I have a leg with a bit of pipe support inside the bone.
I am now on the wrong side of 70, wife 5yrs. younger.
Will be living this lifestyle as long as the mobility/health hold out, in fact we are off bush on a 10 day fishing trip tomorrow.
furph
FollowupID: 530341

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:14

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:14
Was that in August 2005? I was at Mataranka and am a "pensioner" and we organised a "night in the pool" and it was FUN FUN FUN (even some "casual skirt around too)
Yep we geriatrics can and do enjoy ourselves but unlike 20 year olds we are somewhat circumspect in our enjoyment....
Oh it was Tawny Port not Sherry consumed as they do in the NT straight from the flagon....
FollowupID: 530367

Was that in August 2005? I was at Mataranka and am a "pensioner" and we organised a "night in the pool" and it was FUN FUN FUN (even some "casual skirt around too)
Yep we geriatrics can and do enjoy ourselves but unlike 20 year olds we are somewhat circumspect in our enjoyment....
Oh it was Tawny Port not Sherry consumed as they do in the NT straight from the flagon....
FollowupID: 530368

FollowupID: 530369

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:41

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:41
Bazil, relax. You're safe. It was in 91.
Sounds like the more things change.........
FollowupID: 530384

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:09

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:09
A lot of you old farts tend to repeat yourselves too.

FollowupID: 530432

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:33

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:33
We have to, cause you young farts are all deaf from yer ipods LOL
FollowupID: 530438

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:58

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:58
Thank GOD Footloose.... I am worried that some pictures taken at the even may appear on the web....
FollowupID: 530486

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:01

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:01
Bazil, shhhh! Your secret's safe with me, son.
FollowupID: 530488

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:13

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:13
I think it is all in the mind as I can't see the difference in enjoying bush camping whether your 18 or 80 providing you keep good health.I am close to 67 now and have just returned from a 4 month trip from Perth to Cape York and enjoyed every minute.Istill love my fishing and shooting and hope to do a trip every year as long as Ican save the pennies.I must admit I have graduated from a tent to a camper trailer but that keeps the wife happy and helps her enjoy more.Cheers and keep on camping!
AnswerID: 267948

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:04

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:04
65+ = spring chickens.....
AnswerID: 267958

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:20

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:20
Reading this thread and something else came to mind (as it does) and that is the current attitude of those under 30 to those over 30... A mate asked my advice re some resumes that had been submitted with a job application, the number of 25yo's that claimed to have "extensive life experience" "vast experience in this field" ad nauseum was amazing and it kind of angered me that these young kids recon they know it all.
Anyway the job went to a 42yo who did have some life experience and big boobs.
AnswerID: 267961

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:24

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:24
Were the life experiences or the big boobs real?? LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530373

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:39

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:39
Life experience doesn't respond to a plastic surgeon LOL
FollowupID: 530382

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:44

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:44
"big boobs"...any more positions available....in her department/area of course
FollowupID: 530394

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:48

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:48
Footy,

The plastic surgeon probably assisted in the development of big boobs due to her life experiences, Maybe she was an Officer in the Navy :))

Kev

FollowupID: 530396

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:46

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:46
goodday people
a friend of mine was talking to an older couple at rays a while ago (reckons around the 80 mark)who were looking at tents the caravanning life had got to hard hooking up and unhooking but because they loved travelling they were buying a tent so that they could keep on travelling

ps another mate went to bathurst this year and was telling me there was a bit of this casaul skirt working the grandstand mate was there early on saturday and was accosted with "do yuh wanna r%^&" he declined (or so he says )but the bloke he was with took up the offer he didnt say what the price was
AnswerID: 267986

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:23

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 18:23
Last August we were driving south on the Birdsville Track and camped at Cooper Creek 60kms south of Mungerannie. There was a howling dust storm. We set up our vans and I noticed a HiAce camper a bit further back with a couple who were a little older than me so I walked over to introduce myself, just to let them know that we were OK as it could be a little un-nerving for older people not knowing whether the "new folks" were goodies or baddies.
This couple would easily have been in their 70's if not older but the most striking thing was that they both had the most upper class British accents I had ever heard outside Buckingham Palace.
I can't imagine what sort of past lives they had but here they were, in the middle of a howling dust storm in the most out of way place possible, having the time of there lives. And they were obviously seasoned outback travellers.
I would have loved to chat for a while but there was so much dust we both retreated to our respective shelters. Shame. Should have invited them over.

AnswerID: 267993

Reply By: Member - William J (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:51
Thank you all the guys who replied to my question on aged campers. although some got side tract by skirt.
Iam pleased to hear there are still some oldie's enjoying life i am pushing 68 and my young wife 64 and we have been bush camping and exstended trek's for best part of twenty years. We have always travelled alone but we thought we would ask that question about oldie's because every one we ask over 60 say they cant do without a proper bathroom or leave the or the cat,it goes on!!!!!

By the way we hav,nt gone to a tent to keep going longer we have up graded from a 4.2 turbo Nissen to a Isusu NPS 300 4x4 camper.

And a final though i still like skirt and know what to do with it just ask my wife.

Love to meet some of those oldi's it beats putting your slippers on and waiting to die. Thanks again for the repllies.
AnswerID: 268017

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:46

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:46
William

I hope to push the envelope till there is no more give. If the inevitable happens then I do hope it is somewhere out in the spinifex somewhere......just perch me up in a Desert Oak and I will be happy.

Have a look at my website [url=http://www.kempen.id.au] to see what sort of adventures we oldies get up to these days.

FollowupID: 530482

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:48

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:48
Hmmmm that link didn't work.
FollowupID: 530483

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:06

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:06
Yes William it certainly is better than waiting to die. I'll trade the Jack & Gin Palace in a few years and buy a motorised Gin Palace when the hitching etc beats me. Willem is right too, I'd really like to just pass away doing something I like (some casual 20 year old skirt would do it). Can you pay afterwards? That would be the ultimate way to go, cark it in the act and have some floozie demanding her fee from Sybil...
FollowupID: 530492

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:36

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:36
Willem
FollowupID: 530503