Motor bikes across Simpson

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:23
ThreadID: 50804 Views:3923 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
A relative (!) has asked me help him organise a bike ride across the Simpson - probably 3 or 4 riders. While I have crossed the desert 7 times in a 4WD I have no experience with bikes.
Any ideas or comments to get me started.
Thanks.
Keith

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:33

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 11:33
A mate of mine did it last year. His report is here
AnswerID: 267938

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:21

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:21
Hi Keith
The first thing that your relative need to do, is to start sand training if they haven't ridden in sand before. The bikes travel at a far greater pace than we do in our 4X4's. A friend on mine did it a couple of years ago, and said that his body was still suffering from the effects of a real work out 3 months later. Be prepared for many spills and possible broken bones.

I asked if he would ride it again, and said that his next trip will behind the wheel of his four wheel drive.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 267950

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:33

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:33
Hi Keith

(Liked that report in Wombat's link)

Planning to do that from Birdsville next year when I get to sixty.

Week or so ago I posted about trailer design and couplings.

Our experience on bikes and 4wds has lead us to take a different approach.

Essentially we plan to take lighter bikes (Crf 230 and two honda Xr400's), and plan to minimize fuel loads.
Will be supported by the 4wds and have a plan such that if a bike fails it will be put back on the bike trailer I am building for the event.

Phyiscal fitness and common sense is a prime requirement and we expect people from 17-60 years old..
Some others wish to come with us and I will be doing a trial run around one of our local Victorian desserts to ensure everyone understands what they are getting into.

Sand riding requires a lot of concentration, and a bike with a relatively long wheelbase to assist stability.

As you know its a straight run east to west and we will always have a car at lead and one at the tail, such that lead car may go ahead up to 20km and stop whilst waiting for the pack to follow.

I.E. Trip will be done in short 1hr sections, with rests, and no progression until everyone reaches current check point.
Days will be short , 9am - 3pm and am planning on 4 days to cross.

Even so each bike rider will require a pack of very basics which will
allow them to survive a couple of days by themselves, this will include compass ,water,food, decent cb handheld, space blankett etc which will pack to around 5 kg.

AnswerID: 267953

Follow Up By: prado-wolf - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:58

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:58
Hi Robin,

just scrolling through some of the older posts and found yours.
I just did the Sipmson east to west 2 weeks ago for the second time and i have one more dream and that is to do it a third time on a bike so i was wondering whether you definately will attempt it next year and whether you would be interested in an additional person to join you on that trip.

I would have the same idea as you , a KTM 450 or similar , no luggae, no fuel etc, all in my support vehicle.

Let me know if you are interested and we can discuss by email.

all the best in any case.
FollowupID: 530837

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 14:31

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 14:31
Hi Prado-Wolf

Understand, I will be happy to do it once only - even if I ride half the distance and drive the other half.

The plan is certainly real and proceeding even though its early days and its parameters could change - think there a 4 vehicles at the moment and room for 1 or 2 more but we wont be having a big crowd.

To ensure success we will plan for departure in either june/sept school holidays 1st week with choice based on weather.

Just picked up an XR400 for $1500 with a shot piston/cylinder to do up and trailer is underway.

Much of our planning and checking out will happen from our 4wd property at Yarck which is a couple of hours from Bendigo but might work out that you could check things out before end of year which is when we plan to have final details and go-ahead.

FollowupID: 530843

Follow Up By: prado-wolf - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 14:56

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 14:56
Hi Robin,

if you are fair dinkum about it , i would be in for one more crossing.
I am located about 45 min south of Bendigo so that is no problem for me and i would like to meet with you and the others to see whather we are on the same wave lenght.

We have done one crossing in August which was very good and one as i said two weeks ago which was dam hot and hard.

i would like to go earlier in the season to get cooler whether and a slightly harder sand.

In my case it would be me and most likely my brother and one support vehicle with my wife. One or two bikes , not sure yet , we might share the riding.email me wolfgang.siedenburg@xprs.com.au
FollowupID: 530846

Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:16

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:16
Having driven across many times on all the different routes, and having helped quite a few bike riders fix things, top up water bottles etc you have to be very fit, bikes have to be very durable and as light as possible.
The desert has claimed a few bike riders don't undereitimate it. The worst thing you can do is try to rush it, allow more time than you need for the crossing.
AnswerID: 267970

Reply By: TD100 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:51

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:51
Hi all,somewhere across the dunes is a cross and plaque of some unfortunate bloke on a bike who met his maker when a 4wd(i think)came over a dune and landed on him?sorry to to put a damper on it but you have to be aware of every one and thing going on around you.maybe try 4wd tours australian outback adventures they organise bike and 4wd trips thru the simpson.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 268031

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 07:55

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 07:55
Just one little observation. I note most of the experienced guys travel up the dunes off the track, so when they crest the dune there is no chance of a collision, they then rejoin the track for the descent. Not sure what Dept of Environment thinks of this practice, but it seems a safe option.
AnswerID: 268081

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 08:04

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 08:04
Now that sounds like common sense David - so its probably banned.

FollowupID: 530555

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 13:03

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 13:03
Somewhere - can't find it now, they say you're allowed within 50m of the track on either side, and certainly for safety reasons.

The tops of the dunes are pretty mobile, so damage is usually pretty minimal anyway. They are probably not going to be happy riding through spinifex or even acacia, so I suspect everything is fine with them - not sure I'd ask permission, because sometimes it is to seek denial.

If you crest a dune and meet the ranger just be nice - you were off track because he was coming ;-)

Andrew.
FollowupID: 530839

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 11:42

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 11:42
Andrew,

I haven't botherd looking it up, but I think the 50m rule applies due to the need to find a camp. Not sure it applies to cresting dunes, though I agree 100% with your recommendation. Better to avoid a head on. The bikes don't seem to leave much of a track anyway, could be something to do with the fact that they hardly ever touch the ground. :-)

Thank God the Simpson is still one place where you can have hundreds of people camping and not all be on top of each other. Thanks to the authorities for a common sense "camp anywhere within 50 metres of the track" rule. I dread the day when there are designatd camp sites. Of course from Mt Dare to Purni Bore there are, but the rest of the desert operates on a camp where you can basis....I digress yet again

FollowupID: 531019

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 11:31

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 11:31
Mate of mine did it few yrs back, the article was in ADB (he works for them).
He said it was one of the hardest treks he has done in his 35+yrs of riding/enduros.

Would be worth contacting Aust Dirtbike Maggo for the article... if not, I can ask Waz if he has the article still.
AnswerID: 268114

Follow Up By: Member - Keith B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:28

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:28
Thanks everyone for your responses. As usual this forum has proven to be a wealth of good ideas and information.
If this bike trip gets off the ground I will let you know what happens.
Thanks again everyone.
Keith
FollowupID: 530614

Reply By: Hoyks - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:44

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:44
I saw a good idea for towing a bike without a trailer.

It was a piece of channel that fitted into the towball sleeve with a short section sticking out the sides. It sat up a bit higher than the tow hitch, so as not to effect departure angle.

Anyway, the front wheel was sat in the channel and the wheel tied/strapped down to the channel and the out riggers used to give it stability. Then all you do is stick the bike in neutral or remove the chain the drive away.

It can also be done by strapping the front wheel under the tray of a ute, if you don't have room on board.

Sounds complicated, but easy enough to do and better than leaving the bike behind.
AnswerID: 268304

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:54

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:54
Is a good idea Hoyks

We have tried a variation in which a channel was fitted to the back of a 60 series cruiser and the channel was hinged and folded out like a cruiser spare wheel carrier.

Worked well (with handlebars sort of removed) , but 120kg load out the back needed springs and shockers to compensate.

Love to do it this time on our patrol , but we will have 3 bikes in tow.

FollowupID: 530900

Reply By: pheonix61 - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:48

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 21:48
Just did the Simpson in September with my daughter driving the Landcruiser.Over the last three years I (I,m 56) have done 1 crossing and 2 double crossings. This ride is more fun than a barrel full of monkeys. I leave the trailer at Birdsville ride to Mt. Dare ,service the bike(s)and head back. MY fuel consumption (Yam WR250F) was 14.1 K/L and last year my son on his KTM 520 got about 8K/L. The riding is relatively easy as long as you have ridden sand before (you will master it in a few hours.) It is a lot easier than the sand tracks of the Big Desert area of northern Victoria.For safety sake always stay in radio range of the support car, who should radio ahead regularly. This also gives you plenty of rests.Where possible, ride the original track straight over the dunes, and not the north loop chicken runs. I,ve met 2 vehicles on the dune crest, one had no radio and the other I think was not listening.This year, without going hell for leather, we did Mt. Dare to Birdsville in 2 days , daughters are organised in the mornings and our spare day in Birdsville was 41.Make sure you do the trip.
AnswerID: 268676

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:14

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:14
Hi Phoneix

Sounds like you have had a lot of fun with the family doing that.

Have ridden Vic dessert stuff a bit on my CRF230 and it sounds like you would expect fuel consumption per bike to be less in the Simpson.

We have planned on taking 60lt per bike which ought to do it unless we are into KTM 520's , and thanks for advice about riding original tracks straight over.
Haven't thought much about it but one probably can't do much with a flag on a bike , but perhaps bright coloured vest may help.

FollowupID: 531659