Spare Parts Prices

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 13:59
ThreadID: 50809 Views:2482 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Called into the local Yota/Nissan dealer today to get a replacement indicator that fits into the Aluminium Bullbar.
The guy behind the counter says that he doesn't have a Toyota one but next door (Nissan) will have one that is identical to what I want. No worries says I. He calls the bloke in Nassan spare parts and asks him to bring one over. 30 seconds later he's there. Checks on the computor for the financial hardship that will occur and prompty says bleep e thats dear. $50.00. Checks the Yota price list and it's $38.00 and will have one in on Thursday. I'll be back in my best Swatzeneger impersonation. I also didn't want to devalue the car with Nissan parts either LOL
Both parts are identical except one is in a bag with a Toyota label and one in a bag with a Nissan label. Both dealerships are owned by the same people so it must be a Nissan thing that makes the parts so expensive.
Makes you wonder though.

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:20

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:20
YADG
sed , yas ot tahw wonk t'nod tsuj I llew

YRBZUM

AnswerID: 267962

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:27

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 14:27
.ti dais tsuj uoy kniht I
FollowupID: 530376

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:17

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:17
you just wait......the spelling nazi will get you soon..lol

Reiner
FollowupID: 530417

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:27

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:27
For goodness sake - pls check that your keyboard is eht thgir yaw dnuor erofeb uoy trats gnipyt.
FollowupID: 530419

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:28

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:28
mitsi has em too as does gitsham
aint they only a after market fitting ..eg hella or similar...aint the bars fabricated here in oz by whoever is cheapest using aussie souced materials

but i do agree about not devaluing your yota
AnswerID: 267972

Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:36

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 15:36
Des Lexic,
If its a OEM toyota bar get in touch with ECB, I think they make the Toyota ones.

Rob
AnswerID: 267973

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:32

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:32
Nissan parts are always dearer because they stay on the shelves longer and value add as the years go by.......:-D

AnswerID: 267976

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:37

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:37
LOL and BS
It's just a 33% extra rip off.
FollowupID: 530409

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:45

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:45
Are you having a sickie, slipped away from work early, or are you on the Govt Computer......:-)))))

My mate and I have just remodelled the steering lock on the GQ this arvo after ignition stuff went pear shaped again. Bloody Nissans....lol
FollowupID: 530410

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:51
You mean you lost the key again ol' fella?
FollowupID: 530452

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:04

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 20:04
No nothing so mundaner, young fella. New keys, rooted lock.
FollowupID: 530456

Reply By: Geoff M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:45

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 16:45
Hey Des, even at the $50 you were doing OK.

Had a 2001 Hilux with a TJM steel bar and cracked an indicator lens. Went down to my friendly (not) TJM store at Coopers Plains and got the "that will be $72.00 plus GST for the pair of them ..... sorry, but they are only sold in pairs".

After getting the same from 2 other TJM's I went home and super glued it back together and have never (and will never) buy another thing from TJM again.

AnswerID: 267981

Follow Up By: age - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:50

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:50
Geoff M

I think you have been touched. Last 2 trucks had TJM bars and needed to change bulbs in indicator on both over time. Nut retaining plastic housing on back of unit had fatigued and only way to get lens off was to destroy whole unit. On both occassions mentioned this to TJM as a major design fault (that I was required to buy a pair of $72 indicators to change one $2 bulb) and they sent me a free whole complete new set each time - great customer service. Noticed on the latest cruiser the set up is different, but now I take the nuts off and put white grease on them.

A
FollowupID: 530425

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:46

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:46
Age, I hear what you're saying, but I would've been "touched" if I had of paid them their ludicrous prices. $35.00 each was bad enough, but to try and force one to buy 2 at a time! I think that was a little over the top.

One shouldn't have to "mention it" to get "great customer service". "Great customer service" is when it's their SOP (Standard Operating Procedure).

I have a firm conviction that if I'm treated badly, then I vote with my wallet.

Case in point ....... sold the Hilux and bought a 120 Prado. Went to ARB and purchased a colour coded winch bar, Rhino rack, 40mm lift OME springs and shocks, Black Widow draw system and tow bar. All up over $6k and didn't give TJM a sniff of my business.

So for a measly $72.00, they lost over $6000.00!

FollowupID: 530449

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:25

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 17:25
goodday des
its probably because nissan parts are made tougher just ask lucy
lmao

AnswerID: 267985