Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 19:33
Member - Peter D M
g'day all
i had my rodeo power steering pump replaced under warranty at 50,000 km, now at 85,000 km looks like another one is on the way out. my dealer, who i am more than happy with said that there may be a problem with a second claim as this is a $1200 repair.
just wondering if this is a common fault or maybe my bad luck or my maybe even my poor driving skills.
regards peter
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:31
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 21:31
You'll have to come clean and tell him about the 40" muddies you put on, then turn from lock to lock while stationary :)
Don't let them try and
bluff you with a "second claim" furphy. Whatever pump they put in last time is fully warranted until the end of the original 3 yrs/100000ks.
Are you sure they put a new one in, as they are legally entitled to put a second hand or rebuilt one in that they think will make it to 100,000k.
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 07:50
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 07:50
Hi Peter,
Stating the obvious here but I don't see why you would have a problem with a second claim for the same item. If it's faulty again then it's faulty.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 08:15
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 08:15
g'day leroy,
i agree but the dealer says unless this is a common problem, holden may say that the owner is at fault.
i did some
water crossings recently so maybe
water is a factor as i wash the engine regularly as
well.
regards peter
ps. leaving friday for the 5 hour drive and the annual 10 days on the island
Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 11:23
Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 11:23
Pete with the TF Rodeos and the twin drive belt set-up the psteer pump will very quickly destroy itself if the belts are the tiniest bit too tight. I believe similar setup with the RA?
What is the actual problem? is it leaking out the front seal?? Watch out if the front bearing goes they can throw the pully and drive shaft into the radiator!!
I have over the years of owning the Isuzu engines replaced a few pumps and if they dont destroy themselves are usually only about $150 to rebuild. There is nothing to them.
If Holden want to replace it and pay $1200 then thats their silly problem not yours...there is no such thing as a second claim void!!
Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:45
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:45
thanks matt for your input.
the same as last time the pressure overide is starting to howl even when not under load.
regards peter
Reply By: Dion - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 15:46
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 15:46
I have had the 6 stacker CD player in my '05 RA LT replaced twice now, no questions asked, both under warranty.
I explained the problem to Holden when I take the ute in for it's servicing, and they say no problem, we will replace that for you. Even the second time, it was not too much trouble, different defect with different symptoms. A 6 stacker is not something they generally hold, however they have on both occasions got a new replacement unit in within a week of being presented with the problem.
(if the bloody thing goes again, I'll ask for a single disc player like the LX has, to be put in)
Dion.
Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:48
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:48
thanks dion,
i am not expecting a problem but as i also need a front end rack replaced $3000 plus. thought i'd see if this was a common problem with the steering pump.
regards peter.