Landcruiser axle nuts question..........
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:32
Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124
Drove my HJZ Trayback to the Airport yesterday and on take off at a petrol station one clonk and it didn't go any more. On closer inspection I found the studs that hold the rear drive axles in had all broken off and I could just pull the axle out and in.
Never seen this before. Not hard to repair but why would that happen?
My woman said it's because it knows I bought a Nissan...lol
Reiner
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:10
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:10
Wheel bearings or incorrect torque settings on the studs seem to be the most common causes.
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:59
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 18:59
People hit the out side of the axle and make the hole the cone goes into out of round. They do this to pop the cones to get the axle out. No matter how tight you do them up they bed in and come loose again, after that is only a matter of time till the studs shear off.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:34
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:34
Hi Squizzy,
Just to clarify that; are you saying that if the axle needs to come out to work on the diff, for instance, then studs that shear off are inevitable?
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:25
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:25
Nope. Saying that if you bash the outside of the axle and distort the conical holes there is far a more likely chance that they will come loose. Next to keys locked in cars and flat tyres and not able to change them, loosing axle studs up here is fairly common, Usually city cars that dont have the problem untill they are used hard, ie mud or rock hills, towing vans on the gibbor canning.
Sometimes they are that badly distorted that we end up replacing the axle.
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:27
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:27
The other trick is to drill and add two more dowels to each axle. That is what I did to my own 61.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:51
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 07:51
Interesting info; Thanks for that :-))
Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:22
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:22
Over size tyres also contribute as
well as auto locker diffs, lots of little impacts eventually loosen them and then clunk as you found.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:58
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:58
Your woman is a smart one :) All of above, most probably wheel bearings loose, axle holds wheel, axle studs stretch then snap...
Poor old 75 in with the new, out with the old....
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 09:27
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 09:27
Reiner
I too have had that happen, I just drove it home 2klm on the left wheel and fixed it , easy-outs, new stud kit, new axle seal , After I put it all back together I put 3 spot welds , make sure you if you do this you add
water immediately to cool it so the gasket and seal do not melt, that was about 18 months back , it has since been to the
Simpson Desert , and towed a Van across Australia, I also carry an angle grinder 650w so if the need be I can remove the spots to extract an axle,
WARNING ...do make the spots too high or you won't get the wheel on .
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 09:34
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 09:34
Bloody keyboard
here's the word NOT
do NOT make the spots too high or you won't get the wheel on
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:56
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:56
Doug,
How often do you regrease the rear wheel bearings? Wouldn't you have to grind the welds off each time?
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 06:57
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 06:57
Probably same period as you , or do you do yours every 3 or 4 months , Phil it's just a little bit of weld , a grinder can have it off in less time it takes to undo the stud nuts , How often do you do yours , ????? It is a way of solving a problem , lubrication is a different issue and can be bealt with when required, I have heard some say have the holes drilled out to take the same size as the 79 series , I don't think that is an ideal method because the width between the edge of the hole and the outside edge of the hub is made less thus could weaken the whole thing , There would be no doubt better ways to fix the problem costing lots of dollars, my way is cheap and it works ,
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:45
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:45
Hi doug,
I've had friends with the stud problem on 80series, and wondered about what we'd do if it happened out in the bush. But your idea of putting some weld on it sounds like a good bush repair.
I do my bearings in March/April each year, before any desert trips - I do about 20-25,000k per year - the vehicle lives in the garage when I'm not away.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:51
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 18:51
There are 1000s of vehicles out there that have over 500,000 Ks and never had bearings looked at , I had a EK 1962 Holden that had a w/b on the way out , I picked up the noise only after I got onto the Canning Freeway in
Perth 1967 , I continued onto
Darwin and then to
Adelaide , noise still there , no worse but replaced the whole axle/bearing from a wreckers a few months later , .
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:57
Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 20:57
Gday Doug,
Those 1000's don't do what I do. So I don't do what they do :-)
I guess yearly bearing servicing is a habit after owning many Landcruisers since the FJ55 20 years ago.
My vehicle is only used on trips and many are remote - desert trips, high country, sand, beach, etc etc. By servicing the bearings in March/April, I eliminate the
water from the summer High Country trips, and ensure everything is fine when I'm 4 days from anywhere on the
Madigan Line or Great Vic Desert or wherever in the winter.
Sorry, but I've seen Troopies stranded in the middle of deserts by rear wheel bearing failures. Last time was 2003 - 1994 troopie with 200k on the clock stranded near the gum tree in the
Simpson Desert because he didn't maintain his bearings. We had a spare set and fixed them for him. Otherwise he would have been forking out $3000+ for
Birdsville Autos to fetch him.
If I only used my vehicle on bitumen and gravel, then I'd probably extend the interval.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 10:36
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 10:36
Bent axle will do it as
well. Unless you are fixing it yourself it is cheaper to get a s/h hub than pay for the labour of removing the suds
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 10:46
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 10:46
Just coz your at the airport, don't try to take off in a ute... they are not made to fly.
Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:24
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:24
Obviously didn't check the pr-flight check list.
Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:24
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:24
Obviously didn't check the pre-flight check list.
Reply By: Pavo - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 11:38
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 11:38
Happened to my younger brothers ute also. The 4wd service centre that fixed it said they get lots of those jobs - BHP bringing them in all the time apparantly - axle in hand, driven in on front wheel drive (I think this is what he said - it was a few years ago).
As an aside, he also said he carries the spares to be able to repair in the bush on his own car. Not easy outs, but I think a whole hub he said to me because that would be easier to do. I'm not a mechanic, so I could be wrong.
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:02
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:02
Thanks for all the replies :-) Just been to Toyota and got the studs and cone washers for both sides. $180 for a handful of bolts,washers and nuts. Hmmmmmm
Reiner
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:16
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 12:16
You can get a second hand hub for that.
Check it out.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: apriti00 - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 13:22
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 13:22
Reiner,
I broke all the studs on one axle while slipping on some large steps with the locker engaged, ended up changing the lot to the 100 series ones which are bigger. A bit more work but much stronger.
Walter
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 14:11
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 14:11
Reiner,
Toyota upsized the studs from 8mm to 10mm with the 78/79/100series.
I've heard of people replacing with the bigger studs/nuts/cones, but I'd assume you'd have to drill out and cut a new 10mm thread in each.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 19:04
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 19:04
wonder how long a 10mm stud is going to last with the new V8 giving them the treatment?
Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:53
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:53
Axle, I reckon the studs are now stronger than the crownwheel :-))
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:16
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:16
Hi Reiner,
You'll find the most common cause with the 75series is overloading. Our underground cruisers used to do it quite often because they are over loaded with mining bolts and given a flogging over rough roads...hence someone else mentioned earlier the BHP utes coming in with them all the time. You mighten have been overloaded at the time they broke but they could have been weakened at some earlier stage and finally given up the ghost as you put them under load taking off from the lights. If it keeps happening then it might be something more severe like bent axle housing........$$$$$$$$$. Hope for your sake its not and its only a once off.
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:29
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:29
Thank you for your reply Hughesy, I replaced all the rear studs today and the car is running fine. I did the good side too just in case. I think the car had a hard life before I bought it 3 years ago.
I have replaced pretty much all steering and
suspension bits in the time I owned the car.
Reiner
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:33
Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 22:33
If I was keeping the Landcruiser I would be welding the plates as
well as bolting. My HJ47 never had problems like that in over 20 years but it looks like they had the same setup.
Reiner