Camper Trailers and CSR

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:24
ThreadID: 50885 Views:2945 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
I'm interested in others' experiences with camper trailers on the Canning, and in particular, how your faired with fuel consumption and problems with the dunes. We drive a 4.2lt turbo Troopy, and are planning a trip in June 08.

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:33

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 20:33
John,

I'll watch this with interest. We did the CSR - S to N - in August and came across 3 x Kimberley Kampers, an Ultimate and a Track Trailer all heading S north of Well 46. I expect they made it through but wonder how they went for fuel and over the dunes between 40 to 45.

AnswerID: 268329

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:57

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:57
I wonder how the poor b..tards following them went after the dunes were well and truely chopped up.
FollowupID: 530920

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 23:02

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 23:02
Ian,

With all due respect mate more damage is done to tracks and dunes by clowns in overloaded vehicles who refuse to reduce tyre pressures and insist on travelling at 1000mph everywhere they go than by people towing trailers.

Responsible use of your vehicle no matter what it is will reduce it's impact on any environment.

FollowupID: 530937

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 00:12

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 00:12
ditto Duncs.
FollowupID: 530946

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 04:49

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 04:49
Go Dunc,

A good call !

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 530951

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:13

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:13
Ian H , what is better for the dunes / track even the blacktop ?
4 tonnes spread over 6 wheels or 4 tonnes spread over 4 wheels ?? answer is simple really ,
FollowupID: 530975

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:34
Hi there Axel - I thought you'd say 4 tonnes spread over 3 axles or 4 tonnes spread over 2 axles ;-)

But that said 2 axles driven well or 3 axles driven well make a lot less mess of dunes and track than 2 axles driven badly or 3 axles driven badly.

Just sit and watch on Big Red one busy day - it is kW, high tyre pressures and hot heads that make the most mess whereas my low pressures and low power 1HZ (and trailer) might not look as spectacular but does the job needed with low impact.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 530986

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:54

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:54
Andrew , I know its Friday funnies day but my name is Axel , not axle , have heard all the jokes at least a million times , and could not agree more with the pro trailer brigade than the overloaded rev heads chewing up the dunes / tracks , as an aside to correct tyre pressure and driving style page 207 of the 4wd action mag issue 112 , not the Kingswood should be compulsory reading for all ,, lol.
FollowupID: 530988

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:55

Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:55
Good call Andrew !

$ 80,000 ,,,,200 kw "chipped up" 78 series Landcruiser Ute, diff locks, everything else you could poke a stick at,, and continuously got bogged on Big Red, last year,,(12 attempts,, If I recall correctly)

I did it first go with about 14 psi tyre pressure, in our Navara,,,but been there before.

There was a Subaru Forrester, with 15 psi in his tyres,, 3 rd go, and conquered it,, would have done it on his 2nd attempt, but shyte himself, and dabbed the clutch near the top.

blokes in cruiser ute almost broke down and cried

hehehehehehehehehehe

By the way I recon will take the Trak Shak across the Canning.

May need a litle help, but I hope not,, wanna get thru, and I should, with a bit of common sence.

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 531749

Reply By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:58

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 21:58
Hi John

We ran 16 psi in the patrols tyres, 12 in the T-Van what sand hills ?????????? We did not get bogged at all, even on the way out to the Calvert ranges. Good Suspension right tyre pressures & good steady driving is all that is need to taclke the CSR..
Some will say otherwise, Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 268350

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 23:51

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 23:51
In sand I run my tyres at 15-18psi on the GQ and the trailer
8 -12psi.

Have tackled lots of dunes and cross country this way in the Simpson, the Gibson and the Great Sandy Deserts and including some of the CSR.

Take it easy and lower your tyre pressures to suit.

My diesel uses around 18 to 20l/100km in this type of terrain with the 800kg trailer hanging off the back

AnswerID: 268371

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:21

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 08:21
John,
Your TD troopie is the right vehicle. We were up there in August, and one of our group had a TVan behind his TD Troopie. He had zero issues, but he is a very experienced traveller and took a minimalist approach, so wasn't overloaded, and runs nice low pressures.

But we were only on the CSR from well 33 down. Heading south (against the flow of traffic) looked to be the easiest way - the southern side of the dunes are very chopped up, northern sides are not.

Fuel consumption was hard to gauge on the actual Canning because we were ducking in and out, but my HDJ79 travelled from Newman to Wiluna on Standard tanks (1180km), having used 160 litres. The HDJ78 towing the TVan was only using 5-10% more than my loaded 79series. I would bank on 15-16 l/100k for your vehicle pulling a trailer provided you were taking it easy, but obviously, you'd take extra. The community at well 33 was a little irregular with diesel availability this year.
AnswerID: 268403

Reply By: Robsoff - Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:59

Saturday, Oct 27, 2007 at 08:59
We did the CSR and Calverts in July. I towed a Camprite with my 100Td cruiser, my cousin towed a Jayco(yes for real and it is modified!) with his Patrol and there were 3 more Cavaliers towed by others. At no stage did we get bogged, stuck or cut up the the track. Let the tyres down, drive well and you should have no dramas. We had 2 punctures from wayward sticks and some gear "left" the back of a dual cab when the tailgate fell open, that was it. We had an excellent time, the kids loved it, did heaps of walking and all was great.

My advice, go over your vehicle and trailer and ensure it is all in tip top condition, take some spares and welding gear and just get out and do it. I have towed a trailer or camper all over the country and never really had any dramas.

I took 4 jerry cans plus 4 plastic 20l containers of diesel plus a full tank(leaving from Neds creek station through the Carnarvon ranges) again, drive sensibly and fuel usage is not too bad. Yes the dunes take a bit of extra juice but we basically "cruised" the whole time.

Have fun , Rob
AnswerID: 268584

Reply By: Member - John N (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:34

Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:34
Thanks to all for your contributions. It is always handy to talk with people who have been there.
AnswerID: 268713