Who makes them PCs
Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:29
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:29
PC Means- Please Chaps
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:37
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:37
Ptaszek
I thought it might have a very fast and Powerful Personal Computer, That if I had the money I would have no hesitation about getting , I think if you got one too it would be a damn good investment and give you many many 1000s of hours enjoyment , Something your mates will drool over ,
Ptaszek.....Got the hint yet ...go for it
Doug
Reply By:- Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:16
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:16
It would be nice to have some constructive feed back,but maybe thats toooo much to ask.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:37
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:37
There was quite a number at the Melb 4x4 show this weekend all looked really good with the new bar work and accessories fitted by ARB and TJM etc.
Even though they are 300 mm shorter than the Troopy they still had heaps of room in the back in my view.
And by all accounts posted on here the new V8 is a brilliant thumper.
Reply By: Allan JJ - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 20:53
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 20:53
A mate up the road has got one.
He is as happy as a pig in bleep
I had a drive and the engine is pretty sweet.
Not has big as I thought it would be, as others have said it is shorter and the roof is not as high as the troopy!
If you are after a no frills truck it might be what you are after.
It doesn't have factory twin
tank option like the other cruisers though and I think there is a fair wait for them.
Follow Up By: Allan JJ - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:02
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:02
Someone change my word to a "bleep"
my mate is going to fit a couple of things including a larger
tank for outback touring. Here is a link, it also has a neat looking truck with ARB gear
here
Follow Up By: Ptaszek - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:05
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:05
I will have a look on the video later on, but 166 liters sounds much better that the original one. Do you know how much for a
tank by itself ???
Thanks for a reply
Ptaszek
Follow Up By: Allan JJ - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:30
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:30
Nope
Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:17
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:17
A vastly over priced, under optioned vehicle according to 4wd Monthly. Lack of currently expected options such as airbags or auto trans.
Apparently a very capable unit, but a lot of money for a very old design (other than the motor).
I've not driven one so cannot comment further.
Being a Toyota I'm sure people will buy it.
Follow Up By: Ptaszek - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:15
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 00:15
Over priced - true, air bags and auto trans .... I would not put them in there any way, just one more think to go wrong. Some mechanic told me that the new models are not as strong as they use to be, but the first question would be engine. Old 4.2 could go forever but new electronic toys ??? Even made by Toyota ?
I have met some guy on the
Oodnadatta Track with previous PC and he told me that on the corrugation chips in the computer slide out and only help from somebody else could make him move again ...How is electronics in this big eight ??
Follow Up By: Ptaszek - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:25
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:25
As I wrote yesterday about auto trans and air bags, that one think, but air con for extra money .... this is realy a joke ...
Ptaszek
Reply By: Allan JJ - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:28
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 21:28
Also heard of the valley filling up with
water (there are drains which got blocked) then it somehow buggered the the starter I think. Has anyone found the starter yet!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:39
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 23:39
To coin an old famous adage!!
Please explain??
Follow Up By: Allan JJ - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:59
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 06:59
after goiing through a water crossing the intake on the bonnet allowed dirty water to run down into the vallel of the engine.
The water can sit there forever and it caused a problem with the starter motor in this instance.
The problem was not intsant, but surfaced some several days after, when the car would not start.
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:11
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 08:11
Folks,
Heard from an auto sparky in the Isa, that he had heard it takes 2 days to remove/replace the starter motor, that is conveniently situated in the valley.
If the water situation is as Allan says, then maybe they better fit a crank handle!!!
Starting to see a few appearing in west Qld. Got passed by one that must have been doing 140 clicks, and left my 6 cyl turbo in it's wake, and I was doing 110.
Hooroo...
Follow Up By: Allan JJ - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:35
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:35
To top it off I believe toyota did not cover the warranty on replacing the starter.
And a large bill was presented.
Follow Up By: Ptaszek - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:22
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:22
I have read review in "Overlander", that when you reach 40 kliks you can use 5-th gear and forget about all the others for the rest of the journey. That sounds good, but that starter motor .....
3 years ago I could by original Japs Prado with 3 litters TD for 14 K, but I got scared because of lack of spare parts .... 6 months later I got 1997 300Tdi Discovery .... Till now I'm banging my head against the wall .....
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:25
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:25
Thats interesting / good info on the starter motor issue.
Reply By: Allan JJ - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:44
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 17:44
On that link to the longranger tank, did anyone see the video of it being fitted.
Follow Up By: Ptaszek - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:09
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:09
I will look tonight ... But the story about starter motor .... Veeery impressive ....
Thanks for all the reply's
Ptaszek
Follow Up By: Allan JJ - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:43
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 19:43
As just about all cars have something which goes wrong, I am not sure it should be something that should decide a purchase with as you can easily make like a "car bra" to cover the intake when traversing water. But a little surprising to have this happen so soon non the less.
There is a high likely hood that half the members here have not had water over there bonnet anyway. allthough I am sure there will be some vocal ones which have.
And yes the engine can pull from down low.
Follow Up By: Ptaszek - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:20
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 23:20
seen it ... It looks like 1.5 hour job and very easy .... OK. First find the money for the car and the next step bigger tank ... When is the next lotto draw ???