Submitted: Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 10:40
Jimbo Vic
Derek,
You seem to be developing some innovative products. How feasible would it be to attach an alternator to a portable exercise bike to recharge
camping batteries. No noise, no need for sun and a bit of good exercise.
Or am I dreaming? Would it be too hard for the human body to pedal hard enough to turn over an alternator fast enough to generate a reasonable amount of power?
ATB,
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:22
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:22
I'm not Derek, but from my memory of the bicycle dynamo days, it would take a petty good bit of pedalling to light up much more than a torch globe. Recharging the batteries could take a couple of weeks of hard pedalling...
The exercise would be very good! In an hour you'd burn about 300-400 calories, which you could replenish with a couple of stubbies if you didn't want to lose weight as
well.....
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:31
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:31
I get the point, but those old dynamos were just running off the tyre. 99% of the pedalling effort was to propel the pushbike, the dynamo was effectively just a bit of freebie power.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:40
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 11:40
If my memory serves me correctly (spoken as the Iron Chef commentators would :) )
When snapping the dynamo ont the tyre the extra effort required to run the thing was substantial - even with the 26" diameter wheel turning the .5" diameter dynamo "pulley", the headlight was pathetic.
Remember that your car engine needs to run at about 1000rpm before the alternator puts out worthwhile charge, and the pulley ratio would be maybe 1:1 or 2:1 (not sure on this, but very sure it's not the 52.1 of the dynamo).
I still reckon your biggest benefit will be the calories consumed while pedalling in the torchlight :)
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:13
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:13
Some bike gererators were built in to the front hub.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:37
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:37
"I still reckon your biggest benefit will be the calories consumed while pedalling in the torchlight :)"
Nice one Gerhardp... at least now Derek could sell it with a good LED light set so that you could be watched by your SWMBO.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:11
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:11
Good exercise Jimbo. I remember the light on my bike too but it would be a bit defferent for new electricly efficient systems. Think you would have had very good exercise charging your 100 amp hour AGM. I won't say that you remember the pedal radios, I just remember pics of them.
Think we probably owe each other a beer at
the Pyrenees.
Follow Up By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:17
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 12:17
If I can get there John, if I can get there, I'll look forward to that beer mate.
Problem is my business is going apechit and finding the time to do anything is tough. I'm sitting here all Sunday designing and cadding units to cut early tomorrow morning before my assemblers get to the factory. With the odd visit to this site to break things up LOL.
I'll try, can you please email me the maps and stuff to
jimbest at bestoffroad dot net dot au
ATB,
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:41
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:41
Was banking on you being there mate.
There is a brochure and map with location of the
campsite on Members FileSwap area. Been there fro some weeks. I think Bonz has a better calibrated version of the same map. If you want to use Ozieplorer that is. I also have a modded CFA map that is
well calibrated and could send that. I sent it to the old addy and it hadn't been bounced a few weeks back.
Have adjuested my records here
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:38
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 13:38
gday jimb.
i think that with the right gearing to spin the alternator fast enough and because your not actually pushing your self along on the bike it would be quite possible.
work out the maths to spin the alt say 1200rpm and plenty of beer you will be right.
the only problem i can see is the fact your trying to keep the beer cold so you will be drinking beer probly quicker than you can coolit
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:16
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 14:16
Jimbo it could be done but try generating 3 to 7 horsepower to drive the alternator with pedal power for 30 minutes plus.
Regards Richard
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 16:19
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 16:19
Hi Jim
It is possible but the gearing to obtain 1800 rpm would make it a hard work out.
I would rather use a solar panel and so for a walk for exercise.
Derek.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 16:25
Sunday, Oct 28, 2007 at 16:25
Here is a link to a DIY project.
Bicycle-Charger
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 15:22
Monday, Oct 29, 2007 at 15:22
One horsepower is 768 watts, but one personpower is less than 100 watts for most of us.
100 watts is a useful a amount of power if it's available for 6 hours per day from a solar panel or a wind generator, but I can't imagine the average camper being willing to pedal hard for even one hour a day.
Forget about the right gearing - if the the body can't generate the power needed, there's no way of gearing to correct that.